English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 March 2010, 02:16   #581
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 27
Posts: 1,252
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
You can also dump the EPROM's content connecting some pins of the COM port to two of the EPROM pins + ground. (this can be done with two of the through-hole pins where modchips are getting installed-- easier)
You will need to feed the chip 3.3v-5v, not 12v, so you need a 5v zener or something.. And some resistors.

There's guides for this on the net.
8bitbubsy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 March 2010, 09:23   #582
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
You cannot just stick a new hard drive in because it must be locked using the unique key stored in the EPROM on the motherboard.

8bitbusby is right there are other ways to get the data from the EPROM than softmod. But in reality you wouldn't fart around doing any of this would you? You'd just buy yourself another xbox with a working hard drive and softmod it!

Last edited by alexh; 07 March 2010 at 09:56.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 March 2010, 09:33   #583
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 27
Posts: 1,252
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
You can't reprogram the main BIOS on 1.6 XBOXes tho'.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 24 March 2010, 23:37   #584
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I thought I would read up on this topic a bit more - I read Alex's guide on Oldskool UK and this lead me to find another good guide to softmodding - please forgive me if it has been posted before...

Read this... http://www.se7ensins.com/forums/topi...installer-111/

I also read about Microsoft deciding to take the original Xbox and Original Xbox games off-line very soon...

From the MS Press Release:

On April 15 we will discontinue the Xbox LIVE service for original Xbox consoles and games, including Xbox v1 games playable on Xbox 360 and Xbox Originals. I want to start by saying this isn't a decision we made lightly, but after careful consideration, it is clear this will provide the greatest benefit to the Xbox LIVE community.


Looks like I will be softmodding both my original Xbox machines now...
Peter is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 00:23   #585
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
I think there are loads of online games of Halo 2 taking place over the next two weeks.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 10:57   #586
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 772
Just to get my bit in as before christmas i used a method that ive not found documented.

In the past seeing as i didnt have an action replay id used the hotswap method:

http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=496263

However this only works with a ide dvd/cd drive and mine bit the dust.

So basically before christmas to do some more xbox's, i fired up windows and the xbox hotswapped it used 360exploerer to gain access to the drive and copied the splintercell exploit directly to the hardrive. Fired up the xbox and ran the eploit as normal.
deicidal is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 11:31   #587
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by deicidal View Post
In the past seeing as i didnt have an action replay id used the hotswap method [...]
I heard about this method...
isn't it risky (hotswapping the hard disk)?
Supamax is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 11:40   #588
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 772
Well ive not blown anything up yet and ive done it loads of times but yes there is a risk.

Info here on hotswapping the xbox:

http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=332179
deicidal is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 11:51   #589
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by deicidal View Post
Well ive not blown anything up yet and ive done it loads of times but yes there is a risk.

Info here on hotswapping the xbox:

http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=332179
Same here, no probs with hotswapping.
seuden is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 12:16   #590
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
We discussed hot-swap a few times in this thread.

If your hard drive or xbox accidentally gets powered off while the drive is unlocked you're stuffed.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 12:22   #591
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
We discussed hot-swap a few times in this thread.

If your hard drive or xbox accidentally gets powered off while the drive is unlocked you're stuffed.
I was just trying to say about the 3rdish method of using the hotswap to get the savegame files onto the xbox if you dont have an action replay or a ide cd/dvd drive, which is very quick as apposed to doing the full kingroach/ndure method. Dont know if this method has been mentioned here but when i originally thought about doing it I couldnt find any information on doing it that way when i looked.
deicidal is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 12:49   #592
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If your hard drive or xbox accidentally gets powered off while the drive is unlocked you're stuffed.
If the Xbox gets powered off, ok, I can understand the problem .
But if the hdd gets powered off... where is the problem? If it's unlocked it will stay unlocked until it gets connected again to the Xbox and the Xbox is restarted... no?
Or do you mean that an unlocked hdd will become locked again if powered down and then powered up (all when disconnected from the Xbox)?
Supamax is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 12:53   #593
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Not sure. I've always thought of it as both of them.

As you explain it, logically, I don't think it should matter if the drive looses power. However I wouldn't try it if I were you

IMO, the easiest, cheapest, lowest risk method is to send an xbox memory card (very cheap on ebay) to someone with a hacked box / action replay for them to put the save games on for you.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 13:00   #594
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 772
See i'd say it was worth the risk of frying an xbox considering there not much more than the memory card these days, last time I bought an xbox it was 18.
deicidal is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 14:38   #595
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Maybe, but you still need the appropriate game unless you're going to do the full hot-swap ndure. If you don't have one then you may as well buy both off ebay with the game save already on the memory card.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=260574791804
alexh is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 14:50   #596
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 772
Very true (and not a bad price either), but I thought if the person happend to be in the situation like i was last year no ide cd/dvd drive, no action replay but did have a trusty copy of splinter cell like me it may of some use to someone.
deicidal is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 17:16   #597
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 50
Posts: 376
I love modchips, have one of the first LPC based chips called Apple-2X installed in my Xbox v1.1. Anyone who happily modifies their Amiga hardware should understand the beauty of that.

For those looking now to get a modchip I can recommend DUOX2, it is cheap, still produced by the original manufacturer, supports all Xbox versions, and has decent functionality.
modrobert is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 18:17   #598
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
How well do NeoGeo Emulators run on the Xbox?
Which Emulator is the best one to use?

Does anyone know what software this guy has running on his Xbox in this clip - [ Show youtube player ]
Peter is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 18:28   #599
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 44
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
How well do NeoGeo Emulators run on the Xbox?
Which Emulator is the best one to use?

Does anyone know what software this guy has running on his Xbox in this clip - [ Show youtube player ]
Neo Geo is a beautiful thing on Xbox- even the larger games despite needing more virtual loading

Kawax runs the majority of games and is excellent but i would personally go with Final Burn Alpha.There are several versions of this emulator including fairly recent ones too.Probably best just get a torrent rather than messing with getting the correct roms.Head over to EurAsia
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 18:46   #600
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Thanks Adropac2 - Eurasia look like a great site - emulation on the Xbox is quite new to me so I would be very interested and grateful if people could post here to let me know the versions of Final Burn and also Mame for Xbox that they use...

Alex - if you get a moment, could you let me know the versions you use please?
Peter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softmodding PS2? DeafDaz Retrogaming General Discussion 21 10 November 2011 22:04
The 1.5TB-Box adolescent Retrogaming General Discussion 60 08 November 2011 13:19
pc in a1200 box ? turrican3 support.Hardware 27 29 January 2009 13:40
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 17:51
Cody's 'Good Box, Bad Box' CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 15 02 May 2004 11:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22075 seconds with 12 queries