English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 September 2008, 20:56   #1
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
PCMCIA Wifi?

Hi all

Had a search but not found much about this. Some guy on amiga.org was saying that he had a PCMCIA Wifi (
orinoco) on his Amiga. I asked if any PCMCIA Wifi device would work or does it need to be a orinoco. I ask as they seem to be 40+ whereas any boggo standard one can be bought for less than a fiver.

Any help appreciated as always!
tonyyeb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 September 2008, 21:11   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,223
It has to be a PRISM2 chipset. The drivers were written by the great Neil Cafferkey who also wrote the PCMCIA driver for the 3COM 3C589 10-Mbit ethernet cards.

http://aminet.net/package/driver/net/prism2

You can get these cards for 5-10 or lower on Ebay. No-one really wants a 11Mbit wireless card these days?

Last edited by alexh; 05 September 2008 at 21:26.
alexh is offline  
Old 05 September 2008, 21:15   #3
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Thanks for that Alex. My ebay searching skills were a bit off earlier, just found a buy it now for less than a tenner. I think ill give it a try. What else will I need to get my A1200 or A600 on the net?

Cheers

EDIT:

Found this: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=280263763184

Says Orinoco Branded. So will this do do you think? http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/New-Orinoco-Go...d=p3286.c0.m14
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 05 September 2008, 21:26   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyyeb View Post
Yes. This is a known good card.

If you look in the MANUAL (WinGUIDE) of the driver above it has some recommendations for cards.

Allied Telesyn AT-WCL452 O6M-WE300
Artem CC-PC-b-H2-STD
Buffalo WLI-PCM-L11(g)
Compaq WL110
Speedtouch 110(g)
Lucent Tech Orinoco Bronze
Lucent Tech Orinoco Gold
Lucent Tech Orinoco Silver
Lucent Tech Orinoco WaveLAN/IEEE 802.11(b)
Netgear MA401
Microsoft MN520
SMC SMC2632W LLM002SMC2632W
Unex NexAir MR011-001

Last edited by alexh; 05 September 2008 at 21:31.
alexh is offline  
Old 05 September 2008, 21:29   #5
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Great stuff. Thanks again Alex. I await its arrival from Ireland!
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 05 September 2008, 21:46   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,926
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
dont use PCMCIA with a Mediator...... I'm still pissed after buying a 90'PCMCIA adapter and a wifi card. Only to find the Mediator overlaps with PCMCIA memory space....
DDNI is offline  
Old 05 September 2008, 21:53   #7
StevenJGore
Apprentice Modder
StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 476
The only problem with wi-fi on Amiga is security. The Amiga drivers (or perhaps it's the hardware, or both) only support WEP. WPA and WPA2 (the most secure) aren't supported. This means you have to lower the security of your router, which is not a good thing since WEP can be consistently cracked in seconds.

I got a 3COM 3C589 10-Mbit ethernet card with cable for 3 off eBay and used that instead.

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 05 September 2008, 21:57   #8
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,926
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
You should live where I do... in the middle of nowhere... any non local folk tweak the suspicions of the whole village " 'tis a local network for local people... there'll be no road here!!"
DDNI is offline  
Old 05 September 2008, 21:57   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,223
I am not sure if using your MAC addresses to secure your wireless router (so even if they crack it... they also have to clone your MAC address too) helps? I always do that here.

Edit: The PRISM2 PCMCIA hardware can support WPA with software.

If an extra software component is required, I wonder if Neil Cafferkey could be persuaded to take a look into this?

Last edited by alexh; 18 August 2010 at 10:08.
alexh is offline  
Old 05 September 2008, 22:41   #10
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
I use MAC address filtering so no probs with hacking.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 00:21   #11
StevenJGore
Apprentice Modder
StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 476
MAC spoofing?
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 04:07   #12
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 637
MAC Filtering with fixed IP assigned by router... If I am connected MAC spoofing would cause an IP conflict? I also need to press a button on the router to allow new devices to connect. Is is still insecure?
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 08:56   #13
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
MAC spoofing?
If someone wants to go to that much effort to steal my internet connection then they are welcome to it!
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 09:28   #14
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 44
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
Is is still insecure?
You should be fine. It's important to remember that nothing is 100% secure but the method you are using will keep out 99.99% and since nothing can stop the 0.01%, there's little point in wasting overhead.
gklinger is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 20:56   #15
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
So what else will I need to get my new PCMCIA Wifi card going on an A1200? (Be gentle with me!)
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 21:01   #16
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,548
EasyNet will be useful:

amigakit.com is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 21:08   #17
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
EasyNet will be useful:
Useful or exactly the only piece of software I will need?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 21:09   #18
StevenJGore
Apprentice Modder
StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 476
Quote:
So what else will I need to get my new PCMCIA Wifi card going on an A1200? (Be gentle with me!)
Wi-fi card drivers and MiamiDX. That's it. Oh, and a browser of course. And possibly the two PCMCIA software fixes from Aminet (CardReset and CardPatch), but it depends on your A1200 motherboard version.

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 21:14   #19
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
Wi-fi card drivers and MiamiDX. That's it. Oh, and a browser of course. And possibly the two PCMCIA software fixes from Aminet (CardReset and CardPatch), but it depends on your A1200 motherboard version.

Steve.
Wifi card drivers... are they generic? from aminet?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 06 September 2008, 21:31   #20
StevenJGore
Apprentice Modder
StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 476
Yes, they are generic. See alexh's Aminet link in post #2!

And get MiamiDX (inc reg keys) from here: http://www.fatcat.vispa.com/keyring/

Steve
StevenJGore is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga + WiFi with WPA2? pkersey support.Hardware 12 24 August 2013 09:38
Wifi Card driver Djay support.Hardware 9 12 March 2011 04:37
Problems with AIRLANCER MC-11 wifi pcmcia card on amiga 1200 piemmeweb support.Hardware 1 04 June 2010 02:34
PCMCIA Wifi and MiamDX tonyyeb support.Hardware 16 01 October 2008 00:10
is this wifi compatible?? r6stu Amiga scene 0 12 September 2005 22:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21133 seconds with 11 queries