English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 October 2008, 19:04   #21
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Yeah, but you can't put an EEE PC in your pocket, and if you want gaming controls you have to hook up a controller. This thing wins the eee all over :-)

D.
And the battery will last MUCH longer and it has bluetooth which the 701 doesn't have. It also has a touch screen and I would think it boots quicker too.
tonyyeb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 October 2008, 20:28   #22
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
A500? They're aiming for fullspeed A1200 on this beauty :-)
Of course - but it will take time. A500-games will be fullspeed playable right from the start (the games that work with the emulator - which should be more than 90%).
john4p is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 20:38   #23
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Apologies for asking the question...
...apart from wholly agreeing with woody57 - Amiga enthusiasts of all people should be wary of pre-order deals...
...why do I want one of these..? Coolness factor aside.


(my HP TC1100 from eBay cost me less & can do everything this can + lots more & is of comparable size)
Charlie is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 20:55   #24
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Why would an Amiga fan want one?

- Decent emulation of Amiga
- Very portable (fit in a big pocket)
- Runs Linux (and linux apps)
- Media Player
- Built in game controls
- Touch screen
- Wifi, bluetooth, USB host (plug in game pads, printer, web cam etc...), SD reader
- Keyboard
- Web browser
- Great battery life (8+ hours)

Just a geeky gadget that has LOTS of applications IMO.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 21:22   #25
Toffee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 111
I can't wait to get my hands on one of these! I will wait for the second batch although I'm realy tempted to order one now. I like the fact it has all these standard connections USB, WiFI, Blue Tooth and SDHC. They reckon it will be able to run FireFox 3 and Quake 3 smoothly as well.
Toffee is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 22:09   #26
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Fair enough
Charlie is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 23:33   #27
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
time for first chargeback query according to visa or mc rules? 180 days ...

No risk. If it's not received by end of this year then simply get onto your crdit card company
chiark is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 09:46   #28
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiark View Post
Pay with a credit card. If it doesn't turn up, you've got the full protection of the consumer credit act behind you. It's zero risk.
That was my thinking as well so I went ahead and ordered. Looks like lots of good fun and I've been waiting so long...
gklinger is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 10:08   #29
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
(my HP TC1100 from eBay cost me less & can do everything this can + lots more & is of comparable size)
Doesn't have gaming controls.
john4p is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 10:25   #30
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
(my HP TC1100 from eBay cost me less & can do everything this can + lots more & is of comparable size)
No way is it a comparable size. The Pandora is close to the size of a DS!

Your TC1100: 21.6 x 2.0 x 27.4 cm
DS: 13 cm 2.1 cm x 7.3 cm

Plus you can't compare buying something on ebay and buying something for new.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 10:41   #31
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 842
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Uhm... maybe it can be nice, but what games will be released? Without games it will be only an expensive gadget!
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 10:58   #32
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by MazinKaesar View Post
Uhm... maybe it can be nice, but what games will be released? Without games it will be only an expensive gadget!
Its an Emulation platform. You have at least 20 years of back catalogue to choose from...
DDNI is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 11:03   #33
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Its an Emulation platform. You have at least 20 years of back catalogue to choose from...
Absolutley. And there will be native games developed and ported to it (such as Quake 3 for example) as well as the GP2x games that are available. Plus any Linux software 'potentially' could work on it. So it probably will have more software available to it than an unhacked DS or PSP without the need of a hack?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 14:21   #34
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 842
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Uhm... too expensive, even 'cause emulator can run on PSP too (well, without keyboard).
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 14:55   #35
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by MazinKaesar View Post
Uhm... too expensive, even 'cause emulator can run on PSP too (well, without keyboard).
Neither Amiga 500- nor Super NES-emulators are fullspeed on PSP. It could be possible but no one made an emu from scratch specifically for PSP.
john4p is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 15:39   #36
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 842
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
I have to admint that this Pandora is tricky, but it's expensive anyway
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 15:51   #37
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
it is not THAT expensive! it has an OK price
keropi is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 15:54   #38
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
it is not THAT expensive! it has an OK price
Especially for a brand new piece of hardware.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 16:10   #39
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Its really small compared to the EEE. But Im waiting for reviews.

Nobody but Nintendo (and Sega with their Japanese Saturn joypad) knows how to make a great D-pad, so that is one area I would like to know more info on.
cv643d is offline  
Old 02 October 2008, 16:34   #40
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,125
The quality of its Dpad is also one of the most important aspects to me. I just hope for the best.

Here are some pics - the first showing the dpad, the last comparing its size to standard notebook and EeePC.







The Pandora's screen is 4.3" - like the PSP (but with a higher resolution and slightly different x:y-ratio) - which is huge for a handheld.
john4p is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realms of Arkania: Blade of Destiny - HD RPG Remake now available for pre-order Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 05 July 2013 18:24
Open Amiga Game Database - Open Beta FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 3 01 May 2013 23:37
Hurrican game port of the Open Pandora on Android ? VRil Retrogaming General Discussion 3 06 December 2012 16:29
The 8-Bit Book 1981-199x available for Pre-Order... Paul_s News 24 13 November 2009 18:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38321 seconds with 11 queries