English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2008, 19:41   #141
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
If I can get it to boot once then I can get the key off it and stuff a new HDD in it. If not, I will have to get a new one and softmod that (I was stupid and didn't get the key first!)
It would take 5 minutes to get it direct from the I2C EEPROM
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 August 2008, 19:46   #142
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
How the hell would I do that?

BTW I really am in a "looking all this up myself is too much hard work" mood today, I do apologise
killergorilla is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 19:57   #143
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Check the compatibility chart for USB sticks that work..
It was listed as working (Micro Advantage 64MB).
Anubis is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 21:07   #144
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
How the hell would I do that?
The easiest way is to use an SDRAM DIMM

But you can make your own I2C EEPROM programmer / reader

Link1 Link 2
alexh is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 22:04   #145
hitchhikr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 359
Softmodding With pictures inside:

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-...ox...for-FREE/

Does anyone know if this would be working on a xbox crystal ?
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 22:06   #146
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
The easiest way is to use an SDRAM DIMM

But you can make your own I2C EEPROM programmer / reader

Link1 Link 2
Rrrrright...

KG will be buying another xbox
killergorilla is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 22:13   #147
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
@Kg

Send me the old one pwease, I'll send you the postage. It will take me about 2 minutes

Last edited by alexh; 05 August 2008 at 22:19.
alexh is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 22:17   #148
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitchhikr View Post
Yup, a Hot-Swap technique... slightly more difficult than the game save mod but if you definitely want to upgrade the hard drive and you do not own a memory card or one of the exploit games it might be worth a go.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hitchhikr View Post
Does anyone know if this would be working on a xbox crystal ?
Crystals are all v1.6 boxes. They do not work with earlier softmods (because they need a special BIOS because they have a new video encoder) but they work well with Ndure. BTW: Ndure has moved on to v3.1
alexh is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 22:27   #149
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,401
I softmodded my crystal box with the latest savegames for Splinter cell, works great
Dizzy is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 22:40   #150
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Crystals are all v1.6 boxes. They do not work with earlier softmods (because they need a special BIOS because they have a new video encoder) but they work well with Ndure. BTW: Ndure has moved on to v3.1
The vast majority of crystals are v1.6 boxes (like mine), but there was a limited run of crystals earlier in the xbox's life as well, pre-v1.6 (like the limited run of greens).They were proper rare.
Apparently the peeps who bought the mega limited edition early crystals were pretty annoyed when MS decided to churn out masses of them later, making their purchase not particularly limited or special!
rare_j is offline  
Old 05 August 2008, 23:57   #151
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
I've got a Crystal, Green Crystal, Blue Crystal and Black Crystal, all official M$ cases.

Regular Crystal looks the best.

WTF do I have 4 x-boxes? There is one for every TV in the house, all networked of course.

Edit: Aparently Orange Crystal is the only one I dont have (but looking at the available photo's they might be unofficial).

Last edited by alexh; 06 August 2008 at 00:15.
alexh is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 14:36   #152
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I've got a Crystal, Green Crystal, Blue Crystal and Black Crystal, all official M$ cases.

Regular Crystal looks the best.

WTF do I have 4 x-boxes? There is one for every TV in the house, all networked of course.

Edit: Aparently Orange Crystal is the only one I dont have (but looking at the available photo's they might be unofficial).
It seems that I will have another xbox to softmode. My cousin likes xbmc.

I think that I saw yellow ones as well, but it might be just yellow N64.
Anubis is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 15:05   #153
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
I think that I saw yellow ones as well, but it might be just yellow N64.
Never seen an official yellow one.

I've got a Jungle Green N64 and a Skeleton Smoke Saturn and Pioneer Gamecube.

XBMC is cool when networked to a PC which runs Bittorrent

Shame that it is the quiet part of the year TV program wise. I'm looking forward to all the new series.
alexh is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 16:22   #154
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
xbox is the ultimate free lunch really.
It's a well built legacy-free pc, easily modifiable to be both the best and cheapest media centre/emulator machine.
Best of all M$ sold it at a loss!
rare_j is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 16:36   #155
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
I just wish I'd invested in a Friendtech DreamX-1480 (A 3rd party Xbox mod for 2x RAM and 2x CPU clock speed)

I guess I'll have to go to a 360 soon.
alexh is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 21:42   #156
hitchhikr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 359
As long as i can mod a crystal one with hotswap and be able run my code on it that's fine . I'm particularly interested about possibility to access the gfx card and sound hardware directly.
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 21:47   #157
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Why would you do hotswap??

It is much easier with memory unit.
Anubis is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 22:42   #158
hitchhikr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 359
It just don't feel like hunting down a memory card or a usb adapter and one of the hackable game.
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 22:54   #159
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
As long as you know that hot-swapping can screw your hd (and system) I guess it is OK.

Good luck!
Anubis is offline  
Old 06 August 2008, 23:39   #160
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitchhikr View Post
As long as i can run my code on it
You'll need the XDK to compile anything. 5933 was the last, but 5849 is the most popular. There is a reasonable port of SDL if you prefer that over DirectX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hitchhikr View Post
I'm particularly interested about possibility to access the gfx card and sound hardware directly.
There are no tech-docs about the hardware at the register level. You either use the pre-compiled libraries or.... you use the pre-compiled libraries.

Last edited by alexh; 06 August 2008 at 23:51.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softmodding PS2? DeafDaz Retrogaming General Discussion 21 10 November 2011 22:04
The 1.5TB-Box adolescent Retrogaming General Discussion 60 08 November 2011 13:19
pc in a1200 box ? turrican3 support.Hardware 27 29 January 2009 13:40
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 17:51
Cody's 'Good Box, Bad Box' CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 15 02 May 2004 11:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40292 seconds with 12 queries