English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2008, 16:55   #1
Magno Boots
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 685
A1200 found today at the dump!

Chaps,

I've been meaning to go to the tip for the last few weeks and I finally went today. I'm glad I did

Guess what I spotted in one of the open bins?

A Miggy1200 complete with some kind of ram card inside

Straight in the car!! No exchange of monies!!

Have a peek at the piccies..

Attachment 17387

Attachment 17388

Attachment 17389

Attachment 17391

It's in fair shape but I wish I'd got to it earlier as the the previous owner just f****d in in the container.

I'll have a look inside and fire her up later when I'm sure it's all dry.

My first find Whooo Hoooo

Last edited by Magno Boots; 18 September 2008 at 00:04.
Magno Boots is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 August 2008, 17:06   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
OOOOoo Magno!!!!

well found my friend!!! I cannot think of a better new owner for her!!!!!

what you have there my friend is a 4MB RTC card a great find!

looks like she needs a new lid.... time for some begging on AmiBay me thinks
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 17:30   #3
4pLaY
resistance.no
4pLaY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 70
Nice find indeed , might be some goodies on the HD as well for you, a really ugly "hack" to get a 3.5" hd in it though.
4pLaY is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 17:41   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
What a find!!!! That expansion looks in good condition; hopefully it will work.

The expansion alone would fetch a nice price on ebay or Amibay, that is of course if you decide not to keep it.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 17:42   #5
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,030
Not just RAM, there's an FPU mounted on that card too :O Never seen that very card before.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 17:50   #6
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
What a score. I really should visit the local recycling depot and look through the computer section.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:19   #7
cane
Registered User
cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: .hr
Age: 38
Posts: 539
Whoa, nice find Magno Boots. Me thinks that the card is Blizzard 1200/4 by the looks of it. Lookie here
cane is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:23   #8
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
Now you only need to buy a 20 mhz crystal!
Nice find Magno Boots!
Yoto is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:29   #9
RobGoodison
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cane View Post
Whoa, nice find Magno Boots. Me thinks that the card is Blizzard 1200/4 by the looks of it. Lookie here
Yep, that's the card you have - nice find indeed.

It's amazing what some people chuck away (says me that's just disposed of an arcade machine cabinet that way…)
 
Old 03 August 2008, 18:32   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I wish we had the same things in the trash here
Hope some parts are still working (especially the card).
Great discovery you made there Magno Boots
TCD is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:32   #11
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Mango Flukes

Again a great catch, I really am pleased you got this my friend, i know you will give it the love and attention it deserves.... and then HACK IT!!!

LOL I may well have a 20Mhz OSC, If i have one i shall include it in the packed with the pre-set A600 Memory chips in the post on Monday m8y
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:55   #12
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
excellent find my best find in the dump was a c64 in good working condition
klx300r is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 19:06   #13
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Bravo bravo.

I found my wife at the dump
Paul_s is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 19:38   #14
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
Quote:
Bravo bravo.

I found my wife at the dump
I just hope its not the same place where i threw my mother-in-law!
Yoto is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 20:25   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
I found my wife at the dump
I'll lend you a puncture repair kit if you need one?
alexh is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 21:00   #16
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Yet more proof that the adage about one man's trash being another man's treasure is true.
gklinger is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 22:37   #17
Magno Boots
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 685
UPDATE

It lives!!

Workbench 3.0 & 3.0 roms.

Took her apart and found the insides to be wet but spotless (Paul_s would be envious of the RF shield )

It fired up ok with lots of noise . I thought Concorde has been recommissioned!!
The workbench was possibly German and I couldn't understand it. Nevermind as there was nothing of any interest on it anyway.
The floppy works fine.
The Blizzard card works and reports 100% gain over a standard 1200 .

So a great afternoon upgrading with..

3.1 roms
4gb CF harddrive
1200 harddrive caddy
new trapdoor cover

The only problem I have encountered so far is the keyboard (see picture) as it appears to be German?
New install of WB3.1 with GB locale still won't let some keys work.
I've stuck an old keyboard in to test and this works fine.
Any advice welcome.

Thanks for the comments guys. I'm not usually the lucky type, but this find has made my day.

BTW.. LOL@ Magno Flukes - and thanks for the offer Zetr0

Attachment 17392
Concorde harddrive

Attachment 17393
HD contents were poor

Attachment 17394
Current set-up

Attachment 17395
Foreign keyboard

Last edited by Magno Boots; 18 September 2008 at 00:04.
Magno Boots is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 22:40   #18
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I'm sure this is a German keyboard as the Z & Y are swapped (as well as other non-UK symbols).

I wish people threw out cool stuff in my area (girlfriend is glad they don't ). Great find Magno!
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 22:41   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
German indeed.

alexh is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 22:44   #20
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
LOL! That hard drive conversion was really a very poor job!

Looks a lot better with the CF reader - did you just have one of those lying around as a spare?
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I had an idea today about my HD in my A1200 spannernick Hardware mods 38 06 July 2012 23:27
What would it cost to make an A1200 today? diablothe2nd Amiga scene 13 10 June 2012 17:41
Please dump your ST disks! Interceptor project.SPS (was CAPS) 9 31 May 2008 02:35
what I found today part 2 s2325 Nostalgia & memories 0 25 May 2008 10:54
Directory dump LaundroMat MarketPlace 9 07 April 2002 16:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.51830 seconds with 11 queries