English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2008, 15:56   #381
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,401
so you better go visit anubis for tea and biscuits
Dizzy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 September 2008, 17:10   #382
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286


Jealousy I sense...
Anubis is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 15:50   #383
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,867
I dunno if anyone cares but you can now softmod the Wii

An original copy of Zelda Twilight Princess, an SDcard and a special save game required. Quake with the Wiimote is very cool. Also SCUMM-VM works great.

You can also run the ISO loader but that is naughty
alexh is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 16:09   #384
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
interesting, very interesting...

might have to take a look.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 16:14   #385
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,983
Definitely

Thanks for the heads-up alex.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 16:22   #386
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
Cool, I've been keeping a tab on this news story for the last couple of days.
seuden is offline  
Old 23 September 2008, 21:00   #387
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yay happy days are here again got me 2 xbox`s soft moded

only downer is 1 has a dead dvd drive well it don`t read discs at anyrate
so is there an easy way to replace it ?

backin up the bios via FTP is the next thing to do and then get some apps and emulaters on but I`m happy now.

only problem i had is i did`t realise when you had to plug the HD in the PC why they
could`t have put it on the screen i don`t know but i sused it out in the end.

next question where to get some apps from ?

also I used this guide
http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=496263

thankfuly you don`t have to read all 110 pages !!
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 September 2008, 21:27   #388
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,867
How did you softmod with a dead drive? Swap over the other?

There is no way to replace except another xbox. Perhaps spares or repairs. To be honest you do not need the DVD drive. Just the network connection. I've not used mine in many many years.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 September 2008, 22:20   #389
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep lucky i had 2 boxes, so used working dvd drive, well say workin drive, bay sometimes don`t want to open but it get`s perswaded with a screwdriver its a samsung dvd the 1 that dont read discs is a Philips model, well try a lense cleaner on it when i get 1 until then like you say you do not need the DVD drive, to be quite honest i hate putting any cd or dvd in a drive its like to much effort man.
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 September 2008, 22:52   #390
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
I used mine to copy games to HD, and now it's quiet. (had some problems with it before)
Anubis is offline  
Old 24 September 2008, 01:25   #391
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
what i want to ask is it possible to replace the dvd drive with another HD ?
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 September 2008, 01:29   #392
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
what i want to ask is it possible to replace the dvd drive with another HD ?
Nope. Just get a bigger HD!
alexh is offline  
Old 24 September 2008, 02:00   #393
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
Well that's not strictly true

@cosmicfrog: The only reason to replace the dvd drive with a hard disk is if you are running Linux on your xbox, there is no other purpose for such a mod.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 24 September 2008, 13:43   #394
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
now thats sounds intresting oddbod have you any other info and a link or 2 would be nice
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 September 2008, 14:40   #395
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,867
Erm.. just google "xbox linux" the end.
alexh is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 15:55   #396
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
Not quite NEW news, but as alexh has already mentioned an iso loader for the Wii there's now a newer one, just google "Backup Launcher by Wiigator" for further info.
seuden is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 16:05   #397
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by seuden View Post
"Backup Launcher by Wiigator"
Good luck compiling it
alexh is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 16:45   #398
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
There is an already compiled version out.
seuden is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 17:06   #399
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,867
I bet you it's a pain to use... the other one was.
alexh is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 19:10   #400
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
I'm going to try it out tonight, it's meant to have a menu and be easier to use so, fingers crossed.
seuden is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softmodding PS2? DeafDaz Retrogaming General Discussion 21 10 November 2011 22:04
The 1.5TB-Box adolescent Retrogaming General Discussion 60 08 November 2011 13:19
pc in a1200 box ? turrican3 support.Hardware 27 29 January 2009 13:40
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 17:51
Cody's 'Good Box, Bad Box' CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 15 02 May 2004 11:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22224 seconds with 12 queries