English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 November 2011, 21:31   #741
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Ignore this - I used DVD2BOX and it works well!

Really must try things before posting!!



Has anyone installed the BIG ASS Emulator 4 disk set completely onto an XBOX Hard Drive?

I finally got a bigger hard drive installed in one of my XBOX's and wondered if it was best to try to attempt to dump the whole DVD's via something like DVD2XBOX or whether it was best to try and copy it all via a menu system in Unleash X...??

Last edited by Peter; 07 November 2011 at 22:03.
Peter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 November 2014, 23:22   #742
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
I want to upgrade the HDD in my xbox from 60GB to 160GB. The xbox has an xecuter 2 chip and the 5035 bios. Someone else fitted the hard mod and the drive. So by reading this thread i've worked out that all i have to do is put the new hdd in and use an AID disc to format and prepare it.
But how do I get all the stuff (nearly 60GB) from the old hdd onto the new?
rare_j is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 15:16   #743
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
FTP it off to your PC and then FTP back when you've installed the bigger drive?

Put the old drive in a PC and then use a FatX program to read the data off. FTP it to the new drive?
alexh is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 17:27   #744
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 387
Why did I read about Xbox modding!
I now have 3 of them, 2 are v1.2 and one is a 1.6
I have soldered the TOSP on the 1.2's and flashed custom bios x2 4981?

I have been playing about with CoinOps v6 and it is great.

The old Xbox is quite a capable machine.
Higgy is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 19:13   #745
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
FTP it off to your PC and then FTP back when you've installed the bigger drive?

Put the old drive in a PC and then use a FatX program to read the data off. FTP it to the new drive?
Is there a fatx program that can do direct from one drive to the other if both are connected to the pc? Any recommendations as to which one to go for orherwise? Thanks
rare_j is offline  
Old 10 November 2014, 09:38   #746
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
Is there a fatx program that can do direct from one drive to the other if both are connected to the pc?
Not on Windows that I remember. They were all read only. You probably stand a chance of doing it under Linux. Ask over at the xbmc4xbox forum?

FYI I believe the developer of XBMC4XBOX has turned his hand to WinUAEX
alexh is offline  
Old 10 November 2014, 10:50   #747
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
I think "Xplorer360 Beta 6" can read/write fatx. I've not actually tried it.

Still easier to FTP though imho - and probably more reliable.

AFAIK the XBMC4Xbox developer intends to have a fiddle with WinUAEX but as of yet hasn't done too much
BuZz is offline  
Old 10 November 2014, 16:39   #748
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 387
Is your Xbox running the Unleashx dashboard?
Plug an ethernet cable into the back and connect it to your router.
After a few seconds you should see your Xbox's IP address.

On your PC download Filezilla (ftp software) and connect to the xbox. Type in IP address, password and user name should be xbox. Type 21 in port.
I had to reduce number of simultaneous connections as I was getting errors (I reduced it to 2).

Then just find a spare 60gb on your PC's HD and copy off the Xbox's E: drive to your PC.

I swapped from standard 8gb to 80gb then copied over Coinops 6 full. It took at least an hour.
Higgy is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 01:44   #749
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Higgy View Post
Is your Xbox running the Unleashx dashboard?
Plug an ethernet cable into the back and connect it to your router.
After a few seconds you should see your Xbox's IP address.

On your PC download Filezilla (ftp software) and connect to the xbox. Type in IP address, password and user name should be xbox. Type 21 in port.
I had to reduce number of simultaneous connections as I was getting errors (I reduced it to 2).

Then just find a spare 60gb on your PC's HD and copy off the Xbox's E: drive to your PC.

I swapped from standard 8gb to 80gb then copied over Coinops 6 full. It took at least an hour.
Ok but what about the C: drive? (the retail drive has multiple partitions: C, E, etc.)
I mean: you have to make more than 1 partition in the new drive (how?) ...
Supamax is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 02:00   #750
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
Thanks for the replies, I checked out xplorer360 on the xbmc4xbox forums and it is not recommended due to reliability issues on write. Back to ftp it is then, I was just trying to avoid that because it is so slow. (I also find reliability is best on xbox ftp with connections limited, I just go with 1).

Not sure how winuaex can be improved... It already does great at what it's meant for i.e. a500 gaming. Maybe ppc support?
rare_j is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 02:17   #751
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Ok but what about the C: drive? (the retail drive has multiple partitions: C, E, etc.)
I mean: you have to make more than 1 partition in the new drive (how?) ...
Sorry, I didn't notice/remember the length of this thread .
I made a stupid question... I'll read the whole thread, I'm certain the answer to my question is here.

P.S. I have a softmodded XBOX (I used the Splinter Cell method, many years ago) and I would like to backup my original HDD key (since the HDD could break someday) and be able in the future to swap it with a bigger model.
Supamax is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softmodding PS2? DeafDaz Retrogaming General Discussion 21 10 November 2011 22:04
The 1.5TB-Box adolescent Retrogaming General Discussion 60 08 November 2011 13:19
pc in a1200 box ? turrican3 support.Hardware 27 29 January 2009 13:40
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 17:51
Cody's 'Good Box, Bad Box' CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 15 02 May 2004 11:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16957 seconds with 12 queries