English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2008, 07:41   #1
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Best Quake Version?

Looking to get back into playing Quake (on PC). What's the best version to get?

Edit: I guess I don't remember what the original QW client/engine was...

Last edited by adolescent; 18 September 2008 at 07:48.
adolescent is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 September 2008, 08:02   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I still play with the plain WinQuake.exe here on XP. Works fine and looks... well oldschool
laser posted a link to the Direct3D engine in another thread. I think this could be more what you are searching for :
http://dxquake.sourceforge.net/
TCD is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 08:42   #3
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Found ezQuake which looks pretty good.
adolescent is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 09:09   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolescent View Post
Found ezQuake which looks pretty good.
Looks interesting
I wonder if that works for SP aswell
TCD is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 16:54   #5
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
I had must fun with Quake 3 on my DC
Dizzy is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 17:01   #6
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Im trying this ezQuake and it's wonderful !!!
good find
Im really impressed by the lum effects
laser is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 17:03   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
Im trying this ezQuake and it's wonderful !!!
good find
Im really impressed by the lum effects
Did you try the single player mode laser?
TCD is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 17:40   #8
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Did you try the single player mode laser?
yes of course..works great !!!
try it
laser is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 18:47   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
yes of course..works great !!!
try it
Thanks for the info laser I will try it now
TCD is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 21:12   #10
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 609
I found Tenebrae Quake is pretty good!
Coagulus is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 21:34   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coagulus View Post
I found Tenebrae Quake is pretty good!
It's damn slow on my PC. 7-10fps. That might be my crappy FX5200 gfx card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
I'm really impressed by the lum effects [in ezQuake]
Tenebrae Quake is an order of magnitude better looking gfx wise.

The UI is no-where near as advanced or easy to use as ezQuake. It's difficult to change resolution or gamma values.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 21:46   #12
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 609
This is true, it's only now I have my Athlon64 3000+ and GeForce 6600 is it running acceptably, although I recall it running rather nicely on my GeForce 4Ti which I had briefly but died.
Coagulus is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 21:50   #13
mfletcher
Bawbag.

mfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 368
Quake 3 Arena FTW in my opinion. Its the only version of Quake that I really enjoyed in multiplayer.

Quake 2 single player campaign was fun. Quake 4 was fun too until the end when they ramped the difficulty to 11
mfletcher is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 21:52   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
I think the question was supposed to be "What is the best version of Quake 1?" Wasn't it?
alexh is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 21:54   #15
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
oh. I thought it covers them all
Dizzy is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 21:54   #16
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I think the question was supposed to be "What is the best version of Quake 1?" Wasn't it?
I also think so. Have to check out Tenebrae Quake aswell. ezQuake is very nice indeed

Oh and btw : Quake 2 FTW!
TCD is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 22:04   #17
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Sorry meant the original Quake. Q2 is okay, Q3 was good, but something about going back to the original. (Plus, this is retrogaming general forum right?)

I'll try Tenebrae, but I think ezQuake for QW at least is the best.
adolescent is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 22:09   #18
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Then I say Quake on a old pc with win95SE

I got so many lovley quake add on cds, and playing on a real retro pc is nice
Dizzy is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 00:01   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Single player wise I always thought that Unreal & Escape from Na-Pali were cooler than Quake (II)
alexh is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 00:17   #20
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
on the tenebrae quake website there's no links to download anything
where I can download tenebrae quake instead?
laser is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga GL Quake fitzsteve support.Apps 59 27 October 2010 00:53
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 22:11
Quake Cosmos support.WinUAE 8 11 February 2007 16:54
Quake 2 DDNI request.Apps 2 06 December 2006 01:47
Quake (clickBOOM) Blue Angel 69 request.Old Rare Games 16 22 September 2006 13:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38271 seconds with 11 queries