English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2008, 08:03   #81
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I always create original configuration and then re-softmod. Why? Mainly because I could never be bothered to learn how to use the PC tool Ndure 3.1 OR the tweak which reveals your REAL C: for FTP instead of the virtual one.
It's simple enough but not explained very well, when preparing your exploit files with the NDURE installer just leave the option "Add Ndure Toolset" selected, that's all you have to do. To disable shadowc just run E:\NDTS\default.xbe which uses the Phoenix BIOS Loader to knock out the patched BIOS, when the dash reloads you will have access to the real C partition.
OddbOd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 August 2008, 08:12   #82
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
To disable shadowc just run E:\NDTS\default.xbe which uses the Phoenix BIOS Loader to knock out the patched BIOS, when the dash reloads you will have access to the real C partition.
Cool, learn something new every day. If you did that before you backup your C: and E: for XboxHDM then it would be automatically softmodded when you prep your new bigger drive!
alexh is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:08   #83
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
@ Zetro

I've found the one reason to get a hard mod.

When you power on the X-box there is this annoying loud animation. It is not possible to get rid of this "flubber animation" on a softmod alone because it is inside the BIOS chip. If you have a 1.0-1.5 X-box you can just solder two (sometimes 3) points on the motherboard and flash the BIOS with one without the annoying animation

BUT

If you have a 1.6/1.6b box there is nothing to flash because it has a ROM

Last edited by alexh; 03 August 2008 at 18:27.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:14   #84
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
@ Zetro
I've found the one reason to get a hard mod. It is not possible to get rid of the flubber animation on a softmod (at least not that I've heard of).

Edit: Ok so you can fix it with a SoftMod if you then perform a few solders to enable writing to the TSOP (onboard) flash!
Luscious linkie please !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh and you need to do a softmod write up too Alexh... it would be a great all rounder on old skool m8... it really REALLY would!


I can beg if it helps m8
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:30   #85
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
http://www.xbox-linux.org/wiki/TSOP_flashing_HOWTO

I'm not writing a Game-Save softmod guide... there are 10's of them out there... and you don't need a guide in the first place it is that simple.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 19:27   #86
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
I gave in and wrote one... but I lost heart half way through so rushed it and just regurgitated what I had already said in this thread and so it's kinda rubbish. (Accurate, but assumes experienced user)

Last edited by alexh; 03 August 2008 at 19:36.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 20:42   #87
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
New update:

I created xboxhd CD without any problems (took me ~10 minutes)

Setup new HD on my server and installed HD from scratch (~25 minute) (there is no problems with locking if you follow instructions )

Opened XBox and replaced HD (~10 minutes - first time I opened XBox)

Reinstalled softmod (~5 min)

Did changes as alexh suggested to dashboard (~2 min)

And then rebooted xbox and viola!!!! xbmc boots without any problem!

Tried 3 emus (genesis, pc-engine and SMS) and everything works great!

Now I have to install F drive (and G drive?), but I just figure out that I don't have XBPartitioner 1.1 (I have version 1.0)

Can anyone help me with this one?

Thank you a lot alexh and everyone else for helpful hints!

Last edited by Anubis; 03 August 2008 at 20:48.
Anubis is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 20:50   #88
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Nice to know I was of some help. But you're a very acomplished user and I was more inspiration rather than direct help.

XBoxpartitioner v1.1 is in the zone.

Surprised you didnt try WinUAE-X first :)

Surreal is a good emulator too (N64) as is ZSneX, MAMEoX, KAWA-X and if you are a Zelda fan like me... you'll want to play Link's Awakening, Oracle of Seasons, Oracle of the Ages and the Minish Cap on XboyAdvance.

WRT your F: and G: partitions, the standard Krayzie installer will use a 67 BIOS meaning it has both partitions 6 (F:) and 7(G:). You'll get a G: drive which is bigger than 0 bytes if your hard drive is bigger than 140Gbytes. (8 Gig on C: E: etc and upto 137Gig on F:)

Last edited by alexh; 03 August 2008 at 21:07.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 20:55   #89
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
On a 1.6/1.6b your best bet is an xecuter chip, their bios lets you get rid of the start-up nonsense/noise which does get REALLY annoying after a while.
Mine now boots straight into XBMC with the minimum of fuss.

NICE tip on the quiet fan - ordered!!
rare_j is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 21:07   #90
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
alexh, without your help I don't think that I would even try to soft mod it.
Thank you!


I just downloaded partitioner and this is next thing I will have to do. As for emulating Amiga, I knew if I try it, that would mean that I would not replace HD and do all other stuff.

