English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 October 2008, 14:08   #1
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,276
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Original Prince of Persia animation reference footage!

This is priceless
alkis21 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 October 2008, 14:13   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkis21 View Post
It is indeed It's quite strange to see it after all these years playing the game Very nice find alkis
TCD is offline  
Old 29 October 2008, 15:16   #3
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 41
Posts: 722
great stuff indeed...i also found once the video material used by eric chahi for another world :

[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
pbareges is offline  
Old 30 October 2008, 06:49   #4
sharprm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melb
Posts: 56
Does anyone know where the sprite sheet/rips for POP1? Its not easy using gfxr.
sharprm is offline  
Old 16 December 2008, 22:58   #5
buothz
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharprm View Post
Does anyone know where the sprite sheet/rips for POP1? Its not easy using gfxr.
here http://www.gsarchives.net/index2.php...ince_of_persia pc version
 
Old 17 December 2008, 04:24   #6
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
So, how does this "raytracing" work? I would like to know how they did it the ol-school way in another world and price of persia. I've done some stuff before using Blender and other similar programs, but those are more for high quality stuff, I don't want that.

So, how did the Another World + Prinse of Persia creators do it?
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 05:54   #7
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
They had that footage and more including some hand traced rotoscope frames on an episode of G4's Icons. Really neat stuff, and far ahead of it's time.
adolescent is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 12:43   #8
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolescent View Post
They had that footage and more including some hand traced rotoscope frames on an episode of G4's Icons. Really neat stuff, and far ahead of it's time.
Give tutorial pls as I don't understand what you said :P "G4's", "hand traced rotoscope"?....... I wanna do what they did.... could make awesome stuff :P
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 13:17   #9
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Cmon Ironclaw... use Wiki!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rotoscoping
DDNI is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 16:08   #10
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,025
What Eric Chahi did in Another World was to use the Amiga genlock to get the recorded footage on-screen so he could outline each image frame by hand. It has got nothing to do with raytracing and what you do in Blender, 3D Studio Max etc.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 16:38   #11
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Cmon Ironclaw... use Wiki!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rotoscoping
Ofc I did before asking my question ... but searched for raytracing and found too much text and no aswers...
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 16:40   #12
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
What Eric Chahi did in Another World was to use the Amiga genlock to get the recorded footage on-screen so he could outline each image frame by hand. It has got nothing to do with raytracing and what you do in Blender, 3D Studio Max etc.
Thats the way I've done till now...... but when they interview the guy who did the gfx for AW, he says it's raytracing...

and if u look closely at the gfx in AW, like car etc, it doesn't look like it's done per hand, frame by frame.... you don't get that accuracy with animation by hand...... or it would take very long to do.

Looks more like they use some program.... like something like Fanta Vision (if that was the name of the program with dinosaurs and stuff).
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 18:21   #13
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,025
Raytracing is something completely different. If you look at Eric Chahi's official Another World website you can get some insight in the development process. It was all done by hand, frame by frame, and when you have the genlock providing the exact image then you can trace the contours as accurately as you want.
Leffmann is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prince of Persia clenched project.Maptapper 2 25 July 2013 02:04
prince of persia for c64 ! turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 3 10 April 2013 22:10
Prince de perse aka Prince of persia dlfrsilver HOL data problems 21 09 March 2011 22:27
Looking for the Prince of Persia music Enverex request.Modules 6 30 January 2010 21:02
Prince of Persia (german) mai HOL data problems 0 03 July 2009 21:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22484 seconds with 11 queries