English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2008, 12:19   #401
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rixa View Post
That takes care of the protruding and obviously conducting parts. I wouldn't turn the thing on like this, though. For testing I've had a sheet of paper rest between the shield and the board, and its still working. I'm thinking maybe it would be a good idea to attach a thin sheet of plastic or sticky paper to the underside of the shield for a more permanent insulation solution.

Any comments? Am I lucky to not have blown the thing up yet?
That's a nice mod but I still think it's safer to just ditch the top RF shield.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 September 2008, 12:56   #402
Rixa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tampere / Finland
Posts: 118
@Ratte,

Same result in SUPER72 laced with your disk. I took a picture, not very clear but the distortion is well visible in the text and the top of the ram disk icon.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	s72laced.jpg
Views:	284
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	18132  
Rixa is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 02:40   #403
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Has anyone here tried the 'sanding fix' for HP lisa's yet and if so, what were the results?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 03:17   #404
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 40
Posts: 722
you hardware geniuses may find me totally stupid but jens helped me solved the sync issues (random blank screens) with my lcd : infact i did not mind grounding the vga connector at first.. i just plugged in a vga cable and thought this would work...listening to jens advice i linked vga connector ground to amiga ground and now my picture stays synced all the time...it is really the best amiga video rendering on any flat screen i ever saw, the whole stuff running at 50hz with perfect scrolling !!great piece of hardware indeed ! i'm totally amazed, much better than my previous xrgb 2 box!
pbareges is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 04:32   #405
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbareges View Post
you hardware geniuses may find me totally stupid but jens helped me solved the sync issues (random blank screens) with my lcd : infact i did not mind grounding the vga connector at first.. i just plugged in a vga cable and thought this would work...listening to jens advice i linked vga connector ground to amiga ground and now my picture stays synced all the time...it is really the best amiga video rendering on any flat screen i ever saw, the whole stuff running at 50hz with perfect scrolling !!great piece of hardware indeed ! i'm totally amazed, much better than my previous xrgb 2 box!
Some more info on how you did this please.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 05:01   #406
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 40
Posts: 722
i took an old pc metal frame used to close an unused pci slot, cut it to clockport dimension, cut a hole the size of the vga connector, and insured contact between adjacent mouse port ground, this metal frame and the vga connector with provided screws...good luck!
pbareges is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 13:06   #407
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 2,016
Wow, what a difference the commodore Lisa can do. this thing is now rock solid all the time.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 30 September 2008, 07:20   #408
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 46
Posts: 711
Tonight I managed to flash my Indivision without blowing anything up (win!) and I thought I'd give HighGFX a go to see what all the fuss is about. It works and looks lovely but 1024 x 768 seems like a lateral upgrade because I was previously using PAL Super High-Res Laced at 1392 x 560. Clearly I'm missing something here. What's the big advantage of HighGFX?

P.S. I'm not talking about the wide screen resolutions which I haven't had the nerve to try yet. I can see that being useful to avoid scaling.
gklinger is offline  
Old 30 September 2008, 07:23   #409
illy5603
Registered User
illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 491
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
Tonight I managed to flash my Indivision without blowing anything up (win!) and I thought I'd give HighGFX a go to see what all the fuss is about. It works and looks lovely but 1024 x 768 seems like a lateral upgrade because I was previously using PAL Super High-Res Laced at 1392 x 560. Clearly I'm missing something here. What's the big advantage of HighGFX?

P.S. I'm not talking about the wide screen resolutions which I haven't had the nerve to try yet. I can see that being useful to avoid scaling.
My guess is that if you have an LCD monitor with a native resolution of 1024X768 which is very common, everything should center perfectly on the screen.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 30 September 2008, 08:21   #410
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by illy5603 View Post
My guess is that if you have an LCD monitor with a native resolution of 1024X768 which is very common, everything should center perfectly on the screen.
Yep that's right, 1024x768 is a 4:3 resolution which matches CRT's and older (non-widescreen LCD's) unlike 1392 x 560.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 September 2008, 08:33   #411
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 46
Posts: 711
I probably should have said that I was using a CRT. I did briefly connect the 1200 up to my LCD (which has a native resolution of 1680 x 1050) to see how that looked and granted, 1024 x 768 looked better than the other modes which seems odd given that they were all interpolated.

I forgot to take pictures.

Anyway, is it safe to say that the advantage of HighGFX is that it's 1024 x 768 which is a more common resolution?
gklinger is offline  
Old 30 September 2008, 09:43   #412
illy5603
Registered User
illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 491
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
@gklinger,

Very safe to say. 1024X768 is also part of the XGA display standard unlike a lot of our old Amiga video modes.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 14:40   #413
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rixa View Post
@Ratte,

Same result in SUPER72 laced with your disk. I took a picture, not very clear but the distortion is well visible in the text and the top of the ram disk icon.
What Kickstart/Workbench version are you using? Is this distortion also visible in Euro36 and Euro 72 interlaced modes?
Oliver_A is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 17:19   #414
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 42
Posts: 5,071
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
I tried Virtual Karting and Virtual Karting II with my Indivision. The output is still corrupted. Would a flash update ever be able to fix this game for LCD screens?
DDNI is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 18:55   #415
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 477
@DDNI: Virtual Karting II works fine here on my LCD monitor.

Are you sure you're not confusing the games crap graphics with display corruption?

(or maybe it is corrupted, and I'm just assuming it's crap graphics!)

Seriously though, perhaps post a pic of what it looks like on your monitor?

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 19:27   #416
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 42
Posts: 5,071
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Hi Steven here is a screenie of the issue...

Last edited by DDNI; 28 December 2008 at 22:46.
DDNI is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 20:07   #417
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 18,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
I tried Virtual Karting and Virtual Karting II with my Indivision. The output is still corrupted. Would a flash update ever be able to fix this game for LCD screens?
It won't work without special firmware code because game expects composite/rf-quality signal to a TV. (it looks wrong with RGB connection too)

-> need special "blur"-superhiresmode

(same as UAE needed "smoothed hires" to show it correctly)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 20:38   #418
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 42
Posts: 5,071
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Thx Toni, would it be feasible/possible to incorporate the firmware into an indivision flash update?
DDNI is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 20:52   #419
Rixa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tampere / Finland
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver_A View Post
What Kickstart/Workbench version are you using? Is this distortion also visible in Euro36 and Euro 72 interlaced modes?
When booted with the indytest disk, kickstart 40.68 and wb 40.42. It's not visible in euro36 but in addition to super72 laced it is visible in euro72 productivity laced, as well as multiscan productivity laced and dblpal/dblntsc high res laced.

Hope I haven't broken the board, though this seems a fairly unlikely outcome if that were the case. I've not used these before, basically just PAL/NTSC. I even re-flashed the 1.1 firmware in case it was that, but it didn't help.

I'm not missing these resolutions but if they work for everybody else, then something is obviously up. I suppose I'll e-mail Jens in case he has any insight.
Rixa is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 21:00   #420
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Thx Toni, would it be feasible/possible to incorporate the firmware into an indivision flash update?
No, because a blur filter emulating the RF signal would take too much FPGA space, which can be better spent on improving the configurability of the Flickerfixer.

Relying on RF blurring is a very dirty trick, because it will only work on 1 special configuration. I think it's not our top priority to fix such lazyness.

Last edited by Oliver_A; 01 October 2008 at 21:11.
Oliver_A is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1623 07 January 2016 18:41
Santa's come early... ;-) Amiga meets Piano Vol.2 released! viddi Amiga scene 26 26 June 2011 15:44
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36514 seconds with 12 queries