English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 September 2008, 16:58   #21
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Flashed my minimiggy's pic.. seems to be fine, just not had the time to put the monitor on it.
whiteb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 September 2008, 17:01   #22
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
The size of the PIC memory space is the limiting factor as is it's horse power.
From what i understand, there is ample room, if CAPS were to release PIC sources of the DLL, so we could have CAPS image support.
whiteb is offline  
Old 08 September 2008, 18:51   #23
wizard66
FPGA Replay inside A590
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 51
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
The size of the PIC memory space is the limiting factor as is it's horse power.
Nice Update Yaqube, real major Update ;-)

A real step forwards Thanks for your hard work.
And I'm intrested how things are going from here..

Quote from Amiga org:

Yaqube:

The hardfile support is next on my list.

But due to limited PIC resources (mainly RAM) expected transfer speed isn't high. Traversing through FAT on a disk seems to be a nightmare. That's why I've decided to switch to ARM microcontroller. Then it would be possible to add LFN and subfolder support (the FAT16 root directory is limited to 512 entries and you can have as many files there as long as all of them use 8.3 names - mixing lower and upper case letters or using some characters takes one LFN entry more). Also alphabetical sorting of files would be possible, currently they are displayed as their entries were created within root directory.

I have written small program (Windows) to sort alphabetically root directory entries on flash card and remove LFN's to make room for more files. Currently there is no point in using cards bigger then 512MB since you may have max 512 files (actually volume name takes one root entry so if you name your card you can have max 511 files) of 880KB each. It's good to format your card with maximum allowed cluster size of 32KB, access to files can be slightly faster. This program will be available soon after I do more tests.

I have designed an adapter board with ARM micro which can be plugged instead of existing PIC micro. The PCB is about to be manufactured. I consider it as the next step of Minimig evolution (all together with switching from SRAM to SDRAM, 16MB of SDRAM are cheaper and faster then 2MB of SRAM).

End Quote

So Nice things are coming from Yaqube in the future.
Times are good for the Minimig :-)

P.s I order one I want one !!!!

Last edited by wizard66; 08 September 2008 at 19:00.
wizard66 is offline  
Old 09 September 2008, 10:16   #24
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
I am waiting for multiple ADF support.

While the new core's are seeming to work fantastically, I remember Dennis saying he was going to add 2 ADF support for multiple disk games, but its gone silent.

Adding the second ADF support should not take up too much space (I think).

I would do it, if I knew how to. Not to mention, are the sources available for this new version of the PIC code ?
whiteb is offline  
Old 09 September 2008, 16:50   #25
wizard66
FPGA Replay inside A590
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 51
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb View Post
I am waiting for multiple ADF support.

While the new core's are seeming to work fantastically, I remember Dennis saying he was going to add 2 ADF support for multiple disk games, but its gone silent.
Your right Dennis have rewriten the flopy controller from zilch again.
But it was not any good the preformence was worse then the first flopycontroller, after that I havn't hear from him sins.
He stated that a new flopycontroller was important for adding more things amon the multi flopy support.
Maybe with the new release from a few day's ago he will add it I don't know, we will see.

Last edited by wizard66; 09 September 2008 at 17:03.
wizard66 is offline  
Old 09 September 2008, 18:47   #26
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb View Post
Not to mention, are the sources available for this new version of the PIC code ?
Yes. You will need a decent PIC compiler to use it though.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 00:36   #27
Dwyloc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 41
Posts: 81
I just got my minimig the other day and after updating to the new core I have to say I am very impressed and it feels like the first new games amiga since Commodore went bust.

When we get support for emulating a second floppy drive the minimig will have equalled an average A500 with an expensive external scan doubler.

If/when hard disk emulation is added we will have a nice replacement for the A600.

So as of yet no real threat to my expanded A1200 with WHDLOAD as ultimate Amiga gaming platform.

But thanks to everyone's hard work who has worked on making the minimig what it is, I have a grate new little system to play a large number of my favourite old games on which should out last my now ageing Commodore Amigas.
Dwyloc is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 05:32   #28
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
YESSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

Thanks to all those involved!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 23 September 2008, 02:50   #29
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
F*CK! No Tiny Bootloader on my PIC!!!!

Matthew from AmigaKit is sending me a replacement, which I really appreciate ...but I wish Acube had not forgotten to put it on in the first place!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 23 September 2008, 09:46   #30
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
I told them [Acube] about this from day zero. If you bought your MiniMig within the last few months there is no excuse.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 September 2008, 10:20   #31
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Matthew from AmigaKit is sending me a replacement, which I really appreciate
AmigaKit are a credit to the Amiga community. I wish more suppliers were like them. Just hope now after this praise they turn around my faulty Buddha in a good time!
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 15 October 2008, 02:25   #32
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Received my replacement PIC yesterday....yay AmigaKit!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 15 October 2008, 11:16   #33
Dwyloc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 41
Posts: 81
@Fingerlickin_B

Good to here you got your updated pic and can join the rest of us having some real fun with our minimigs.

As the latest core made a real diffrence to compatibility as well as adding write support so we can save our RPG's and god/sim games.

Last edited by Dwyloc; 17 October 2008 at 11:47.
Dwyloc is offline  
Old 17 October 2008, 00:55   #34
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Indeed, my MiniMig is now actually being used thanks to the new firmware

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 24 April 2009, 15:01   #35
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
ARM Controller for the Minimig in action: [ Show youtube player ]
Edit: 28 MHz cpu and fast Blitter Option

very nice, congrats!

Edit2: yaqube wrote here, only a limited number of ARM Boards ( http://www.minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=11&start=20 ). maybe something for http://www.amigakit.com/ to get involved? if they re-run aged/old usb devices, they should support something new.

Last edited by hit; 24 April 2009 at 15:17.
hit is offline  
Old 24 April 2009, 15:15   #36
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
Awesome!

Must get minimig built...
chiark is offline  
Old 24 April 2009, 15:23   #37
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Cool video, I remember the guy who made those cases... almost the same price as the MiniMig itself.

I notice that they didnt try any demo's or games with the speedups enabled

Hats off to Jakub for the updates.

Last edited by alexh; 24 April 2009 at 15:30.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 April 2009, 16:25   #38
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Very good, but this extra ARM add-on as well as a Minimig (and case!) must make it a very expensive Amiga box. I think ill wait for Mikes FPGA Arcade box and use it with the multiple cores.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 24 April 2009, 18:12   #39
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
MiniMig v1.1 PCB works with multiple cores. I've had Spectrum, MSX, Amstrad CPC, C64, Vic20 and some Arcade games working on it.

The ARM controller (if I can get one) should make it much easier to run more cores. The biggest limiting factor is the code space of the PIC.

Last edited by alexh; 24 April 2009 at 18:17.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 April 2009, 19:06   #40
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
i'm sure, the developer know what they do, but if its about the pic limitation, and i dont know the specs of the arm on the new controller - why not just use a bigger pic:
the one used in the minimig:
http://parts.digikey.com/1/parts/563...f252-i-sp.html
and a bigger one:
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...8GP502-E/SP-ND
is there still not enough ram size, compared to the arm?

Edit: maybe its about the EEprom size of the pic?

Last edited by hit; 24 April 2009 at 19:14.
hit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MiniMig V2? NovaCoder News 162 30 April 2014 22:46
I am after a MiniMig Vars191 MarketPlace 5 15 March 2011 00:38
Minimig - what to get? acadiel support.Hardware 6 11 January 2010 01:06
My New Minimig Kitty support.Hardware 2 04 November 2009 17:54
minimig jimbob005 Amiga scene 11 30 May 2008 10:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37024 seconds with 11 queries