English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2008, 13:34   #1
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 489
Need help with C64 display cable

I have just bought a nice Commodore 64 from ebay, in excellent condition, and am wondering how to connect it to my HDTV for a colour display. I bought a two wire connector yellow/white, but this just gives me a b/w picture unfortunately. So it seems the best thing for this is an S-Video connector?

http://radagast.bglug.ca/C64_svideo/C64_Svideo.html

Please can you guys offer any help where to get such a cable, as ebay seems pretty sparse at the moment, and I don't want to waste money on a dud cable again.

Last edited by Avanze; 24 August 2008 at 17:41.
Avanze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 August 2008, 18:40   #2
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
Joe Forster or Vesalia can definitely supply the right cable.

Without knowing what pins are connected to where on the cable you have currently it's tricky to say whether you were dudded or not, it could be a Y/C monitor cable in which case there's nothing wrong with it you're just using it incorrectly.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 19:30   #3
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 489
Thanks for the reply. The cable I am using now is practically identical to this one;

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SEGA-MEGA-DRIV...QcmdZViewItem?

I tried my cable on a normal none hi-def TV, and it was still black and white. Bizarrely, the video is coming from the white jack.
Avanze is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 19:49   #4
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
OK you have been dudded, it's nothing to do with your telly or your computer. The composite video signal is on a different pin on the C64 the reason it works at all is because by coincidence the white RCA is wired to the 64's Luminance pin.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 20:07   #5
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 489
Ah, okay, thanks for the info Oddbod. I will update when I get a new cable.
Avanze is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 18:15   #6
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 489
I had a SCART cable made and the HDTV still displays b/w. I am starting to think this LG TV just cannot accept the Commodore 64 signal.

Is there anything I can do to get a colour display?
Avanze is offline  
Old 30 August 2008, 03:24   #7
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 47
Posts: 824
Seems like the video rca plug is cnnected to the luminance pin on the C64 video connector.
But, it has to be connected to the composite pin !!
Tghe luminance pin is only a b/w signal and is used together with the chrominance pin (colour information), but then you need a cable with 3 rca plugs (luminance, chrominance, audio) and also the correespondng inputs on the TV. This is the best picture quality solution. If your TV accepts s-video then you can also do a cable to a s-video connector or to scart, but the TV has to be able to accepts s-video on the scart input ! Not al can do this as some can only accept composite-video on their scart connector.
Overdoc is offline  
Old 31 August 2008, 14:12   #8
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 489
S-video cable it is. I just hope this works.
Avanze is offline  
Old 03 September 2008, 21:18   #9
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 489
I have tested a new S-Video cable that was made for me, and now the display, although black and white has colour outlines, as though the colour is not being mixed in the signal somehow. Any idea?
Avanze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
c64 .DATS and playing games on the C64 hardware pubzombie Retrogaming General Discussion 22 15 April 2011 14:40
c64 video cable cosmicfrog MarketPlace 8 14 December 2009 21:00
1081 Cable Actually a SCART Cable? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 2 11 February 2009 09:43
56k PC modem cable = null modem cable for amiga\PC? Reverend Emi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 14 July 2008 08:58
Defective? (RGB)-Scart SEGA Mega Drive Model 1 cable & 4:3 to 16:9 display problem... ST Dragon Retrogaming General Discussion 2 31 January 2006 09:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13322 seconds with 11 queries