What is good site to get latest versions of emulators?

Did I say Thank you yet??
Anubis is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 21:08   #91
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
@Rare_J

I disagree... a softmod is still your best solution for a 1.6/1.6b unless you HAVE to get rid of the flubber animation.
Softmods are probably even more attractive for 1.6/1.6b as hard mods are more difficult as you have to rebuild the LPC.

@Anubis

Xbins of course... but they are down atm... Hmmm for the time being use Autoinstaller Deluxe 4.30 which was released last month. (one or two emulators out of date)

Last edited by alexh; 03 August 2008 at 21:31.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 21:55   #92
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
What is good site to get latest versions of emulators?
Have a look here.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 23:03   #93
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Where is a good place to find hardmods these days for the NTSC XBOX consoles?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 04 August 2008, 00:04   #94
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Divineo?
alexh is offline  
Old 04 August 2008, 00:13   #95
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
What is good site to get latest versions of emulators?
Here are the final versions of all xport's emulators (the best ones, basically)

http://gx-mod.com/xbox/modules/news/...p?storyid=5034
rare_j is offline  
Old 04 August 2008, 00:56   #96
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
Where is a good place to find hardmods these days for the NTSC XBOX consoles?
http://www.modchip-store.co.uk/home.php

there not the cheapest, so you could get them cheaper by shopping about,

By far the best is the Executor 2.6 or 3x series of chips, but anything that has a 512K Bios is great as that will house the latest Executor 5x series of BIOS for you XBox

Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 August 2008, 13:58   #97
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
Where is a good place to find hardmods these days for the NTSC XBOX consoles?
After my n00b experience with soft modding, I would never try hard modding xbox. For the first one took me ~5 minutes and to place bigger HD and install from scratch took me less then an hour.

I formatted F drive, and copied some music and pictures, added sources in XBMC and it worked fine. Only problems I had is that some music files didn't copy with FTP. (I will check tonight all of those files)

One thing that I was wondering is if I can make picture to open directly directory that I selected for pictures. ATM it will open all sources I selected, but is there a way to go directly into source. (same for music and videos)

Then I installed newer versions for emulators and tried some of the games. I have to say that I am very surprised at how good they are. (Sorry DC, but XBox is a way to go )

One thing that I noticed with some games (Donkey Kong Country for example) is that game auto-rewind if I lose life. (my daughter was 'helping' me, so that was quite often ) Is there an option to turn this feature off? (I couldn't find it last night, after brief look)

I also tried WinUAEX and it really works great. I tried Syndicate and I was surprised that my mouse worked with USB hack. So now I need cordeless mouse and keyboard.

Thank you guys for links for emulators. (great work there Retroplay) I will download and try most of them.

I still have to try to copy games to HD.

Ahh, one more thing. Is there good browser and email reader for XBMC? (gmail more importantly )

Thank you all for help. Hope this topic will help others who are interested to make their xbox alive and more useful.
Anubis is offline  
Old 04 August 2008, 14:07   #98
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Only problems I had is that some music files didn't copy with FTP. (I will check tonight all of those files)
50 says they have filenames with characters / length which are fine with NTFS but are not supported under FATX (Xbox hard drive file system).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
One thing that I was wondering is if I can make picture to open directly directory that I selected for pictures. ATM it will open all sources I selected, but is there a way to go directly into source. (same for music and videos)
?? Rephrase

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Ahh, one more thing. Is there good browser and email reader for XBMC? (gmail more importantly )
There is only one AFAIK and it isn't great. Linksboks (Not to be confused with Lynxbox the Atari Lynx emulator). It is an application which you launch under XBMC.

You do have the option of installing linux as an application launched from XBMC and using Firefox or KHTML... but I've never done that.

Last edited by alexh; 04 August 2008 at 14:14.
alexh is offline  
Old 04 August 2008, 14:13   #99
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Alexh

I was playing around with Knoppics and DSL (Damn Small Linux) on the box the other day... it was quite cute surfing ebay with the XBox
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 August 2008, 14:16   #100
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Pointers?? Guides?? Which browser?
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softmodding PS2? DeafDaz Retrogaming General Discussion 21 10 November 2011 22:04
The 1.5TB-Box adolescent Retrogaming General Discussion 60 08 November 2011 13:19
pc in a1200 box ? turrican3 support.Hardware 27 29 January 2009 13:40
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 17:51
Cody's 'Good Box, Bad Box' CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 15 02 May 2004 11:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22591 seconds with 12 queries