English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 August 2008, 03:10   #1
shirsch
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, VT USA
Posts: 34
Eyetech Netfs / Samba configuration?

I found these applications on a disk that came with my Xsurf card. Unfortunately, I cannot figure out for the life of me how to configure them! The "configuration" tool (and I use the term loosely) asks me to select from computers 1-9. That's it, no names, no ability to put in a name. Then it goes looking for a share from Computer_1 (for example), which of course does not exist.

Would appreciate any tips for getting this up and running? I have Genesis installed on the box under AmigaOS 3.5, and networking is functional (ftp works, etc.)
shirsch is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 August 2008, 08:48   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
http://www.birrabrothers.com/tiger/data/samba/
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/amigasamba/
http://web.archive.org/web/200612300...net/index.html

Last edited by alexh; 22 August 2008 at 08:54.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 August 2008, 13:56   #3
shirsch
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, VT USA
Posts: 34
Thanks! I had already found a lot of information in general on getting Samba going. Still curious how the Eyetech "front end" (I guess that's what it is) works, though. Looks like it could save a lot of trouble with hand-editing, provided one knew how to use it.
shirsch is offline  
Old 22 August 2008, 15:01   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
I had this same disc and I do not remember there being any customisation. Just start TCP/IP then start samba. It used a fixed IP address. Make sure that file sharing is enabled on the PC. I'll see if I can find the sheet of paper that came with mine. (Pretty sure I binned it last time I moved)

But to be honest... Amiga Explorer beats the pants off all of these tools. Install TCP/IP at a fixed IP address on Amiga. Double click on Amiga Explorer Icon. On the PC configure Amiga Explorer to look at said IP address... all Amiga drives including DF0: RAM and Kickstart are mounted as PC drives. Standard explorer Drag n Drop (even ADF files onto DF0:)
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samba 2.2.5 on OS 3.9 Turran support.Apps 5 06 November 2014 23:31
Eyetech CD Plus manual lambrettadave support.Hardware 14 22 November 2010 21:41
Samba problems Coma support.Hardware 4 16 February 2006 13:03
samba setup. poppe support.Apps 5 08 June 2005 18:56
Eyetech [Mr_L] support.Hardware 2 31 December 2003 22:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11786 seconds with 11 queries