English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Wich WC games from WC series did you played?
Wing Commander I 21 75.00%
Wing Commander I ( The secret missions -1990 exp. 6 21.43%
Wing Commander I: "Crusade" ( The secret missions - 1991 exp.) 2 7.14%
Super Wing Commander 1994 3 10.71%
Wing Commander II "Vengeance of Kilrathi" (1991) 8 28.57%
Wing Commander II ( Secret Operations 1 - 1991) 2 7.14%
Wing Commander II ( Secret Operations 1 - 1992) 2 7.14%
Wing Commander III: "Heart of the Tiger" (1994) 9 32.14%
Wing Commander IV: "The Price of Freedom" (1996) 9 32.14%
Wing Commander: "Prophecy" (1997) 8 28.57%
Wing Commander Prophecy: Secret Ops (1998 exp.) 4 14.29%
Wing Commander Academy (1993) 4 14.29%
Wing Commander: Privateer (1993) 8 28.57%
Wing Commander Armada (1994) 4 14.29%
WCA - Proving Grounds (1994 exp.) 2 7.14%
Wing Commander Academy (1993) 5 17.86%
Wing Commander: Privateer (1993) 5 17.86%
WC Privateer: Righteous Fire (1994 exp.) 4 14.29%
Privateer 2: The Darkening (1996) 6 21.43%
I dont like Wing Commander! 8 28.57%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 28. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 July 2008, 13:56   #41
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
Thankya

Back on-topic...

Never played a WC game and I've never really thought about it - what's the Amiga version like, any good?
The CD32 version with the special patch is very good IMO. There are reviews on the AGDB. _

Some of the later mission get pretty tough, but I did eventually complete it. I didn't personally think the 500 and 1200 versions looked nice enough to bother with, but the CD32 version (which works great on a 1200) looks gorgeous in comparison.

And as far as CD based serious space games go, Star Crusade is a favourite of mine, rather basic polygon ships, but great dogfighting and some nice depth, I remember a nice stealth mission early on in the game which I found very atmospheric..... and there was some sort of combat tactic using the tractor beam that was supposed to exist but I never discovered it.
Angus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 July 2008, 14:21   #42
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
Could someone please Zone the CD32 version with the paches already applied and the secret operations 1 and 2 disks, please?
(please please with a cherry on top)
I would like to play the Cd32 version as soon as i recover from a hand injury!

Last edited by Yoto; 29 July 2008 at 15:49.
Yoto is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 16:04   #43
girv
Reticulator of Splines
girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 920
Send a message via ICQ to girv Send a message via AIM to girv Send a message via MSN to girv Send a message via Yahoo to girv
Played WC1 on my A1200 and it roxored. It introduced me to the space combat genre which I still love today. Funnily enough, I played some of the later main series WC games but didn't like them much. I must get on with completing Freespace 2 soon
girv is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 19:06   #44
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
I also have other space sims like Tachyon, Starlancer (also from Chris Roberts ), Freelancer (aka privateer 3 ) and X-Wing alliance!
Yoto is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 19:38   #45
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
loved the first Wing Commander and played a few of the early expansion packs...my type of game
I got it working on my 1200 (you can get all files from aminet) with the patch but the 'save game' option doesnt work..anyone know of a version that can save games
klx300r is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 19:49   #46
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
Not yet. The HOL didn't indicate that it was HD installable so I assumed (wrongly, it would seem) that it wasn't. I have it on good advice that the CD32 version can be installed to the HD and run with a patch. I've also read that getting it to work is difficult and that it will probably run too fast.

I may have to do some kind of tribal dance to make this work. If it starts raining, blame me.

P.S. I will vote in this poll one way or another!
Golan, you can get the CD32 version and patch for the A1200 from aminet...just make sure to put the patch in the same directory as the game and you just run it from the shell (at least on my system thats how i got it running)...its a bit fast with my 030@50 but theres a command at startup to slow it down..(it eludes me now but you can check out a thread I started at lemonamiga)....also the version on aminet doesnt have a save game option which kinda sucks so hopefully a full version patch comes out soon...still awesome to play on a miggy
klx300r is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 20:11   #47
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
Golan [...]
Way ahead of you, slick.
gklinger is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 21:20   #48
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
From Lemon Amiga Forum:

Resolve Savegame issue in Wing Commander CD32 in Amiga 1200.

As you can see this was taken from a German file and someone tried to babelfish it!


6. Spielstände store
The CD ³ ² stores Spielstände in its own Flashrom. Since with a A1200/A4000 this Flashrom is missing, we must make a few attitudes around this condition to go around.
1) As the first one needs „nonvolatile.library “
2) If this LIBRARY should not be yet on your system, can do you it in the Aminet download. It is contained in the NVTools.
3) On the non removable disk a listing the Spielstände put on to be stored are in which (e.g.: DH0: CD32_savegames).
4) The absolute path in a text file store (e.g.: DH0: CD32_savegames).
5) Afterwards text files under the name „nv_location “store and after „DH0: copy prefs/env_archive/sys “. The second and simpler possibility is:
1) The listing to storing the Spielstände put on (e.g.: DH0: CD32_savegames).
2) after it the following in Shell knock: echo " DH0: CD32_savegames" > envarc: sys/nv location Wars. After a restart can you your Spielstände store now. There should be problems or difficulties despite this Tutorials, then to the forums www.amigaemuboard.net and www.a1k.org turn you

http://ftp.icm.edu.pl/packages/aminet/util/cli/

I also cant get savegame to work.
Yoto is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 21:24   #49
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Sounds very strange indeed
Just one word translation : Spielstände = savestates
Do you have the original german file Yoti?
TCD is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 21:48   #50
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Okay, human translation :

1. You need the library 'nonvolatile.library' in your libs directory (which is included in the NVTools an Aminet).
2. Create the directory for your savegames (e.g. 'DH0:Games/WC32_Savegames').
3. Type the following in the shell : echo "DH0:Games/WC32_Savegames" >envarc:sys/nv-location (where "DH0:...' is of course the directory you created in step two)
4. Restart the Amiga and saving should work.

