English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2008, 03:34   #1
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
DMS Problems - Please Help

Hello Guys,

I have just found a lot of Amiga Stuffs of a friend of mine BBS that are not in Tosec.
But the problem is that a lot of files .dms that I try to trasfer on floppy disk do not work and I have this error:

Can't open inputfile low.DMS

Checksum Error T:00 U:11264 R:8 P:337 L:8 O:00E6 N:0158

I am using DMS V1.1

I was able to unpack only 15 disks but I have more than 11,000 files.

I used

DMS write namefile.dms low 0 high 79



Can you help me to tell how to unpack all these other files?

Would be good bcoz I have a lot of stuff not in Tosec!!


Help me please!
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 September 2008, 04:11   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,265
@dannypet:
I'm sorry to say that checksum errors suggest either that the files were archived with a later version of DMS than the one you are using or that the files are corrupted

On the other hand, the syntax I would use is:

DMS write filename to DF0:

(low 0 high 79 is the default and .dms is implied)

Let me know if you wish to try a later version and I will upload one for you

Last edited by prowler; 28 September 2008 at 22:55.
prowler is offline  
Old 28 September 2008, 14:55   #3
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
@prowler


Well, I have found a DMS V1.03 and it says I need at least DMS V1.1 to unpack those files.
But the problem is that I just have DMS V1.1 Turbo the one available on
Aminet.
Should I use another version?
Let me know please and many thanks



Last edited by D4Ni3L3; 28 September 2008 at 16:02.
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 28 September 2008, 16:13   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,905
http://zakalwe.fi/~shd/foss/xdms/

v1.3.2, it's very old, doesn't like DMS files with txt headers.

Last edited by alexh; 28 September 2008 at 16:31.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 September 2008, 16:28   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,905
http://www.amiga-stuff.com/archivers-download.html

Lots of versions of Amiga DMS upto v2.04
alexh is offline  
Old 28 September 2008, 21:02   #6
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 532
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
http://zakalwe.fi/~shd/foss/xdms/

v1.3.2, it's very old, doesn't like DMS files with txt headers.
And if these files came from a BBS you can bet they have a lot of BBS ad text stuffed in them...
illy5603 is offline  
Old 28 September 2008, 22:11   #7
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Thanks you all ... I have found the super cool DMS WBench V2.04 in the page gave me by Alexh and it works great!

I am going to upload in a while the first interesting stuffs I have found in this collection right into the Zone!

Thanks Friends

D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 28 September 2008, 22:59   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,265
@dannypet:

I see you made the right choice.

IMHO this is the ultimate version of the DMS archiver, and the version I would have uploaded for you.

Have fun!
prowler is offline  
Old 28 September 2008, 23:31   #9
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
would you mind, looking for this ( http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=39743 ) in your collection ?! tia

Edit: if you want upload something, you can use this: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=38697
hit is offline  
Old 28 September 2008, 23:50   #10
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit View Post
would you mind, looking for this ( http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=39743 ) in your collection ?! tia

Edit: if you want upload something, you can use this: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=38697
my friend has Amiga Vision Pro Rev15 and 2.0 AGA but tell me of what year is it and see if I can help u.
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 00:07   #11
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
@dannypet

If your uploading them somewhere, would you mind leaving them as DMS files. BBS ad's etc.. are exciting for some of us.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 02:17   #12
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_0rga5m View Post
@dannypet

If your uploading them somewhere, would you mind leaving them as DMS files. BBS ad's etc.. are exciting for some of us.
@mr_0rga5m

you are right! there is nothing cooler than watch bbs adds but those file where stored by a collector from floppy to save space and he putted a password. So it's better that I make .adf from that!
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 03:33   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,265
Dms V1.03?

Hi dannypet,

Could you upload the DMS V1.03 that you found to the Zone for me please? I don't seem to have that version.

If you don't have it any more, could you let me know where you downloaded it from instead?

