English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 October 2008, 12:35   #521
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for that, also I was wondering how does the Scandoubler handle Super Hires mode, I have a widescreen LCD and been trying to get WinUAE to display a full screen Super Hi Res as that would be a lovely resolution for my widescreen display, however WinUAE always some problem where it does not fill the whole screen or the screen becomes scrambled. Does the Indivision scandoubler handle Super Hires better? Cheers!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 October 2008, 14:12   #522
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 312
HighGFX40.6 and Firmware1.2 enables a "Widescreen" AGA screenmode.
Take a look in the bonus-directory of the hgfx-package, there is a monitordriver called "HD720".
1280x720 widescreen
Ratte is offline  
Old 23 October 2008, 18:45   #523
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 18,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
I have the "missing 1/4 line bottom right of screen" I simply adjust my monitor vertical position down one line till it is off screen. I havent noticed any new problems after doing that.
I can also see this if borderblank is not enabled but missing part is only 1/6 of screen. (5/6 of normal background color, last 1/6 is black)

Quote:
however WinUAE always some problem where it does not fill the whole screen or the screen becomes scrambled
Superhires does work if you have recent enough version.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 October 2008, 01:34   #524
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I can also see this if borderblank is not enabled but missing part is only 1/6 of screen. (5/6 of normal background color, last 1/6 is black)
What is borderblank???
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 October 2008, 02:34   #525
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Hmmm I see, that sounds good, I would love to use a widescreen resolution on my A1200 Will check out the latest firmware update and High GFX mode. Cheers!
 
Old 24 October 2008, 07:52   #526
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 312
give it a try ...
aminet - borderblank

in short, it diasables the backgroundcolor outside of the screenarea (compared with the c64 - bordercolor).
it means in a 640x512 screenmode, you´ll see only these 640x512 and not the complete overscan 720x576 in backgroundcolor.
btw. it looks muh more professinal .. like a graphiccard-screenmode with blackborder ...


edit:
you can also try to boot from this disk.
all aviable amiga screenmodes are included (with hgfx and hd720) and borderblank is activated.

Last edited by Ratte; 24 October 2008 at 08:00.
Ratte is offline  
Old 24 October 2008, 08:27   #527
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
give it a try ...
aminet - borderblank

in short, it diasables the backgroundcolor outside of the screenarea (compared with the c64 - bordercolor).
it means in a 640x512 screenmode, you´ll see only these 640x512 and not the complete overscan 720x576 in backgroundcolor.
btw. it looks muh more professinal .. like a graphiccard-screenmode with blackborder ...


edit:
you can also try to boot from this disk.
all aviable amiga screenmodes are included (with hgfx and hd720) and borderblank is activated.
Cheers, I'll give it a go
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 26 October 2008, 18:42   #528
Tony-B
 
Posts: n/a
Indivision AGA 1200 Scandoubler Problems.

Indivision AGA 1200 Scandoubler Problems.

I have been reading the pages from the forum with interest.
The indivision is installed OK on my motherboard I’ve double-checked.
My problem has not really been mentioned.

The scandoubler works perfect in the following screenmodes:
PAL: Low Res
PAL: Low Res Laced
PAL: High Res
PAL: High Res Laced
PAL: Super High Res
PAL: Super High Res Laced

You have to tweak the monitor settings to fill the screen.

The monitor is a TIME CRT 17s DP17LT SVGA,
Horizontal 30KHz to 70KHz, Vertical 50Hz to 160Hz.

The problems seem to be with all the other screenmodes i.e.

HighGFX mode
All Multiscan: Productivity
All DBL PAL
All Super72
All Euro36
All Euro72

These fail to work properly.
They seem vertically out of sync; you can make out the Workbench title bar that travels down the screen vertically with the grey background travelling up the screen vertically. There is no way of selecting the config tool.

I have tried all the things mentioned on this forum i.e.

Flashed with the newest core V1.2 Final.
This improved the pal screen modes that worked ok, but not the others.

Tried using the new V0.99 Config Tool clicking on “Use Display Timing” box, changing to “Use Display Timing from User Setting” mode and changing the scanmode from 1.25x to 1.0x.
Also changing H-Total and V-Total then selecting Use config, before selecting a new screenmode but this didn’t work.

Tried the FirstAid Disk for HighGFX, you see the Workbench screen but again this travels vertically
down the screen. You get the same with the HIGHGFX test picture in the HIGHGFX Package V40_6.

I have tried tinkering with the monitor set up, but there is some sort of frequency problem and
I don’t know how to change the settings to correct this.

Computer: A1200 2mb 1D4, with Blizzard 1230IV 32mb.
System OS: Workbench OS3.5 with Boingbag 2 update installed.
 
Old 27 October 2008, 03:03   #529
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony-B View Post
Indivision AGA 1200 Scandoubler Problems.


Tried the FirstAid Disk for HighGFX, you see the Workbench screen but again this travels vertically
down the screen. You get the same with the HIGHGFX test picture in the HIGHGFX Package V40_6.

