English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 August 2009, 15:56   #661
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Cool, does that mean that the new 'extreme' mode is also ready for release Mr Ratte?

NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 August 2009, 21:46   #662
illy5603
Registered User
illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 491
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
1.5 seems to be working fine for me (then again, so did the last one...) My monitor is native 1280X1024 so yeah, how about Extreme mode? :-)

***EDIT*** wow, my Dell monitor is actually 1280X768 of all the weird resolutions...

Last edited by illy5603; 02 August 2009 at 03:02.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 02 August 2009, 01:57   #663
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Anyone know what this update brings to the table, I couldn't find anything in the readme?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 05:02   #664
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 150
I would also like to know what are the changes to this version.

BTW, I installed it a while ago and it works fine. Thanks to all involved for the effort.

- Bogdan
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 17 August 2009, 02:12   #665
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 312
optimized and bugfixing
better picturetimings
reset bugfix

thats what jens told us at a1k.org


(and still no xtreme-support)
Ratte is offline  
Old 17 August 2009, 03:45   #666
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Hiya Ratte,

So what's going on with the new Extreme modes then, I guess you've finished the software but need Oliver to do a firmware updated to get them working?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 August 2009, 10:41   #667
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 312
You can try xtreme-modes on WinUAE .. it works.

And yes, you are right .. we all (me too) have to wait for Jens and Oliver.
Ratte is offline  
Old 17 August 2009, 22:55   #668
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 150
Yes, the Xtreme modes work on WinUAE, not so much on my A1200

- Bogdan
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 10 March 2010, 21:09   #669
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 312
Talking for myself ...

Hardware:
I am doing some reseach and testing for a automatic monitorswitch.
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=19511
Jens got a sample and i promised him my free support if he could do something "commercial" as an addon for the Indivision-series.
At the moment I do some research in direction of the WT8048-IC ...

Software:
As you know, before HighGFX the Super72-mode was the highest screensolution with 1:1 pixelratio.
These modes can be used with the ECS-chipset, but hey are limited to 4 colors out of 64.
If you like to use 16colors (MagicWB or WB3.9) you are limited to 640x512.
Compared to the breaktrough of HighGFX on AGA, I am gone release SuperPlus in the future.
Presenting a ECS-screenmode with 800x600 in 16 colors out of 4096.
A IndivisionECS will help you to keep your eyes intact, but it can be displayed on some tolerant displays without Indivison (tested on a Iliyama 5017).
SuperPlus is also interesting for the AGA-chipset, because it used the "HiRes"-mode with 70ns instead "SuperHiRes" with 35ns pixelclock.
The display-DMA is not that heavyloaded like in Super72 and displayoperations are faster.
The Indivision-series (ECS&AGA) will need a firmware-update for this mode, it depends on Oliver and Jens to support that mode.
(Just like Xtreme-support...)

DualScreen-Mode is a littlebit difficult and I do my best to release a stable and usefull driver for it.
I´d like to combine it with the SuperPlus driver to enable a 1600x600 dualscreen in 16 colors with "usefull" speed.
Ratte is offline  
Old 10 March 2010, 21:34   #670
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Cool stuff Ratte, thanks for keeping us all in the loop

I think if I had a fast 800x600 mode I might run that instead of HighGFX at 1024x768. Would it be able to run in more colors on an AGA machine then (for the same speed)? I'm currently running HighGFX in 64 colors with both FBlit and FText (icons in FASTRAM) and it's pretty quick with about 1.5mb chipram available).

Any idea why the IndivisionAGA ran out of stock? Was Jens just caught asleep or was it something else?


Last edited by NovaCoder; 11 March 2010 at 00:34.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 March 2010, 01:01   #671
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
..
Any idea why the IndivisionAGA ran out of stock? Was Jens just caught asleep or was it something else?
well at least there's one for sale on ebay at the moment
http://cgi.ebay.com/Indivision-AGA-s...7#ht_500wt_959
klx300r is offline  
Old 14 March 2010, 05:19   #672
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
well at least there's one for sale on ebay at the moment
http://cgi.ebay.com/Indivision-AGA-s...7#ht_500wt_959
$20 dearer than Amigakit

Damned Egay.
whiteb is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 13:51   #673
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 312
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I think if I had a fast 800x600 mode I might run
beta zone ...
Ratte is offline  
Old 24 March 2010, 00:28   #674
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Thanks for that Ratte

I tried it on my 1200 briefly last night. My monitor only goes down to 50hz so I had to try it through my IndivisionAGA. It did actually work but the Indivision got a bit confused and boosted it up to 57Hz, the screen was also not centered (quite a bit out), I assume this is because the Indivision needs the firmware upgrade to work properly.

