English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2008, 09:50   #1
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 329
How fast is WINUAE compared to a real amiga?

I was just wondering the other day. I have a 3gb quad core 8800gt powered dell pc and of course, winuae flies. I think its faster than my 68060 which was good, but im sure i get more fps from winuae.

I played sensible soccer on the psp the other day(2006 version), it was awful!! Its always made me wonder what sensible software could have done, if they had an amiga that was as good as i have on winuae. I dont mean with 3gb etc, just the emulated amiga i have. Its FAST, has 32mb of ram and 8mb chip. It would be amazing to see what they could have achived, better gfx, sound and a bigger games (swos).

This may be a daft question as ive been on here for so long but do people still write games for the amiga/winuae (homebrew) i dont mean a paman clone, im talking about a game that pushes the hardware beyond what publishers ever did.

I remember a demo on the speccy, a few years after it died, that used fancy hardware coding that allowed any colour per pixel dots. Wondered if the amiga has anything like that. I know theres a GTA clone type thing but wondered if theres anything else. Maybe something that can only be done on winuae BUT only uses the amiga config/emu options.

thank for reading
mrbob2 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 November 2008, 09:58   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Hi mrbob2,

if I got it right you are asking if there is any game/demo/program that would only run in full speed on WinUAE (or has other WinUAE exclusive features). As far as I know there is none and I think there will never be one. Current developments aim mainly at the A1200/A4000 platform, while in the scene (demos) there are demos from a quite basic A500 OCS setup to PPC accelerated demos.

As for speed alone : When you enable JIT and let WinUAE use your raw PC CPU power it's pretty fast
TCD is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 10:20   #3
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 477
The 68k version of Quake 2 is unplayable on a real Amiga, but it flies in WinUAE on a PC of moderate spec (by today's standards). I'm sure I read somewhere that the 68k version was created by Hyperion for the emulator market, but I doubt this was the official reason.

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 10:49   #4
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,392
Nemac IV wasn't too fast on bigger screens and the videos didn't shine either, with 060. Only on WinUAE could I finally get the full experience - of course almost all RTG games run faster on emulation. And JetPilot does stable 16.66 fps, when on 060 it did something 6-12 I think...
zipper is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 13:54   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
The 68k version of Quake 2 is unplayable on a real Amiga
Yeah? Even a 68060 with a gfx card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
but it flies in WinUAE on a PC of moderate spec (by today's standards).
Yeah! I mean it gets upto at least oooo, what... 1/100th speed of native x86 Quake2 on the same computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
I'm sure I read somewhere that the 68k version was created by Hyperion for the emulator market, but I doubt this was the official reason.
No one would make a game for the emulator market if a native port exists. No-one is stoopid enough to buy / use it. I bet they were making it for PPC, they had the tools to compile for 68k and thought... I wonder... Hey dude it compiles! Cool huh huh? Yeah! Heh heh! Slow eh? Heh, Heh! This sucks! Heh, heh! Need TV for my bumhole slow heh heh!

Last edited by alexh; 03 November 2008 at 13:59.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 14:08   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
No one would make a game for the emulator market if a native port exists. No-one is stoopid enough to buy / use it. I bet they were making it for PPC, they had the tools to compile for 68k and thought... I wonder... Hey dude it compiles! Cool huh huh? Yeah! Heh heh! Slow eh? Heh, Heh! This sucks! Heh, heh! Need TV for my bumhole slow heh heh!
Making a port to run on emulators that run on the platform that is the originals native is... well... you know I always wondered which specs for a PPC it takes to run Heretic 2?
TCD is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 14:51   #7
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 848
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
I only had a 1200/030@42mhz so for me WinUAE is really fast. Anyway, I emulate 68040 and use Workbench 3.1.
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 18:53   #8
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
i to wish ppl would code to the amiga enviroment of WINUAE utilising its new features and emence processing power compared to a vinila A1200 or A500 but it seems ppl are tide to the hardware
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 19:04   #9
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 329
I remember having breathless on my A1200, back then the setup was an 040 card with 8mb chip and it struggled with the framerate, back then the gfx were amazing and i dreamed of playing at high fps. Then i paid something like 400 for an `060 card and it was lovely, then i discovered that the games wasnt all that good lol.

I kinda guess what i meant was, in the olden days people wrote gfx intensive games, 1 that springs to mind (that flight one) with the fighert jet, cuamiga gave it away, something....FX. Back then it needed a powerful amiga, or even a ppc processor. I guess WINUAE is the spec of amigans dreams back in `92.
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 19:32   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbob2 View Post
I kinda guess what i meant was, in the olden days people wrote gfx intensive games, 1 that springs to mind (that flight one) with the fighert jet, cuamiga gave it away, something....FX. Back then it needed a powerful amiga, or even a ppc processor. I guess WINUAE is the spec of amigans dreams back in `92.
That would be TFX (Tactical Fighter Experiment)
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 November 2008, 09:25   #11
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
I benched a lzx operation on a 1,1GHz Pentium III once. WinUAE was 5 times faster than my 68060/50MHz.
PC ram is faster, JIT flies, PC disks are faster, PC video is faster...

As for games, the slow chipmem has no impact in WinUAE. 68060 boards have very slow chipmem (my Phase5 has).
jotd is offline  
Old 14 November 2008, 23:25   #12
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Hmmm, chipmem...

...I remember, it was my late teens. A cold and frosty night after an evening's gigging. Mist drifting through the pub car park off the river Ouse. Hungry!
And there it was. A death-burger van, still open for glorious lard-encrusted business. The chips I bought were so good; with a perfect touch of salt 'n vinegar. I tell you that vendor of fine foodstuffs was in his own way a genius!
I had to have another portion, it would have been a crime against late nights after the pub not to sample that newspaper wrapped glory one more time.

Ah, such a happy chipmem.
Charlie is offline  
Old 14 November 2008, 23:31   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Hmmm, chipmem...

...I remember, it was my late teens. A cold and frosty night after an evening's gigging. Mist drifting through the pub car park off the river Ouse. Hungry!
And there it was. A death-burger van, still open for glorious lard-encrusted business. The chips I bought were so good; with a perfect touch of salt 'n vinegar. I tell you that vendor of fine foodstuffs was in his own way a genius!
I had to have another portion, it would have been a crime against late nights after the pub not to sample that newspaper wrapped glory one more time.

Ah, such a happy chipmem.
You're a genius and now I'm hungry Thanks for the great 'chipmem' Charlie
TCD is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 00:14   #14
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
You are a gentleman sir!
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real Amiga or WinUAE? Kitty Retrogaming General Discussion 131 24 June 2010 14:16
SNES EyeOfTheBeholder compared to Amiga's port jharrison Retrogaming General Discussion 12 01 December 2008 23:06
Why are Amiga games the most cheat menu hacked compared to other systems? extentofmysin Retrogaming General Discussion 13 06 September 2006 21:16
Real Amiga HD to winUAE rartist New to Emulation or Amiga scene 14 01 May 2005 19:25
real Amiga HD under WinUAE Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 18 January 2005 11:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.53328 seconds with 11 queries