English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2008, 11:06   #1
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 799
Error on setting Magic Workbench Pattern

I have installed MagicWB 2 on my A600 with Workbench 2.1. All the Magic WB icons are there, but I'm not able to set any new available pattern for WB backdrop or inside the windows.

When, on using Preferences/WBPattern, I try to load a MagicWB pattern I get this error:

"Error on processing IFF file SYS:Prefs/Patterns/Marble_CLASSIC"

I'm sure in the past I got it, but I don't know anymore how I did.
Can you help me? Thanks.
fc.studio is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 September 2008, 11:12   #2
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by fc.studio View Post
I have installed MagicWB 2 on my A600 with Workbench 2.1. All the Magic WB icons are there, but I'm not able to set any new available pattern for WB backdrop or inside the windows.

When, on using Preferences/WBPattern, I try to load a MagicWB pattern I get this error:

"Error on processing IFF file SYS:Prefs/Patterns/Marble_CLASSIC"

I'm sure in the past I got it, but I don't know anymore how I did.
Can you help me? Thanks.

maybe you haven't installed correctly the ilbm.datatype?
check if multiview can load marble_classic
laser is offline  
Old 16 September 2008, 11:59   #3
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 799
I thought they were there, but there are not. I installed MWB on a basic Workbench 2.1.
I just discovered datatypes were introduced from Workbench 3.0 with Multiview.
Workbench 2 & 1.3 have Amigaguide (Multiview without datatype = hypertext only), available as Commodore PD, not from original WB disks.

I don't know if multiview and datatypes are retro-compatible with WB 2.0/2.1. I'll try later, however I'm enough sure years ago I installed marble_classic pattern on my old A500+ with Hard Drive and WB 2. I didn't know MWB 2 required at least WB 3.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 16 September 2008, 12:00   #4
smoorke
Registered User
smoorke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ghent/Belgium
Age: 36
Posts: 247
Send a message via MSN to smoorke
Multiview only works on 3.0 and up.
And if i'm not mistaken wb 2.1 doesn't have datatypes either.
smoorke is offline  
Old 16 September 2008, 18:42   #5
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
could have a corupt piccy have you tried any other pics/brushes/patterns
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 September 2008, 21:05   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by fc.studio View Post
I have installed MagicWB 2 on my A600 with Workbench 2.1. All the Magic WB icons are there, but I'm not able to set any new available pattern for WB backdrop or inside the windows.

When, on using Preferences/WBPattern, I try to load a MagicWB pattern I get this error:

"Error on processing IFF file SYS:Prefs/Patterns/Marble_CLASSIC"

I'm sure in the past I got it, but I don't know anymore how I did.
Can you help me? Thanks.

You cannot use WBPattern to set MagicWB patterns in WB 2.1. It does not support loading pictures.

Check the MagicWB documentation. There is a section about using patterns with WB 2.x.
thomas is offline  
Old 17 September 2008, 11:56   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
I sorta thought that but cant remember that far back there is a progiee think its called nick prefs that lest you do some nice things to your wb2.1 wb
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 17 September 2008, 16:39   #8
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You cannot use WBPattern to set MagicWB patterns in WB 2.1. It does not support loading pictures.

Check the MagicWB documentation. There is a section about using patterns with WB 2.x.
Thanks Thomas & cosmicfrog, you're right! With Nick prefs it's now possible to load patterns. Unfortuntaly it works only for the backdrop (not inside the windows), however for me it is already enough.
fc.studio is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench PAttern Image robpotts New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 06 June 2011 18:47
ERROR: Magic Marble (resload_Diskload) killergorilla project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 9 28 July 2010 15:48
setting workbench res on WB 3.1 greenchili New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 25 July 2006 15:19
Magic Workbench 2 Dave_wb support.Hardware 4 12 April 2005 14:09
Magic Workbench, Ay?? etheridge New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 17 May 2002 10:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14546 seconds with 11 queries