Unfortunately I didn't have time to run any benchwork tests but it seemed faster than HighGFX 1024x768.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 March 2010, 08:03   #675
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 312
SuperPlus V40.0 800x600 48Hz/15kHz (results from betatest compared to Super72)
A4000D - Blizzard 4030/882 @ 50 MHz - 2MB Chip / 16MB Fast - OS3.1 - P96Speed1.2


8 Bitplanes = 256 Colors

RectFill x 1.76
RectFillPattern x 1.73
WritePixel x 1.40
WriteChunkyPixels x 1.71
WritePixelArray8 x 1.21
WritePixelLine8 x 1.36
DrawEllipse x 1.73
DrawCircle x 1.75
Draw x 1.92
Draw Hor/Ver x 2.00
ScrollRasterX x 1.50
ScrollRasterY x 1.67
Text x 1.91
BltBitMap x 1.97
BltBitMapRastPort x 1.99
BitMapScaling x 2.14
OpenWindow x 1.50
MoveWindow x 1.83
SizeWindow x 1.55
CON-Output x 1.53

Around 70% faster than Super72 and nearly comparable to a 64Color Super72-Mode.
But AGA is only a "sideeffect" from the 16Color 800x600 ECS-mode :P
Ratte is offline  
Old 25 March 2010, 00:30   #676
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
SuperPlus V40.0 800x600 48Hz/15kHz (results from betatest compared to Super72)
A4000D - Blizzard 4030/882 @ 50 MHz - 2MB Chip / 16MB Fast - OS3.1 - P96Speed1.2


8 Bitplanes = 256 Colors

RectFill x 1.76
RectFillPattern x 1.73
WritePixel x 1.40
WriteChunkyPixels x 1.71
WritePixelArray8 x 1.21
WritePixelLine8 x 1.36
DrawEllipse x 1.73
DrawCircle x 1.75
Draw x 1.92
Draw Hor/Ver x 2.00
ScrollRasterX x 1.50
ScrollRasterY x 1.67
Text x 1.91
BltBitMap x 1.97
BltBitMapRastPort x 1.99
BitMapScaling x 2.14
OpenWindow x 1.50
MoveWindow x 1.83
SizeWindow x 1.55
CON-Output x 1.53

Around 70% faster than Super72 and nearly comparable to a 64Color Super72-Mode.
But AGA is only a "sideeffect" from the 16Color 800x600 ECS-mode :P
Wow

So a fast 256 color WB in 800x600 is on the cards for AGA 030's like mine

Well done that man!

Now give Jens a push and lets get firmware update to support it properly
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 29 March 2010, 10:52   #677
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 312
-zone-update-

SuperPlus 40.1 (800x600) -= PUBLIC-BETA =-
ECS/AGA - Screenmode
70% faster than Super72 in 256 Colors
16 Colors out of 4096 on ECS

Ratte is offline  
Old 29 March 2010, 18:25   #678
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruņa, Bera
Age: 35
Posts: 419
I put some days ago my Indivision AGA, it works perfecty with my old 15" CRT VGA monitor, but on my LCD TV I always get "Out of Range" :S, I managed to see the workbench, but when I was trying to play a game via iGame/whdload, then I had the same error... have you experienced this problem?
Xenon is offline  
Old 29 March 2010, 18:35   #679
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 37
Posts: 681
@Xenon: it probably won't support 50hz, but afaik you should be able to change to 60hz output with the software included with the scandoubler
fryguy is offline  
Old 05 April 2010, 07:11   #680
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
-zone-update-

SuperPlus 40.1 (800x600) -= PUBLIC-BETA =-
ECS/AGA - Screenmode
70% faster than Super72 in 256 Colors
16 Colors out of 4096 on ECS

I just can't get the image to display properly on my Dell 17" LCD panel. The display stays stuck in 640x480 mode.

The resultant display is just bigger than the physical screen dimensions and auto-adjust cannot handle it.

I'll keep on testing...

- Bogdan

Last edited by UncleSpam; 05 April 2010 at 07:57. Reason: More information
UncleSpam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1623 07 January 2016 18:41
Santa's come early... ;-) Amiga meets Piano Vol.2 released! viddi Amiga scene 26 26 June 2011 15:44
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30854 seconds with 12 queries