English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2008, 13:49   #1
woody.cool
Registered User
woody.cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Age: 31
Posts: 115
Does SFS (SmartFileSystem) work with KS 2.04?

Well, like the topic says:

Does SFS (SmartFileSystem) work with KS 2.04?

I know it works with 3.1, but I'd like to use it on my A3000 which has 2.04 ROMs
woody.cool is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 12 November 2008, 13:56   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 5,919
I guess some version back it did, maybe, for now it's 3.x only.
Shoonay is online now  
Old 12 November 2008, 14:32   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
Hey woody.cool!

Looking at the old page, it mentions working with kickstart 2.04:

http://www.xs4all.nl/~hjohn/SFS/download.htm

As Shooney said, the newer webpage says Amiga OS 3.x

It's probably mentioned in the docs that come with the full package. I know an 020 is a requirement however.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 12 November 2008, 15:23   #4
woody.cool
Registered User
woody.cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Age: 31
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Hey woody.cool!

Looking at the old page, it mentions working with kickstart 2.04:

http://www.xs4all.nl/~hjohn/SFS/download.htm

As Shooney said, the newer webpage says Amiga OS 3.x

It's probably mentioned in the docs that come with the full package. I know an 020 is a requirement however.
Not 100% sure on this, but someone on ClassicAmiga forum tells me it does work with Amiga OS 2.x but only if you have 68020 or higher processor.
woody.cool is offline  
Old 12 November 2008, 20:00   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,535
Main changes between 2.x and 3.x went into Graphics and Intuition. DOS didn't change so much. So every file system working on 3.x should work in 2.x, too. It wouldn't make much sense to use graphics functions in a file system.
thomas is offline  
Old 14 November 2008, 21:19   #6
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Looking at the old page, it mentions working with kickstart 2.04:

http://www.xs4all.nl/~hjohn/SFS/download.htm
And if you want the latest SFS from original author, take a look at http://www.xs4all.nl/~hjohn/ instead of that download page . 1.84 is the latest and it has worked fine on my A1200 for years.
jPV is offline  
Old 14 November 2008, 21:44   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by jPV View Post
And if you want the latest SFS from original author, take a look at http://www.xs4all.nl/~hjohn/ instead of that download page . 1.84 is the latest and it has worked fine on my A1200 for years.
Did you ever try the reported "Direct SCSI" capabilities of the SFS v1.84 package under Workbench 3.0/1? I'm just wondering if the 8GB support (over the FFS 4GB standard) offered via this method has worked for you.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 12:17   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Did you ever try the reported "Direct SCSI" capabilities of the SFS v1.84 package under Workbench 3.0/1? I'm just wondering if the 8GB support (over the FFS 4GB standard) offered via this method has worked for you.
I just tried SFS 1.84 on WinUAE with a KS 2.05 / WB 2.1 / A600 setup and yes, it works. You can access 7.8 GB without any other patches.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 12:35   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
I just tried SFS 1.84 on A600 setup
You have an A600 turbo card?
alexh is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 13:02   #10
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
Thanks Thomas - that's tremendous news. If people like jPV have been using v1.84 for years without issues, it seems like a really good version to support in my packs.

I can now officially say the ClassicWB packs support up to 8GB without any extra patches like IDEfix, if they use SFS v1.84 which I'll provide in the pack.

8GB should be enough for many users. I've now updated my 4GB sticky thread in the ClassicWB forum.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 13:22   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,087
I'd recommend PFS3 but unfortunately it is commercial.

OS2+ and 68000-compatible but has 68020+ version too. Includes separate DirectSCSI versions.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 November 2008, 19:24   #12
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Did you ever try the reported "Direct SCSI" capabilities of the SFS v1.84 package under Workbench 3.0/1? I'm just wondering if the 8GB support (over the FFS 4GB standard) offered via this method has worked for you.
Nope, I've had larger drives than 8GB almost as long as I remember, so I've patched the scsi.device and used the normal version... last years and currently I'm having 80GB drive formatted with SFS 1.84 as single partition on IDE port. And some larger SCSI-drives, but they don't need device patching with my controller... just SFS.
jPV is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SmartFileSystem? [Solved] IRQBreaker support.FS-UAE 2 28 October 2012 19:19
smartfilesystem and os3.9 amigafan1200 support.Apps 3 14 July 2010 06:39
WHDLoad demos/games do not work on SFS; FFS is OK Lurbi project.ClassicWB 4 03 August 2009 00:50
SmartFileSystem And 20GB @winuae support.Hardware 20 25 September 2008 08:01
Latest SmartFileSystem? girv support.Apps 5 11 October 2004 06:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15390 seconds with 11 queries