English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2008, 18:01   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Thumbs down N64 no RGB output at all!

My god, stoopid nintendo engineers! There is no N64 version that outpus RGB of any kind! Even French consoles just have the lame av->scart converter. And getting the rgb signals directly from the chip produces questionable quality.... I have tried the SVHS cable, still it is crap!
too bad, there are some nice games for it...
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 November 2008, 18:40   #2
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
give me your N64 to check..and for some patents..
Anemos is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 19:04   #3
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
NTSC N64s can be modded for RGB. Plus, the games run better.

http://www.gamesx.com/rgbadd/rgbn64.htm
adolescent is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 19:25   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
yes I have seen the ntsc ones, but I don't care about them because I have a dozen PAL games that want to play... unless I can do a ntsc->pal mod...
keropi is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 20:09   #5
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
There isn't any mod for PAL/NTSC region switching but on ebay you probably find some converters. As for NTSC consoles not all can be modded for rgb. Look http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/ni...ndo_64_rgb.htm
haynor666 is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 21:35   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
N64 Passport Plus 3

I threw away my PAL N64 and all the games (actually I gave them to the charity shop) and I bought an RGB modded NTSC N64 and a Doctor V64 instead.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 21:48   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
damn, I have nice complete versions of mario64, castlevanias, donkey kong64 and banjo games... I am considering going the ntsc route...
keropi is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 21:53   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Wolfsoft makes N64 PAL RGB mods, but way too expensive.

http://www.wolfsoft.de/shop/product_...ter-kabel.html
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 23:17   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Buy an NTSC N64 and desolder & exchange the chips?
alexh is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 23:29   #10
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
I have tried the SVHS cable, still it is crap!
too bad, there are some nice games for it...
Perhaps your TV is not so good with s-video... I've always found the s-video looks very nice from N64.
rare_j is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 23:38   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I connect it on my LG tv/monitor on my desk, like all my other systems (saturn, ps1, ps2, megadrive, snes, etc) all look great via rgb... this is the only system I have connected via SVHS...
keropi is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 00:25   #12
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
N64 Passport Plus 3

I threw away my PAL N64 and all the games (actually I gave them to the charity shop) and I bought an RGB modded NTSC N64 and a Doctor V64 instead.
Mine is Universal Games Adaptor by Blaze.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 02:08   #13
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
Perhaps your TV is not so good with s-video... I've always found the s-video looks very nice from N64.
For some reason S-Video doesn't work from my N64.

I thought it may have just been the cable, but the very same cable outputs S-Video fine from my SNES

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 02:58   #14
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
is it true that games output 320x240 and when u insert the +4MB expansion pak they render in 640x480??? or the game must be written with that support in mind?
keropi is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 03:07   #15
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
No that isn't true.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 03:18   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Expansion_Pak

Quote:
Used for cosmetic improvements or minor features
I don't know if it's a complete list of high-res supporting N64 games. Some games uses the extension for displaying more objects and a better framerate.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 10 November 2008 at 03:24.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 19:29   #17
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
thanks to coze I have an xrgb2+ to play with...
I connected n64 via SVHS... crap image!!! I thought OK, svhs is lame perhaps, and I connected my saturn there to test... it works GREAT! WTF is the n64 outputing so lame signals???!
is there a way to get a ntsc n64 and mod it to play pal games? anyone knows?
keropi is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 20:50   #18
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 45
Posts: 834
Once i'd seen an ntsc N64 running Waverace,i just couldn't go back and bought myself a us machine

Raven offered a service for RGB conversion but i don't think they are around now - got all 5 of mine done by them as an RGB N64 is quite striking in comparison to it's usual dull

Certainly worth doing if you love your N64's
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 22:13   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
is there a way to get a ntsc n64 and mod it to play pal games? anyone knows?
READ the chuffin thread!! Use a Passport Plus III
alexh is offline  
Old 12 November 2008, 03:03   #20
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
...without using this passport thingie, I ask if there is a way to mod a n64...
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga RGB to Component video output kipper2k Hardware mods 89 08 April 2017 15:54
SX32 RGB output quality BuckoA51 support.Hardware 5 22 July 2012 02:21
RGB to Scart Output Problem fruitlesseffort support.Hardware 5 23 February 2011 22:43
Goldeneye N64 music DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 18 14 August 2006 16:00
Best N64 emulator? MethodGit Retrogaming General Discussion 7 11 July 2004 12:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21305 seconds with 11 queries