English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 July 2008, 11:00   #1
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Big grin If the Amiga never exisited...

What computer(s) do you reckon you'd have gone with?

I'm sorry to say I'd have gone with an Atari STfm although if Commodore never existed Tramiel would never had defected to Atari and started making the ST... or would they? hmmm

Praise the Amiga
Paul_s is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 July 2008, 11:26   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Hmmm... Judging by the popularity of other systems here, I'd prolly got a C64, some Atari (Falcon? ) or a Pegazus (NES clone).
And then the usual path: PSX -> PC
Shoonay is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 12:05   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I think I would have gone the console path alone (I have, but Amiga was always first choice). So there is no substitute for the Amiga It would have been C64 -> SNES & MD -> PC -> PSX & N64 -> new PC -> XBOX -> newer PC
TCD is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 12:16   #4
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,025
Difficult to answer, but as I was into computers and not consoles, I guess I would've gone from the C64 to an IBM PC or an Atari, the latter most likely. The mere thought is horrendous :O
Leffmann is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 12:17   #5
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I'm with Paul_s that I'd have been an ST follower instead. Probably would have added an upgraded Falcon to the mix later too.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 12:22   #6
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
I was already a C64 follower before the Amiga, but i would have gone down the Atari ST path too, because i came within days of buying an ST but within those days a friend of mine bought an Amiga 500 and i gave the idea of an ST the flick!

So yep, it would have been the Atari 1040 STFM then STE and the Atari Falcon after that.
blade002 is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 12:29   #7
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
If the Amiga wouldn't have come out, I'd probably be stuck with C64 until the PC was cheap enough. I might have gone for a console too, a SNES or Megadrive. I'd probably pick the Megadrive, 'cause I was really impressed by Sonic back in the days - I might've ended up as a Sega fanboy. Thank god I got an Amiga.
StarEye is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 12:36   #8
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Hmmm,
No C= & no Trammel probably means no 16bit Atari either...
(C= wouldn't have been round for long without the Amiga & Atari's 16bit platform was down to JT)
...I guess even greater dominance for the PC Maybe Macs would have a larger market share too...

...Maybe some of the 'local' platforms would have been more viable for longer..?

Regardless, it would have made little difference to me being being late to AmigaOS - my 'first Amiga' was a copy of Amithlon.
I'd been using Acorns of one sort or another & still do. ..?

I suspect in the UK the Archie would have been more main-stream without C= (or Atari) for competition & would now be more than a niche platform.

Last edited by Charlie; 29 July 2008 at 12:43.
Charlie is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 12:53   #9
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
humm so what would the choices be if there was no atari or commadore ??
Acorn
Sinclar
or some Jap computer (MSX)
would i still have kept my ageing C64
this is a real hard question to answer probably would not have got a sinclar QL and gone down the Acorn route
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 13:10   #10
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
I'd put the question differently:

"Did the Amiga ever exist ???"
amiga is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 13:13   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
I'd put the question differently:

"Did the Amiga ever exist ???"
Ohoh, a philosophic point of view. This thought might end with the conclusion that we all are non-existant. You know that happens all the time when talking about it
TCD is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 13:17   #12
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
but look on the bright side, doomy would not exist too
Shoonay is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 13:21   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
but look on the bright side, doomy would not exist too
On his site there was a piccie of him sitting in front of a C64, so he would have annoyed us in a C64 forum then

I agree with Charlie that if the Amiga would have never existed the Acorn Archimedes would had a bigger market share and I might have bought it (given the price was adjusted to the fact of the bigger market). It's just good that this is just a theoretical question
TCD is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 13:24   #14
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Oooo, here's a thought:

Apart from my speculation that here in Europe at least Acorn may have had a more dominant role...
...I wonder if the Japs may have been tempted to market their 16bit systems in Europe & the US...
X68000 with English-language OS anybody..?

Last edited by Charlie; 29 July 2008 at 13:31.
Charlie is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 13:55   #15
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
No Amiga would have meant my Dad having his way and buying an Amstrad PC1512 !!!
DDNI is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 15:26   #16
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
On his site there was a piccie of him sitting in front of a C64, so he would have annoyed us in a C64 forum then

C64 with monitor or TV?

I would have longer C64 and I would be just a bit more into Sega consoles and then eventually PC & PSX.
Anubis is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 15:40   #17
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
C64 with monitor or TV?
Of course with a monitor

What troubles me a bit is why Paul asked that question. Is he going to steal the De Lorean from Doc Brown and purge it from existence?
TCD is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 15:50   #18
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Of course with a monitor

What troubles me a bit is why Paul asked that question. Is he going to steal the De Lorean from Doc Brown and purge it from existence?
I'm going to give Jay Miner the secrets of the AGA chipset and the Phoenix A1000. With that he could develop an Amiga so advanced for 1985 that it would blow everything away. By 1990 we'd have what we have today! Amiga would live on! I'd also kidnap Medhi Ali and drop him out of a plane over Serbia without a parachute

Then I would secretly have Tiffany Teen tied to a railway line by Dizzy, rescue her so she would think I'm her hero then vanish into 1985 to see Jay unveiling the Amiga 1000 AGA machine and marry Tiff.

The End
Paul_s is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 16:38   #19
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 489
Atari STfm, but as you say that is some kind of paradox.
Avanze is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 17:51   #20
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
C64 -> Pc
Ironclaw is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24262 seconds with 10 queries