English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 October 2008, 16:40   #41
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
No doubt it is popular:

Quote:
We sold 2000 Pandoras in 6 hours even with the server totally besieged. Truly astonishing. Thank you all for supporting this project, all the emails, all the comments all, all the phone calls, all the news posts, everything.

Today we moved to a somewhat faster server which is why things were off line during this afternoon.

We are quickly looking in to if it is possible to increase our planned first batch to 4000 units.

We will update on this issue in around 48 hours.
tonyyeb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 October 2008, 16:42   #42
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Amiga emulation isn't going to be ideal on it is it?

The screen resolution is 800x480 which is gonna be a bit of a crap for miggy emulation.

I might pick one of these up in a year or two when they are a bit cheaper and I can see how well the scene has picked up. Be good to play some MD/SNES on the move, and the Amiga games which have the big black border at the bottom!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 16:45   #43
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Amiga emulation isn't going to be ideal on it is it?

The screen resolution is 800x480 which is gonna be a bit of a crap for miggy emulation.
Not ideal but looks good to me!

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?eurl=&v=KwuI6_zCjxY
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 16:56   #44
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
The screen resolution is 800x480 which is gonna be a bit of a crap for miggy emulation.
There majority of Amiga 500-games have a 16:10-widescreen resolution of 320x200 pixels. They are almost ideal for the Pandora's 5:3- (or 15:9-)format and will look marvellous in fullscreen-mode (upscaling using bilinear filter looks great already on PSPUAE even though the emu is slow).

And having borders on the sides for 320x256-pixel games (Alien Breed, Battle Squadron PAL, Pinball Dreams, etc.) and SuperNES-games is not a problem for me (it's no different on my notebook). The screen's height is still quite huge for a handheld.
Of course 480 pixels height isn't perfect for upscaling 256 pixels but since the pixels are so small it shouldn't be noticable.
john4p is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 17:02   #45
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
As I suspected

All the games on the video are the Amiga games with black borders (NTSC res), with the exception of Project-X and Pac-Mania, and you can clearly see that the bottom parts of both games have the screen cut off

Such a shame.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 17:06   #46
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
As I suspected

All the games on the video are the Amiga games with black borders (NTSC res), with the exception of Project-X and Pac-Mania, and you can clearly see that the bottom parts of both games have the screen cut off

Such a shame.
But if they changed it to match PAL Amiga games would it not screw things up for other formats (SNES, MD, NES etc...) ? You can't have your cake and eat for all formats it would seem.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 17:08   #47
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
As I suspected

All the games on the video are the Amiga games with black borders (NTSC res), with the exception of Project-X and Pac-Mania, and you can clearly see that the bottom parts of both games have the screen cut off

Such a shame.
I don't see that as a problem - you'll have the same issues when you run an amiga emulator on any widescreen PC. You'll either have to have black bars to the left/right, or lose the bottom/top of the screen. Or stretch to fit.

It's not like you won't have the ability to choose which works for you, is it?

Personally looking forward to this like nothing before (except maybe my first A1000). And as miggy emulation is just the icing on the cake, I anticipate many, many hours of fun with this little fella. The specs will ensure it has a nice long life, too - the GP2x has survived with much lesser hardware for a long time with a massive and very active scene of developers.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 17:59   #48
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyyeb View Post
But if they changed it to match PAL Amiga games would it not screw things up for other formats (SNES, MD, NES etc...) ? You can't have your cake and eat for all formats it would seem.
What?!?!

Having it as 512 pixels high doesn't mess with SNES/MD/NES etc. as they all have less than 512 pixels in height. What are you talking about?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
I don't see that as a problem - you'll have the same issues when you run an amiga emulator on any widescreen PC. You'll either have to have black bars to the left/right, or lose the bottom/top of the screen. Or stretch to fit.

It's not like you won't have the ability to choose which works for you, is it?
What are you talking about? My point is that 480 pixels is not large enough to display the 512 lines needed to display full PAL resolutions. So you are always going to get cut off screens for games which use more than the 480. Having black bars on the side has nothing to do with that.

Unless of course you want it in lowres 320x256 which would appear absolutely tiny in the middle of a big black box
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 18:04   #49
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Having it as 512 pixels high doesn't mess with SNES/MD/NES etc. as they all have less than 512 pixels in height. What are you talking about?
I meant when running double height etc... The point is, the screen will not suit EVERY emulator / Application. It is obviously a trade off. There will have to be a comprimise otherwise you might as well be carrying round a 22" HDTV Widescreen with your DS sized handheld console
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 18:42   #50
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
I was just pointing out that it is no way ideal for Amiga emulation because of that limitation.