Thanks!
prowler is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 08:11   #14
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 532
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_0rga5m View Post
@dannypet

If your uploading them somewhere, would you mind leaving them as DMS files. BBS ad's etc.. are exciting for some of us.
Or better yet just upload them to me and I will pack even more ads into them!

use DCTELNET to...
spatulacity.servebbs.org
illy5603 is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 22:16   #15
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannypet View Post
my friend has Amiga Vision Pro Rev15 and 2.0 AGA but tell me of what year is it and see if I can help u.
i've found v2.04 from 1992 at the tosec package. the 3.00 gamma i only saw on the site i posted at my request. so it must be done after '92. thats all i can say


Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_0rga5m View Post
@dannypet

If your uploading them somewhere, would you mind leaving them as DMS files. BBS ad's etc.. are exciting for some of us.
yep. i like to have those original releases too. with group shortcut as filename prefix and all the advertizing intact

Last edited by hit; 29 September 2008 at 22:21. Reason: wrong quote :)
hit is offline  
Old 28 November 2008, 05:03   #16
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,498
Why not... ?

Hi guys,

I have a question, perhaps stupid...
Why don't use a normal copier to copy a .dms (or .wrp or others supported by WinUAE) to .adf?
For disk-compressed dms's (for .dms files containing files the method below is not possible, obviously), I used this method (in WinUAE):
- load a copier (e.g. X-Copy Pro)
- load the .dms as df0:
- load a blank .adf as df1:
- copy the whole disk from df0: to df1: (X-Copy Pro let me see if there are "read" errors, so I will know if the dms and adf are correct)

Am I doing something wrong, or this is a good method?

Massimo
P.S. if the .dms archive has a password, has WinUAE problems loading it as df0: ???
Supamax is offline  
Old 28 November 2008, 08:17   #17
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Hi Supamax,

welcome to the EAB
Your method works, but with the DMS program you can make a batch file which converts multiple disks at once.
For the DMS password protection have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=479700&postcount=9
TCD is offline  
Old 28 November 2008, 11:16   #18
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Why don't use a normal copier to copy a .dms (or .wrp or others supported by WinUAE) to .adf?
That is definitely not a stupid question.

The DMS code in WinUAE is taken from xDMS, the two programs will provide identical results, the difference (as TheCyberDruid mentions) is that you can process DMS files in batches using xDMS but you must process each disk manually using WinUAE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
P.S. if the .dms archive has a password, has WinUAE problems loading it as df0: ???
No problem at all, WinUAE has a bruteforce DMS cracker built in, this is why a password protected DMS file causes WinUAE to freeze for a few seconds.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 29 November 2008, 06:55   #19
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,498
I didn't know that WinUAE automatically decrypted protected .dms files!
Good to know, thank you!

By the way, if I have a .dms containing files only (not a disk image), how can I extract the single files? Where I can find the DMS program you were writing about?
Does exist a PC utility which can view/extract a .dms archive?? Perhaps DOpus?

Thanks a lot! :-)
Massimo
Supamax is offline  
Old 29 November 2008, 09:05   #20
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
By the way, if I have a .dms containing files only (not a disk image), how can I extract the single files?
To the best of my knowledge no program can extract individual files from FMS archives, not even the Amiga version of DMS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Where I can find the DMS program you were writing about?
xDMS 1.3.2 Binaries
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Does exist a PC utility which can view/extract a .dms archive?? Perhaps DOpus?
I only know of xDMS and a plugin for Total Commander.
OddbOd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dms 2.20r thevoice request.Apps 8 14 February 2017 21:10
Dms Ian request.Apps 6 14 October 2008 17:43
How can I force DMS to write a dms in spite of fatal errors? andreas support.Apps 43 10 January 2007 06:13
dms problems otro support.Apps 12 26 October 2004 02:06
dms to adf problems oggman support.WinUAE 5 18 October 2002 05:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22581 seconds with 11 queries