I think the only thing that could be wrong is that the assign 'envarc' is missing, so you should check it with entering 'assign' at the shell.

Last edited by TCD; 29 July 2008 at 23:22.
TCD is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 01:41   #51
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
Thank you TCD!
Yoto is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 01:47   #52
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yotoxionomai View Post
Thank you TCD!
Ah no problem mate Tell me if it works (haven't tried it myself )
TCD is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 11:38   #53
girv
Reticulator of Splines
girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 920
Send a message via ICQ to girv Send a message via AIM to girv Send a message via MSN to girv Send a message via Yahoo to girv
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yotoxionomai View Post
I also have other space sims like Tachyon, Starlancer (also from Chris Roberts ), Freelancer (aka privateer 3 ) and X-Wing alliance!
Tachyon: roxors! completed!
Starlancer: always bombed out on the first mission for me
Freelancer: not yet, but it's on the playlist
XW:anything : roxors! completed! (all of them)
girv is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 12:56   #54
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@griv

How did you complete Tachyon, theres a bug in one of the later levels and it keeps crashing the game, I even emailed the developers and they said all though could do was suggest the latest update patch at the time... which i believe was the last

but for what i played of it.... its fantastic... Bruce Campbell is Awesome! Freelancers good but it gets VERY predictable and well... SLOW toward the end...
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 13:13   #55
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
Hello Z, i´ve played it too but never saw that bug! I have the original version. (9765-01-301 Stamped in the cd), this is the closest thing i can find to game version number.
Yoto is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 20:32   #56
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Okay, human translation :

1. You need the library 'nonvolatile.library' in your libs directory (which is included in the NVTools an Aminet).
2. Create the directory for your savegames (e.g. 'DH0:Games/WC32_Savegames').
3. Type the following in the shell : echo "DH0:Games/WC32_Savegames" >envarc:sys/nv-location (where "DH0:...' is of course the directory you created in step two)
4. Restart the Amiga and saving should work.

I think the only thing that could be wrong is that the assign 'envarc' is missing, so you should check it with entering 'assign' at the shell.
tried this but no luck..anyone get this to work
klx300r is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 20:40   #57
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
Ok folks i finally managed to install and enable savegame in Wing Commander for the CD32 in my A1200.
Tested in OS 3.9 in A1200 and WinUAE, but it should run under WB 3.x too.

Now, how to install: (for dummies, with me included)

Copy all of the contents of Wingco dir inside your floppy disks into your HD.
If you are too lazy just click below...

http://www..com/?sharekey=9...09d5f14e533d38


The link above already contains the WCpatch, just download and Unlha to your HD.

http://aminet.net/search?query=nvtools (Makes savegame possible)

http://aminet.net/search?query=wcpatch (Dont need to download this if you already downloaded from the link)

Now that you already have wing commander cd32 disks copied inside your HD just just create a directory by the name of "WC32_savegames" inside your...
...Wingco (If you copied from the disks) and then follow to ***
...WC32 (If you copied from the link) and to **

*** Just unlha Wcpatch and copy the wcpatch tool and sources dir into the root of your Wing Commander´s Dir (wingco, just like above)

**Now just download/install the nvtools, just unlha it directly into your LIB´s dir in your system disk and forget about it!

Assuming you already created the WC32_savegames dir and installed the NVtools, just open the shell window, and type the following command from inside wingco or wc32 dir:
Example:
system:games/wc32
Now, type the following exactly as below:
WC32_savegames >envarc:sys/nv_location
Restart your miggy , open the shell window ...again...travel to the root of your wing commander dir and just type the following:
WCpatch

Extra Notes:

Wing Commander Key Map

Action Button Joy Button1
Afterburner Tab
Fire guns Space
Fire missile Enter
Accelerate +
Decelerate -
Full stop Backspace
Look left F2
Look right F3
Look forward F1
Look behind F4
Chase view F5
Battle view F6
Tactical view F7
Missile view F8
Tail view F9
Cycle weapons W
Cycle guns G
Cycle targets T
Lock target L
Damage HUD D
Autopilot A
Comms select C
Nav Map N
Eject Ctrl-E


Enjoy!

Last edited by Yoto; 07 August 2008 at 20:50.
Yoto is offline  
Old 07 August 2008, 21:32   #58
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 3,409
I also played Wing Commander Prophecy on the GBA.
Pretty fast and cool conversion.
viddi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wing commander spyros_s Games images which need to be WHDified 16 05 February 2014 21:39
Fellow Wing Commander fans Raid27 Retrogaming General Discussion 14 21 September 2012 00:20
Wing Commander levels? JuvUK support.Games 59 21 June 2011 06:44
Let's talk about Wing Commander b0lt-thrower Retrogaming General Discussion 2 01 July 2010 06:50
Wing Commander CD32 cebulba request.Old Rare Games 7 13 August 2004 12:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32889 seconds with 12 queries