You suggested that having it with a height of 512 other forms of emulation would be messed up, which is not the case. No old school emulators require anything near HD so your point about he HDTV is a little silly. Suggesting 512px in height however, is not.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 20:00   #51
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Unless of course you want it in lowres 320x256 which would appear absolutely tiny in the middle of a big black box
You know - PS1 games have a resolution of 320x240 pixels. Using "normal" mode in the PSP's (perfect) Playstation-emulator this 240 lines height get scaled up to the PSP's 272 pixels height (while keeping the 4:3 aspect ratio). It looks great - it doesn't look as if some lines were doubled and some not - that's because of interpolation.
It's a bit blurry - but that's not a problem for me.

So you can also scale 256 lines up to 480 by interpolation without doubling them.
john4p is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 20:37   #52
CHook/OTT
Super Hang-On King
CHook/OTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Manchester
Age: 42
Posts: 364
I want one of these but will be waiting for the 2nd batch to see if there is any early issue's with them. My early mk1 GP2X has had problems running using batteries for ages and has been sat here collecting dust for a long time and the PSP i bought to replace it is a bit poor in comparison when it comes down to the emulator side of things.

I did almost pre-order it when i got the e-mail but someone i work with beat me to it so i'll have a play with that first when his arrives

The talk of full speed N64 and "possibly" Dreamcast makes the Pandora a no brainer for retro gamers.
CHook/OTT is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 21:33   #53
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
No old school emulators require anything near HD so your point about he HDTV is a little silly. Suggesting 512px in height however, is not.
I was exaggerating of course
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 21:41   #54
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by john4p View Post
You know - PS1 games have a resolution of 320x240 pixels. Using "normal" mode in the PSP's (perfect) Playstation-emulator this 240 lines height get scaled up to the PSP's 272 pixels height (while keeping the 4:3 aspect ratio). It looks great - it doesn't look as if some lines were doubled and some not - that's because of interpolation.
It's a bit blurry - but that's not a problem for me.

So you can also scale 256 lines up to 480 by interpolation without doubling them.
I'd personally rather have it at it's normal res, I've always hated filters. They don't look too bad on 3D stuff but not bitmap graphics, they look mushy and EVIL.

But anyway, I was just making a point. It's not the IDEAL solution for Amiga emulation that's all. Still, it's a good looking product.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 22:30   #55
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
It's not the IDEAL solution for Amiga emulation that's all. Still, it's a good looking product.
Nope, but it's the best we've got ;-)

Really looking forward to it!

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 22:49   #56
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
I might pick one of these up in a year or two when they are a bit cheaper and I can see how well the scene has picked up. Be good to play some MD/SNES on the move, and the Amiga games which have the big black border at the bottom!
I'm with Killa . I'm wary of the price, the potential poor build quality and a slow scene to start off with. Gamepark's GP32/GP2X were shoddy at first, but these guys could be worse.

It is a good concept though, but I await the result of reality as I have been burnt before (Tapwave Zodiac anyone?). There is also the issue of how Gamepark's Wiz will compare. So a case of wait and see for me also.
Antiriad is offline  
Old 03 October 2008, 10:04   #57
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
@john4p for we know.. you are on Pandora devs team or something?
(i think i know you from some other place..)
Anemos is offline  
Old 03 October 2008, 10:48   #58
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
agreed, the ideal resolution would be 768x576 (or whatever PAL full overscan is), however you try finding a suitable LCD screen with those specs...

This is the best (imho) compromise that could be found. 800x600 would perhaps have been better but again availability of components is a major factor and I'd hazard a guess that the LCD is already the most expensive single component...

Mine's ordered and I'm looking forward to it - I am hoping that there might be a big push to get a better UAE on there
chiark is offline  
Old 03 October 2008, 12:57   #59
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
screen

Apparently it`s the same LCD touch thats in the Archos 605 wifi
stainy is offline  
Old 03 October 2008, 13:16   #60
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemos View Post
@john4p for we know.. you are on Pandora devs team or something?
(i think i know you from some other place..)
No, not yet. Only if neither notaz nor Gnostic nor anyone else implements control configurations and screen positioning to UAE4All I might do some modifications to it (as with the PSP version).

And...hi!
john4p is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realms of Arkania: Blade of Destiny - HD RPG Remake now available for pre-order Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 05 July 2013 18:24
Open Amiga Game Database - Open Beta FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 3 01 May 2013 23:37
Hurrican game port of the Open Pandora on Android ? VRil Retrogaming General Discussion 3 06 December 2012 16:29
The 8-Bit Book 1981-199x available for Pre-Order... Paul_s News 24 13 November 2009 18:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.50626 seconds with 11 queries