English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 August 2008, 23:19   #1
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 175
CompactFlash cards that work on Buddha

There are a few threads here discussing problems with using (or at least booting from) Compact Flash cards with a CF to IDE adapter with Buddha controller cards. Since some of you have managed to get it to work, could you please post the make and model of your working and non-working cards so that we can compile a list? I can start with my SanDisk Ultra Extreme IV 2 GB that doesn't work...
MagerValp is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 07 August 2008, 23:27   #2
davideo
Amiga Tomcat
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,061
@MagerValp

Which Buddha are you using?

I'm hoping to use a similair setup with my original Buddha to give me a removable card to allow me to copy stuff from PC to my 4000D

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 14:04   #3
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 175
I'm using a Buddha Flash, hopefully using the latest firmware (though I have no way of checking that right now).
MagerValp is offline  
Old 10 August 2008, 19:58   #4
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 175
So... no one is using CF cards on their Buddhas?
MagerValp is offline  
Old 10 August 2008, 20:06   #5
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
I've just ordered a SanDisk 2GB from ebay on the recommendation of alexh for use with my buddha.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 10 August 2008, 21:16   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,120
I have to be honest and say I've only ever used the internal IDE interface, never a buddha. SanDisk are usually the best, most compliant. The latest Kingston CF cards have been known to have trouble with onboard IDE.

You can try to use the atcfwchg.com and/or ndcfwchg.com (programs from Sandisk for x86 PC) to change the CF card from REMOVABLE to FIXED which can help compatibility.

1. Mount the CF as a primary master IDE.
2. Boot from a floppy with the tool on the floppy.
3. Make sure the BIOS see the CF.
4. Issue atcfwchg /p /f

Last edited by alexh; 10 August 2008 at 21:35.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 08:00   #7
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
You can try to use the atcfwchg.com and/or ndcfwchg.com (programs from Sandisk for x86 PC) to change the CF card from REMOVABLE to FIXED which can help compatibility.

1. Mount the CF as a primary master IDE.
2. Boot from a floppy with the tool on the floppy.
3. Make sure the BIOS see the CF.
4. Issue atcfwchg /p /f
Wow, that is exactly what I needed. Thanks!
MagerValp is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 09:52   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,120
Let us know if it works.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 10:30   #9
Chain
A-Collector, repairments
Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,505
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
it will not
Chain is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 10:31   #10
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 175
atcfwchg /p /f worked, I'll let you know what the Buddha thinks of it tonight.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
it will not
Huh?

Last edited by MagerValp; 13 August 2008 at 11:41.
MagerValp is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 10:48   #11
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
I'm still awaiting all my CF kit to arrive but i'll post here when i've had time to fit it all.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 20:26   #12
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Typical... out of four packages i'm waiting for I got a CF-IDE for my A3000, a CF reader for my PC and............ the Kickstart 3.1 ROMs! No CF card! Lol!
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 21:55   #13
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 175
The flash rom on my Buddha card has become corrupt, so now I can't test. Bah.
MagerValp is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 21:57   #14
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagerValp View Post
The flash rom on my Buddha card has become corrupt, so now I can't test. Bah.
Blimey! How do you go about fixing that?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 22:39   #15
davideo
Amiga Tomcat
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,061
Surely that's just a case of reflashing the Rom with the latest version

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 14 August 2008, 16:13   #16
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 175
Yeah, re-flash with the Buddha software, or stick it in an EPROM burner. Unfortunately I only have the Buddha software on IDE drives (mmm 22), and no way of transferring disks, but I think my old EPROM burner can program 28C256 chips.

The bigger question is of course why it became corrupted in the first place. Jens suggested that it's ripple on the +5 V and recommends replacing all the electrolytic caps in the PSU...

So many things to do, so little time.
MagerValp is offline  
Old 14 August 2008, 16:16   #17
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
/Keeps Buddha Floppy Disk in Safe Place
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 14 August 2008, 17:42   #18
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Got my SanDisk UltraII 2gb CF card today. PC sees it fine but Amiga/Buddha will not. Low Level Formatted (on the PC) and WinUAE allowed me to add it as a drive but wont show up in HDToolBox.

The CF-IDE adapter on the Amiga blinks when doing the detect in HDToolBox but only shows my SCSI hard drive. Tried changing from master to slave but still no joy.

What am I doing wrong?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 14 August 2008, 21:43   #19
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 175
Did you use atcfwchg (in DOS on a PC) to change the firmware ID to fixed disk? Did you change the HDToolBox icon to use buddha_atapi.device?
MagerValp is offline  
Old 14 August 2008, 22:10   #20
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 790
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagerValp View Post
Did you use atcfwchg (in DOS on a PC) to change the firmware ID to fixed disk?
Not tried that. How do you do it? I've downloaded it. I guess this needs to run under DOS and not under XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagerValp View Post
Did you change the HDToolBox icon to use buddha_atapi.device?
Do I have to do that? Every other device (including the DVD ROM) shows up without any changes.

Last edited by tonyyeb; 14 August 2008 at 22:38.
tonyyeb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do accelerator cards work? This one Apollo 1240 theugly support.Hardware 25 27 August 2013 19:08
Insights on how accelerator cards work on Amigas jman support.Hardware 12 27 April 2011 22:18
CF CompactFlash Cards in the CD32 + SX-1 Cauterize support.Hardware 3 03 July 2010 21:29
Will the X-Surf's IDE controller work with CompactFlash cards? papa_november support.Hardware 5 21 September 2009 20:50
FS: 32 GB CompactFlash card DJBase MarketPlace 1 07 January 2009 10:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19831 seconds with 11 queries