English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2008, 20:36   #1
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 40
Posts: 93
Amiga HAM

Someone tried telling me today that the Amigas HAM mode was a interrupt trick like the Atari ST used to display all colours on screen at once but im sure this is wrong? The HAM mode was a screen mode implemented by design wasnt it and not a interrupt trick? Anyone shed any light on this?
Si-Pie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 November 2008, 20:45   #2
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
As always on these days:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hold_And_Modify

If anyone can provide more info...
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 20:54   #3
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 40
Posts: 93
yep had a read through that but just want to get my facts right before I speak to him again and wanted make sure I wasnt missing anything. Thanks for the link! More info would be great please ....
Si-Pie is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 21:00   #4
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
HAM mode is indeed a deliberate part of the Amiga Chipset design.

Interesting fact:
If memory serves Jay Miner () wasn't happy with HAM & was going to pull it from the original chipset design just before production but didn't because it would have left an untidy hole in the middle of the silicone - there being no time to go through another Rev...
Charlie is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 21:03   #5
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 40
Posts: 93
Yeh thats what I thought so basically it was not a interrupt trick like that used on the Atari ST? Oh and thanks for that interesting fact and thats something I didnt know.
Si-Pie is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 21:56   #6
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Yes indeed!

Si-Pie on the bottom of wikipedia page you have more info about that.

Till reading today on this page I wasn't even aware of this:

"
SHAM (Sliced HAM)

Rhett Anderson developed the so called SHAM or SHM mode, which was a standard 32-color mode, but allowed each video scan line to have its own, independent 32-color palette. This was possible because of a special co-processor that could reprogram the color palette registers at the beginning of each scan line. The SHM feature was deprecated when HAM8 was introduced. [2] The advantage of SHM files was the ability to display all 4096 colors while eliminating the color blur of HAM compression.


"

Which is amazing!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 17:03   #7
marcfrick2112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 132
Not aware of SHAM ??? For shame! I ran into a few pics back in the day when I called Amiga BBS's (Mostly 'Naughty' pictures ) Man, I remember when there were like, 6 Amiga-supporting BBS in my city
marcfrick2112 is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 20:01   #8
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcfrick2112 View Post
Not aware of SHAM ??? For shame! I ran into a few pics back in the day when I called Amiga BBS's (Mostly 'Naughty' pictures ) Man, I remember when there were like, 6 Amiga-supporting BBS in my city
Yup, my fault!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 20:38   #9
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 40
Posts: 93
Ok anyone have any idea of how much cpu usage HAM would use? Would it be heavy or light?
Si-Pie is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 22:06   #10
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 277
Depends on how you're using it. For displaying static images, it takes no extra CPU. However, when using programs like DPaint in HAM, it takes extra CPU to calculate the "transition" pixels when the image is updated.
LocalH is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 22:15   #11
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 40
Posts: 93
OK thanks. Think I was thinking of memory cycles as your right LocalH with static images it uses no extra cpu cycles.
I found the Amiga Hardware Reference Manual and it said this "If the display contains four or fewer low-resolution bit-planes, the
68000 can be granted altemate memory cycles (if it is ready to ask for
the cycle and is the highest priority item at the time).
However, if there are more than four bit-planes, bit-plane DMA will begin
to steal cycles from the 68000 during the display.

During the display time for a six-bit-plane display (low resolution, 320
pixels wide), 160 time slots will be taken by bit-plane DMA for each
horizontal line. As you can see from Figure 6-11, bit-plane DMA steals 50
percent of the open slots that the processor might have used if there
were only four bit-planes displayed."

Think that answered my question. Its memory cycles it uses not CPU cycles.
Si-Pie is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 23:18   #12
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
If not, the rare HAM games that were made, wouldn't be made at all!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 14 November 2008, 00:50   #13
Si-Pie
Registered User
Si-Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme/England
Age: 40
Posts: 93
Very true xpect. Its settles the debate I was having with someone anyway as they were claiming HAM mode was heavy on the CPU usage and so much that the CPU couldnt do anything while HAM was being used but I thought this was wrong. Im glad I found the Amiga hardware reference guide to. Thanks you guys for your help too!
Si-Pie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fun with HAM Mequa Amiga scene 10 01 January 2011 06:54
HAM without 24bit screen killergorilla support.Apps 5 20 October 2006 22:55
HAM pictures jviper New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 24 March 2006 02:03
HAM Demo Frazor request.Demos 2 06 August 2003 15:36
Game that used 'HAM' mode Big-Byte Looking for a game name ? 24 28 August 2002 11:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16996 seconds with 11 queries