English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2008, 07:07   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
OS 3.9 BB2 ROM Updates

Can someone tell me what the BB2 ROM update contains, is it just the scsi.device update?

Thanks
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 November 2008, 08:17   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
The main new part compared to BB1 is exec.library V45.
thomas is offline  
Old 12 November 2008, 10:14   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Well my exec.library is running at version 45.2 which I assume is the BB2 one?

I assume then, that the startup-sequence command 'SetPatch SKIPROMUPDATES "scsi.device" will only skip the the "scsi.device" part of the ROM update?

If I want to use a newer version of something that will be patched (eg the exec.library) do I just copy the newer version into my libs 'L' folder?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 November 2008, 15:58   #4
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 477
No, you need to make it resident using a tool such as (for Blizzard boards) Blizkick or LoadModule, or (for Apollo boards) RemApollo.

IIRC, the BB2 ROM update is made up of 9 components. These can be split into seperate files using a tool that comes with RemApollo, I'm sure there must be others. You can then load these updates into memory seperately, replacing any of the components with your own as required.

For example, I use RemApollo to replace the shell and ram-handler modules with updated versions from Aminet (later than BB2), but keeping all the others as they come in BB2. Using this method, you can also replace exec.library with (for example) Piru's exec.library.

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 12 November 2008, 23:14   #5
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
No, you need to make it resident using a tool such as (for Blizzard boards) Blizkick or LoadModule, or (for Apollo boards) RemApollo.

IIRC, the BB2 ROM update is made up of 9 components. These can be split into seperate files using a tool that comes with RemApollo, I'm sure there must be others. You can then load these updates into memory seperately, replacing any of the components with your own as required.

For example, I use RemApollo to replace the shell and ram-handler modules with updated versions from Aminet (later than BB2), but keeping all the others as they come in BB2. Using this method, you can also replace exec.library with (for example) Piru's exec.library.

Steve.
Cool thanks Steve, this is the kind of thing I want to do with mine. I'll have to looking into setting up Blizkick
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 November 2008, 23:23   #6
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
you can use romsplit (v0.97) for extracting bb2 romupdate and remus for rebuilding rom file:
http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/flash.html
http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/beta/index.html
hit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
os 3.9 bb2 fix for remapollo roy bates Hardware mods 30 09 September 2017 13:51
ACA 56Mhz BB2 ROM Update issue NovaCoder support.Hardware 6 26 May 2011 01:28
AmiDOCK (running on AMiga OS 3.9 BB2) aebrown-u support.WinUAE 7 11 April 2003 15:38
PlayCD (running on Amiga OS 3.9 BB2) aebrown-u support.WinUAE 2 23 March 2003 16:19
BB2 development LaundroMat Coders. General 10 01 October 2002 17:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12852 seconds with 11 queries