English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 August 2008, 10:14   #1
Bolch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 147
Wrath of the Demon crashes at the end

The title says it all!

I managed to find a seemingly working version of the game, get past all "critical" scenes (the throne room at the beginning, the riding level etc.), and a few hours later I found myself face-to-face with the evil Demon. After a long battle, I finally struck the final blow...

...when the game suddenly crashed and the (emulated) Amiga rebooted. I tried it multiple times with multiple configurations, but nothing changed.


I know what the ending is (I found a longplay video), but since I'd like to make a collection of 100% working and finishable games, it'd be much more satisfying to see the end-sequence in the game itself.

Did anyone encounter with the same problem? Or even better, could anyone give some advice about the correct version or the correct Winuae configuration which makes it possible to see the ending?

Thanks in advance!
Bolch is offline  
Old 23 August 2008, 10:24   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Hi Bolch,

did you use the version cracked and trained by Skid Row? If so and you have a savestate I would like to have a look Can you upload your savestate to the zone?
TCD is offline  
Old 23 August 2008, 10:40   #3
Bolch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 147
OK, I uploaded my savestate from the final fight... the Demon is already weakened at this state (the hero retained half of his energy, but he also has a healing potion left, so it should be easy to get to the end from this point).
Bolch is offline  
Old 23 August 2008, 10:50   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Thanks Bolch! I have loaded the savestate and defeated the demon. Here the screen becomes black and then... nothing. WinUAE doesn't reboot here. Maybe the right disk has to be in the drive when you defeat the demon. How long does it take to get there? If it doesn't take too much time I will try to play from the beginning later
TCD is offline  
Old 23 August 2008, 10:53   #5
Bolch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 147
It's not a long game, it takes about 2-3 hours to play it to the end (it's much quicker if you use savestates, too).
Bolch is offline  
Old 23 August 2008, 10:57   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Okay, I'll play it then, but I guess I will report back tomorrow. Have you tried the WHDLoad version? You can get it here : http://www.whdownload.com/games/Upda...emon_v1.01.zip
It doesn't require a registered WHDLoad, so that might be an idea.
TCD is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 12:35   #7
Bolch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 147
I admit that I prefer the ADF versions of games (so I can use savestates etc.). I would only use the WHDLoad version if there is no other solution.
Bolch is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 12:59   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
I made it to the castle yesterday, but it's really confusing in there I will try to get through this 'maze' later and tell you if I suceeded to see the end. In my config I enabled all four floppies. Maybe that helps
TCD is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 14:51   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
I made it through that crazy maze thanks to laffer's longplay I defeated the demon and... saw the end animation I've uploaded my savestate to the zone. It's right at the start of the boss fight. I used the trainer and I don't know if that changes anything. You should insert your disk images in the floppies right after loading the savestate. I you want I can upload my config if the savestate worked for you.
TCD is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 16:20   #10
Bolch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 147
It works like a charm! Since I have the same version of the game, it seems that that something was wrong with my configuration.

Many thanks!
Bolch is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 16:26   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Yay! Cool that it works for you
Should I post my config here or is the savestate enough?
TCD is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 16:30   #12
Bolch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 147
The savestate is enough, thank you.
Bolch is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help getting Wrath of the Demon working Macaw support.WinUAE 33 16 April 2012 12:36
Wrath of the Demon mai support.Games 6 27 February 2009 13:27
Wrath of Demon MheAd request.Old Rare Games 1 03 September 2005 11:33
Help on Wrath of the Demon Unregistered support.WinUAE 2 26 May 2004 00:18
[Found] -> Wrath of the Demon Nexjen Looking for a game name ? 6 30 June 2002 17:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07961 seconds with 12 queries