English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 December 2008, 22:54   #601
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 150
You can only get so much quality out of a VGA connection. Even with the best cables, there will be some inherent flaws with the signal.

A DVI output would have been ideal.
UncleSpam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 December 2008, 05:11   #602
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 237
Did you try grounding the VGA connector to the amiga ground? (The RF shielding will do.) I had the exact problem, and that cured it. In my case the issue was more pronounced on LCDs... (barely noticeable on the CRTs).
Damion is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 06:51   #603
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
thanks guys, i will go and buy a proper shielded vga cable - fingers crossed that should fix the problem, for grounding the connector, my amiga doesn`t have the top shielding case anymore, what would be another way to ground the vga connector? Thanks for all your help guys
 
Old 31 December 2008, 12:18   #604
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@ami_junkie

The Bottom shielding would be perfect as a Grounding point too.

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 02:10   #605
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 313
Indivision Flash V1.3 & Config V1.0
+ A4000D version announced.

ideas about an addon monitorswitch for indivision and graphiccards (german)

Last edited by Ratte; 04 January 2009 at 02:18.
Ratte is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 03:20   #606
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 2,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post


Thanks, do you know if more testing has been done on non-cbm Lisa Chips both for the new generation 1200 indivision and the 4000 model?
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 04:58   #607
mfletcher
Bawbag.

mfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 368
Yay for Jens!

2x A4000D Scandoublers as soon as AmigaKit gets them
mfletcher is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 16:03   #608
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 40
Posts: 722
thx very much for the upd...i confirm that it does not address the reset. issue..could you please make it your next priority for next release? thx again for your dedication and regards.
pbareges is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 22:48   #609
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Put me on the line for the A4000 version!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 05 January 2009, 06:45   #610
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,360
Jens has said that the newly announced A4000D version *may* also fit a CD32....
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 05 January 2009, 21:27   #611
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
Thanks, do you know if more testing has been done on non-cbm Lisa Chips both for the new generation 1200 indivision and the 4000 model?
I dont know anything about it.

For me it is more interresting to see a monitorswitch for indivision and graphicards.
Lets dream about an A4k with Mediator4k + Radeon + Indivision & monitorswitch.

EDIT:
Jens wrote, that the new Indivison for A1200 is tested will all versions of lisa chips.
There is no need for a "sanding mod" anymore.

Last edited by Ratte; 05 January 2009 at 23:21.
Ratte is offline  
Old 06 January 2009, 05:05   #612
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
I dont know anything about it.

For me it is more interresting to see a monitorswitch for indivision and graphicards.
Lets dream about an A4k with Mediator4k + Radeon + Indivision & monitorswitch.

Any idea why the config tool reports the vertical refresh rate of HighGFX as 57hz when it's more like 50hz in standard mode?

How high a refresh rate is possible with the Indivision and HighGFX running at 1024x768?

It’s a shame that the ‘clock multiplier’ setting is a global setting, I have to run mine at 1.0 to keep PAL games at 50hz. In fact it would be really helpful if you could set HighGFX to use 'user settings' and PAL to use 'standard settings' but I don't think that is possible yet?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 January 2009, 05:51   #613
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
I dont know anything about it.

For me it is more interresting to see a monitorswitch for indivision and graphicards.
Lets dream about an A4k with Mediator4k + Radeon + Indivision & monitorswitch.
Ratte,

Is there any advantage speed-wise of developing a version of HighGFX that supports a 800x600 interlaced mode? With my 030 at 50mhz, I have to run the colors down at about 32 to get good speed at 1024x768.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 January 2009, 13:53   #614
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 313
First I have to repeat, that i am not part of the development team.
I am not working for Individual Computers in any way.
HighGFX-support is a result of some discussions on a1k.org and direct mails with Jens and Oliver.

The configtool and the firmware is done by Oliver.
I am only responsible for HighGFX (and HD720).

For 800x600 use Super72 modes.
(HighGFX and Super72 are very identical in operation)

You can use up to 64 colors for "useable" speed, with more than 6 bitplanes you will stress the chipmem DMA.
btw. all other modes with SuperHires resolution (Super72, dblpal, ...) are slow with 128 or 256 colors.
And they all have problems with FBlit and 128 + 256 colors.
(Allready noticed in the fblit docs ...)
Ratte is offline  
Old 06 January 2009, 14:06   #615
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 477
Quote:
Jens has said that the newly announced A4000D version *may* also fit a CD32....
We definitely need a "pants-wetting" smilie on this forum! I'll have to use this one for now...

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 06 January 2009, 17:55   #616
Rixa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tampere / Finland
Posts: 118
I use PAL for both the desktop and my games. I like the increased multiplier on the desktop for a less flickery screen on a CRT, but many games suffer from this. I have to use the config tool manually to switch the rate when I want to play them.

It would be great if the config tool accepted command line parameters to work its most important magic without opening its interface. Then things like the multiplier and scanlines could be controlled from scripts and WHDLoad could automatically switch down to 50Hz and back for games.

I also think it would be neat if the functionality of the tool was isolated in a shared library with a documented interface, so third-party user interfaces could be built. I'd like a MUI GUI myself.
Rixa is offline  
Old 07 January 2009, 00:34   #617
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
The configtool and the firmware is done by Oliver.
I am only responsible for HighGFX (and HD720).

For 800x600 use Super72 modes.
(HighGFX and Super72 are very identical in operation)

You can use up to 64 colors for "useable" speed, with more than 6 bitplanes you will stress the chipmem DMA.
btw. all other modes with SuperHires resolution (Super72, dblpal, ...) are slow with 128 or 256 colors.
I'm sure you can make it faster than ECS based Super72 Ratte, you the man

I think the real advantage of adding 800x600 support to HighGFX is that it can be configured independently of PAL using the Indivision Config tool
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 January 2009, 15:54   #618
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 722
One Indivision A4000 booked for me!
cv643d is offline  
Old 08 January 2009, 08:19   #619
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
I am finally starting to get a bit tired of this bloody indivision, i have been sanding down the plastic day after day trying to make it stay and it is just getting loser and less stable. a bit of a waste of of my 140 quid now

Right now I found out why it was not working when I was sanding it down, I was sanding in the wrong place ... the inside of the socket now one of the pins has broken off after I figured out I needed to sand down the top part. A major bugger up, so now the board is tight but a shite picture lol, hopefully I can figure out how to replace the socket maybe.

Last edited by ami_junkie; 08 January 2009 at 09:44.
 
Old 09 January 2009, 00:38   #620
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by ami_junkie View Post
I am finally starting to get a bit tired of this bloody indivision, i have been sanding down the plastic day after day trying to make it stay and it is just getting loser and less stable. a bit of a waste of of my 140 quid now

Right now I found out why it was not working when I was sanding it down, I was sanding in the wrong place ... the inside of the socket now one of the pins has broken off after I figured out I needed to sand down the top part. A major bugger up, so now the board is tight but a shite picture lol, hopefully I can figure out how to replace the socket maybe.
Sorry to hear that man, an easy enough mistake to make. Apparently this new batch will fit any Lisa (sanding already done I assume). Send your Indivision back to AmigaKit, they might be able to fix it up for ya.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1629 Today 13:33
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
Santa's come early... ;-) Amiga meets Piano Vol.2 released! viddi Amiga scene 26 26 June 2011 15:44
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27384 seconds with 12 queries