English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 August 2008, 13:27   #1
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 34
Posts: 600
Stupidest Game Trainer?

I would like to know your comments about the most worthless trainer ever. I came across with this thread after testing that Shuffle Puck Cafe trainer from the Zone. By using that trainer it completely ruins the game! I don't see any point that game like this is even trained!

Don't get me wrong here now, I'm a great trainer lover but sometimes I wonder why some games never trained that certainly should have and then I found a trainer such a game as Shuffle Puck...

So throw me some absolutely stupid game trainers!
Old Fool is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 August 2008, 13:48   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I never got why nearly every trainer for a shoot 'em up has a 'permanent no-collision' option. That completely ruins the game and I wonder who plays it that way (if anybody ).
TCD is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 13:51   #3
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,282
I never liked trainers that resulted in an extra disk being added to the original set of disks to a game. I just found that this created alot of sloppy disk swapping, and sometimes games didn't work.

I realise this is not necessarily the fault of the person who implemented the trainer.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 13:54   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzkat View Post
I never liked trainers that resulted in an extra disk being added to the original set of disks to a game. I just found that this created alot of sloppy disk swapping, and sometimes games didn't work.
"Shadow of the Beast III" and "Barbarian II (Psygnosis)" spring to mind
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 13:56   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Or the 'wonderful' Wrath of the Demon trainer
Feels like they totally f**ked that one up...
TCD is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 13:58   #6
spajdr
Old fart
spajdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ostrava/Czech Republic
Age: 39
Posts: 310
Send a message via ICQ to spajdr
Best trainers were ones, when you just CANT disable cheats even if you wanted
spajdr is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 14:11   #7
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
Turrican - infinite loop after last level if you have unlimited diamonds option switched on
Gods - infinite loop after first world
s2325 is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 14:14   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Turrican - infinite loop after last level if you have unlimited diamonds option switched on
I would say the unlimited diamonds option itself is already stupid
TCD is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 14:58   #9
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Gods - infinite loop after first world
I've never played Gods with the trainer so I'm a little curious about this. Do you mean you can only play the first level and that's it?
gklinger is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 15:02   #10
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
first world, not first level
s2325 is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 15:15   #11
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
D'oh. Monday morning blues.
gklinger is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 15:37   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Or the 'wonderful' Wrath of the Demon trainer
Feels like they totally f**ked that one up...
Disk swapping/extra disk has nothing to do with the trainer in this case. Game uses longtracks ($1900 bytes/track as opposed to $1600 bytes/track for a normal DOS track) thus the crack uses 1 disk more than the original. It also uses almost all of the available 512k RAM on a standard A500 which is the reason why there is no proper "Insert Disk" screen for the extra disk (no space for the patch).

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
"Shadow of the Beast III"
What's wrong with the Beast III trainer? Trained version: 2 disks, original version: 2 disks.
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 15:41   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Disk swapping/extra disk has nothing to do with the trainer in this case. Game uses longtracks ($1900 bytes/track as opposed to $1600 bytes/track for a normal DOS track) thus the crack uses 1 disk more than the original. It also uses almost all of the available 512k RAM on a standard A500 which is the reason why there is no proper "Insert Disk" screen for the extra disk (no space for the patch).
Okay, that's interesting. It feels a bit strange that you have to insert the fifth disk as a filler for the other disks, but now I get why it was done this way. Thanks for the info StingRay
TCD is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 15:51   #14
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
What's wrong with the Beast III trainer? Trained version: 2 disks, original version: 2 disks.
Beast III cracked and original is 3 disks actually (incl intro)

I think DD meant Beast II where the 3 disk crack was much more common to have.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 15:57   #15
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
Beast III cracked and original is 3 disks actually (incl intro)
That's of course correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
I think DD meant Beast II where the 3 disk crack was much more common to have.
Hmm, there was a 3 disk crack of SOTB2? I only had the Angels version back in the day which was on 2 disks.
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 16:00   #16
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
The trained angels versions are 3 disks.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 16:04   #17
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
The trained angels versions are 3 disks.
According to Planetemu and my own poor memory only the trained version has 3 disks.
TCD is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 16:09   #18
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
The trained angels versions are 3 disks.
I only had the "normal" (i.e. untrained version) which explains why I didn't know about the 3 disks trained version.
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 16:30   #19
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
I never got why nearly every trainer for a shoot 'em up has a 'permanent no-collision' option. That completely ruins the game and I wonder who plays it that way (if anybody ).
which brings me to my own choice; permanent shield on Cybernoid II - the game may be hard, but why even play it with a trainer like that?
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 16:41   #20
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
Leander's invincible trainer is stupid, as you can fall down in spike caves and not be able to get back into game.
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRAINER mode? JohnnyWalker support.WinUAE 6 08 January 2011 02:12
Ghostbusters II Trainer? TrainerFreak request.Old Rare Games 16 04 June 2010 11:44
The Best Trainer Ever! Old Fool Retrogaming General Discussion 15 25 September 2008 17:56
SWORD trainer Old Fool request.Old Rare Games 5 12 March 2007 17:56
Blue Angel 69 - Trainer game version Blue Angel 69 request.Old Rare Games 0 20 September 2006 13:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32025 seconds with 11 queries