I have tried tinkering with the monitor set up, but there is some sort of frequency problem and
I don’t know how to change the settings to correct this.
Have you got access to another monitor? You need to find out if this is a monitor issue or an Amiga issue (or even a monitor cable issue come to think of it).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 27 October 2008, 08:30   #530
gmiaow
A Cat with a Fez
gmiaow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cluain Sceach, Ireland
Age: 32
Posts: 33
This does look tempting... but I think both my boards have HP Lisas and I'm not too sure if this mounting issue is enough to put me off. Having said that I'm not adverse to a bit of sanding. Does it really stick firm enough to withstand a small drop if the sanding is done? (or is it a case of hammering the thing into place )?
gmiaow is offline  
Old 28 October 2008, 00:23   #531
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmiaow View Post
This does look tempting... but I think both my boards have HP Lisas and I'm not too sure if this mounting issue is enough to put me off. Having said that I'm not adverse to a bit of sanding. Does it really stick firm enough to withstand a small drop if the sanding is done? (or is it a case of hammering the thing into place )?
Even though mine has always been stable (ie you could turn the MB upside down and it didn't budge) I wanted to be sure it wouldn't move about when I transported it so I last night I siliconed the sucker down. I'd recomend it to anyone and it's very easy to do. I also siliconed the VGA out connector in place as it comes out very easily.

Talking of Indivision Mods, I also recommend that people grind down their lower RF shields under the floppy to prevent the VGA cable getting squashed, you don't need to take much metal off to do this (I love my Dremal). Just make sure you don't attempt to do this while your MB is still in place

I also hacked an old PC VGA backing plate into shape so now my 1200 is all good for some decent AGA output

Last edited by NovaCoder; 28 October 2008 at 02:04.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 October 2008, 03:14   #532
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 2,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Even though mine has always been stable (ie you could turn the MB upside down and it didn't budge) I wanted to be sure it wouldn't move about when I transported it so I last night I siliconed the sucker down. I'd recomend it to anyone and it's very easy to do. I also siliconed the VGA out connector in place as it comes out very easily.

Talking of Indivision Mods, I also recommend that people grind down their lower RF shields under the floppy to prevent the VGA cable getting squashed, you don't need to take much metal off to do this (I love my Dremal). Just make sure you don't attempt to do this while your MB is still in place

I also hacked an old PC VGA backing plate into shape so now my 1200 is all good for some decent AGA output
I hope you used non-accetic or neutral silicone. It will eat through anything metallic it comes into contact with otherwise.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 28 October 2008, 03:53   #533
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
I hope you used non-accetic or neutral silicone. It will eat through anything metallic it comes into contact with otherwise.
Interesting...I always thought silicone was inert? I'll check which type I used when I get home tonight (hopefully it was the non-metal eating kind).

Actually come to think of it, the clear silicone I used was for gutters so it should be fine (as gutters are made of metal).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 October 2008, 04:19   #534
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 2,017
it should be like this one if you used it on guttering:
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 28 October 2008, 04:40   #535
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
it should be like this one if you used it on guttering:
I used this this one and it says it's 'Non corrosive'...cool

Good point though Mr Bootson, thanks
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 October 2008, 14:27   #536
Sallinen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 97
I'm thinking of buying Sony KDL-32V4500 LCD-TV.

Is there any reason why Indivision AGA wouldn't work with it?

It has VGA-input for computer, 720p HD-Ready TV.

I'm mainly playing games and watching demos.
Sallinen is offline  
Old 28 October 2008, 14:32   #537
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,748
If you're gonna buy an LCDTV then why get an Indivision? That LCDTV has a built in RGB scandoubler (at least an EU one will)

You do not need an indivision, just use SCART socket.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 October 2008, 14:42   #538
Sallinen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 97
Well, occasionally I will be using it with LCD-monitor's
but mostly it will be connected to my home TV.

VGA-input has better picture quality you know

But yeah - so it should be fine through VGA-input of an LCD-TV anyways?

I found following specs:

Resolutions supported by the VGA input (15 Dsub) and HDMI (in PC mode):
- 640 x 480 @ 60 Hz, Horizontal frequency 31.5 kHz
- 800 x 600 @ 60 Hz, Horizontal frequency 37.9 kHz
- 1024 x 728 @ 60 Hz, Horizontal frequency 48.4 kHz
- No assumption of synchronicity on the Green or composite signal synchronization
- No interlaced signals

It also support 70 Hz and 75 Hz on some resolutions and so on.

So does the TV have problem with AGA/Amiga resolutions when playing games?
Would I need some kind of upscaler between Indivision and TV or does Indivision do the upscaling by default, even when playing games or watching demos?

The TV's manual states that it doesn't support smaller resolution than 640x480,
heres link to the specs: http://jus.si/kdl32v4500.jpg

Last edited by Sallinen; 29 October 2008 at 10:25.
Sallinen is offline  
Old 01 November 2008, 01:32   #539
illy5603
Registered User
illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 491
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
@sallinen,

I use my indivision on an LCD TV with the VGA port at 1024X768 on workbench. When I run games, they are centered and scaled perfectly by the indivision. You should have no problems.

@NovaCoder,

I had to sand the socket on my indivision a LOT to get it to fit properly. Works like a champ now.

Last edited by illy5603; 01 November 2008 at 01:42.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 01 November 2008, 03:16   #540
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by illy5603 View Post
@sallinen,

@NovaCoder,

I had to sand the socket on my indivision a LOT to get it to fit properly. Works like a champ now.
Cool, so that 'sanding mod' fixes the stability issues with the lower Lisa's...good to know
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1623 07 January 2016 18:41
Santa's come early... ;-) Amiga meets Piano Vol.2 released! viddi Amiga scene 26 26 June 2011 15:44
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24922 seconds with 12 queries