English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 March 2002, 23:02   #1
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
please answer this!

i have had an amiga since 1992, most of the games i own are copied from copies. a lot of them start off with a screen saying something like 'cracked by ...' eg, the crack team, a lot give a date also.
i just wonderd what exactly this was, my guess is that its the person who copied the game from the origional and got past the security bit.
someone explain to me please.

// RetroMan : donīt use direct signature, use your UserCP instead ...
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 March 2002, 23:06   #2
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
your guess is correct!
Belgarath is offline  
Old 29 March 2002, 23:22   #3
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
thanks belgarath

im new to amiga emulation. is there any way to download a game to my pc, put it on disk and play it on my amiga without a special disk drive?
 
Old 29 March 2002, 23:25   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
@zakfab

Nope sorry You have to transfer the adf to your Amiga and write it back to disc using your Amiga .....
RetroMan is offline  
Old 29 March 2002, 23:30   #5
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
RetroMan is correct, and for a guide on how to do this check out
http://ale.emuunlim.com/guides/file-transfer.shtml

and for a list of guides to do with amiga emulation
http://ale.emuunlim.com/guides/guides.shtml

and welcome to EAB!
Belgarath is offline  
Old 30 March 2002, 00:09   #6
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
the links to LHA and ADF Blitzer dont work! where can i d/l these from?
 
Old 30 March 2002, 00:13   #7
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
i have got ADFBlitzer.lha, but am still searching for the program LHA, help anyone?
 
Old 30 March 2002, 00:15   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Do a search for LHA.RUN on Aminet
RetroMan is offline  
Old 30 March 2002, 00:18   #9
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
thanks. i searched for lha and it had millions! so is lha.run the version of lha i need for the pc or the amiga?
 
Old 30 March 2002, 00:21   #10
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
lha.run is for the amiga

lha.exe is for the pc
Belgarath is offline  
Old 30 March 2002, 00:32   #11
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
You can actually use either WinRAR or WinACE to extract .lha files on the PC side as well, then format a 720k diskette on the PC side and copy the files over, then use CrossDOS on the Amiga side to read the 720k floppy disk, but remember the 8.3 filename convention
jmmijo is offline  
Old 30 March 2002, 00:36   #12
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
im trying to follow the guide at this site:
http://ale.emuunlim.com/guides/adf-todisk.shtml

i am stuck at unzipping the adfblitzer! when i try to open it with lha.exe it tells me whats in there, but doesnt unzip it. the instructions totally confuse me, can someone put it in simple terms please
 
Old 30 March 2002, 00:40   #13
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Well if you have the Amiga version of LHA running you should extract it by typing LHA X (not LHA V) and then the filename.

If you're doing it on the PC side using WinZip you'd have a problem since WinZIP doesn't like other stuff than Zip. The other supports need seperate programs for it.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 30 March 2002, 00:42   #14
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
i have lha.exe. i believe this is what i need to unzip a *.lha file. how do i do this? (on the pc)
 
Old 30 March 2002, 00:51   #15
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
As Drake posted before : LHA X TEST.LHA
RetroMan is offline  
Old 30 March 2002, 01:15   #16
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
this sucks.

ok, i am so so so confused now
i have an amiga 600, wb 2.0 ks 2.0
when i type MOUNT PC0:
its says device pc0 not found (or something similar)
what can i do about that?
 
Old 06 April 2002, 16:32   #17
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
The mountlist doesnt contain the entry for PC0:

Have you deleted any of the crossdos entries from your mountlist ?
whiteb is offline  
Old 06 April 2002, 16:33   #18
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
As Drake posted before : LHA X TEST.LHA
LHA X TEST.LHA extracts to the current DIR.

LHA X TEST.LHA [DEST] sends the data to a directory of your choice, like RAM:
whiteb is offline  
Old 06 April 2002, 16:35   #19
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally posted by Drake1009
Well if you have the Amiga version of LHA running you should extract it by typing LHA X (not LHA V) and then the filename.

If you're doing it on the PC side using WinZip you'd have a problem since WinZIP doesn't like other stuff than Zip. The other supports need seperate programs for it.
Winzip will recognise .LHA on the PC, it needs the LHA executable to b in the external programs setup.
whiteb is offline  
Old 06 April 2002, 23:00   #20
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by whiteb
Winzip will recognise .LHA on the PC, it needs the LHA executable to b in the external programs setup.
The problem with that option is that WinZip uses the DOS version of LHA, which means DOS filename conventions (all uppercase, 8+3...)
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For the DVD you MUST answer this :) synchro Amiga scene 26 28 June 2004 10:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30393 seconds with 11 queries