English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2008, 10:16   #41
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
If it had been TSS (Tracks, Sides, Sectors) where :

Total capcity = Number of platter sides * Tracks per side * Sectors per track * bytes per sector

it would have made perfect sense.

But Cylinders?? Heads?? Unfathomable unless someone explains it!
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 August 2008, 22:14   #42
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
This any good?
Clicky
Eclipse is offline  
Old 27 August 2008, 23:59   #43
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse View Post
This any good?
Clicky
For what?
alexh is offline  
Old 28 August 2008, 07:25   #44
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
But Cylinders?? Heads?? Unfathomable unless someone explains it!
Errrrr......^^^^
Eclipse is offline  
Old 28 August 2008, 11:26   #45
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
I meant that you cannot gain anything from the names "cylinder" or "head" unless someone explains them.

Quote:
A cylinder is the combination of all the tracks traced out at a given head actuator position.
Quote:
Heads refers to the number of logical read/write heads, not the physical number of heads.
Still non the wiser from that page. Unless you knew what they were talking about you could not decode those sentances. They are written in a language known as "Crappy engineer" by a guy who has known the technology so long that he doesn't know how to describe it using words which themselves do not require an explanation!

The meaning behind "Cylinders" & "Heads" does not jump out at you.

You do not instantly understand:

Cylinder = Number of Tracks on a platter side.
Heads = Number of platter sides

Last edited by alexh; 28 August 2008 at 11:36.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 August 2008, 11:54   #46
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
I'm too old, as that is intuitive to me... Then again, back in the mists of time we did have knackered hard disk drives from a BBC B disassembled at school so you could see the heads, etc... There also used to be a differentiation between 40/80 track floppy drives, and twin head drives.

Now a group buy on these 600 memory cards might be a good idea!!

Last edited by chiark; 28 August 2008 at 11:59.
chiark is offline  
Old 28 August 2008, 22:51   #47
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
The wiki page is somewhat better.
Wiki
Eclipse is offline  
Old 28 August 2008, 23:24   #48
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Back on topic:

Got a PSU today and managed to fudge an RF lead together. It boots! Hard drive is partitioned into 4 volumes! Loads of stuff on there but I think the HD must have come out of an A1200 at some point as it has some AGA only games and games that require more RAM than the A600 has available after booting.

So what is the best option? Chip RAM expansion or the 8mb Fast RAM expansion?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 28 August 2008, 23:29   #49
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
May I suggest get an A1200 since you allready have the A1200 HD. It will be much easier and cheaper to expand your A1200 and it will be so much faster than your A600 even if you only bump up fast ram a bit.
cv643d is offline  
Old 28 August 2008, 23:35   #50
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyyeb View Post
So what is the best option? Chip RAM expansion or the 8mb Fast RAM expansion?
Both seem handy to have but since the latter is easier to obtain I would get one of those and then pounce when you see a 601 (or equivalent) for a reasonable price. Or you could wait two more weeks and get an accelerator with RAM for that 600.
gklinger is offline  
Old 28 August 2008, 23:58   #51
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Sell your Amiga or give it away (until you have the dough to get an A1200) & use WinUAE to its full potential on a fast PC .

You will thank me after that, no doubt about it.

Last edited by NewDeli; 29 August 2008 at 00:10.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 10:18   #52
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv643d View Post
May I suggest get an A1200 since you allready have the A1200 HD. It will be much easier and cheaper to expand your A1200 and it will be so much faster than your A600 even if you only bump up fast ram a bit.
I am on the lookout for a bare A1200 and when one comes up for the right price I will be bagging one of those.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
Both seem handy to have but since the latter is easier to obtain I would get one of those and then pounce when you see a 601 (or equivalent) for a reasonable price. Or you could wait two more weeks and get an accelerator with RAM for that 600.
It would be great to get one (when available) but I think that maybe some time off... even longer than two weeks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
Sell your Amiga or give it away (until you have the dough to get an A1200) & use WinUAE to its full potential on a fast PC .

You will thank me after that, no doubt about it.
No I don't think I will! Nothing beats using Amiga software on REAL Amiga hardware for me!
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 16:15   #53
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyyeb View Post
No I don't think I will! Nothing beats using Amiga software on REAL Amiga hardware for me!


I'm blown away by how far emulators have come but they don't bring the happy memories rushing back the way using actual hardware does.
gklinger is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 16:47   #54
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Get the 8Mb FAST RAM upgrade before they stop selling them (which no doubt will be soon)
alexh is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 21:59   #55
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Get the 8Mb FAST RAM upgrade before they stop selling them (which no doubt will be soon)
Might do, but the A600 might be on hold for a while as I just bought an A1200! Ooops!
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 22:40   #56
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Get the 8Mb FAST RAM upgrade before they stop selling them (which no doubt will be soon)
Just had a look at those. The 2007 version is incredibly cheap. The 2008 isn't a bad price either.
Eclipse is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 22:46   #57
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
I think they just wanna get rid of them?

It's not fully autoconfiguring and reportedly gets a bit hot (because it is too close to surrounding chips?)
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just bought an A600HD clownstyle MarketPlace 49 12 January 2013 18:52
It's been 15 Years, just bought an A1200! lakitu New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 29 April 2012 13:12
Bought two books Doc Mindie Coders. General 17 01 July 2009 22:32
anyone bought from amigastuff.co.uk ? stuntpup MarketPlace 15 26 January 2003 22:41
What have I bought? Big-Byte Amiga scene 7 26 August 2002 18:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24024 seconds with 11 queries