English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 July 2008, 18:54   #41
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
The hill on level 1 when I edit the tiles this prevents the Hero from whizzing down - The hill is tile selective would it be possible to have a Special that allowd any tile to be used?
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 July 2008, 19:01   #42
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 118
What do you mean? Have a look at how other hills are made, in the Specials mode (button on the top, or S key on the keyboard).
Exl is offline  
Old 18 July 2008, 19:38   #43
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
I guess hills are tile specific for instance you couldnt make an invisible hill or a square hill?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FrogHog.jpg
Views:	514
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	17196  
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 18 July 2008, 19:54   #44
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 118
Aah like that. If I think I know what you mean, you want to modify the collision data of each tile (where the player character will collide on a tile). It's a bit more tricky, but not impossible I think. In the graphics editor export the L1MS file, at 320 width, 672 height, 1 bitplane. This image contains the collision data for each tile, you will need to make the parts where the character will collide on grey, the parts where he will not collide on black. Then re-import.

I have not tested this though, so it may or may not work.
Exl is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 12:12   #45
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Just got a hint on some other forums (Hi A. Drozd! )
Any chance for a compatibility with the PC version of the game?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 13:02   #46
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 118
Doubtful. The data files are very different from the Amiga version. They seem to be compressed too.
Exl is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 13:29   #47
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Is PC Superfrog any good?
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 13:35   #48
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by StrategyGamer View Post
Is PC Superfrog any good?
Well maybe for the PC The GFX are not as good as the AGA version and the controls were quite bad (it's the same thing with most PC platformer). So I would say stick to the AGA version
TCD is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 14:09   #49
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
There isn't actually a specific AGA version of Superfrog, is there?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 14:20   #50
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Ah you're right Graham. I thought because HOL listed the OCS/ECS seperate that the other version with AGA/CD32 was somehow enhanced. Still Superfrog looks and plays much better on the Miggy IMHO
TCD is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 14:22   #51
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
I'm sure TCD means the CD32 version
Shoonay is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 14:26   #52
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
I'm sure TCD means the CD32 version
Exactly
TCD is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 16:39   #53
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Have you got a pallete for the Static Screens?
Ive looked at L1MS and thats it but Ive havent tested it yet

5hoon4y are you still going to put the RoboCod sprites in? I think it deffently possible Ive think Ive got the pallete right this time I think?!?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SprintSheet.jpg
Views:	420
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	17265  

Last edited by Retro1234; 18 September 2008 at 23:59.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 16:44   #54
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Nope, sorry to burst your bobble bubble, Boo Boo.
It was all just an example, I've never intended to remake James Pond, I was thinking about re-doing every level with the tiles from a different game, like the Castle level from Yo!Joe!, the Ice level from Fire&Ice, the Forest level from... some different game.

But, since the sprites are lost and I can't re-rip them...

Cool work you're doing there I see, GREAT job!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 17:35   #55
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Have you got a pallete for the Static Screens?
Ive looked at L1MS and thats it but Ive havent tested it yet
Which static screens? The Superfrog title screen doesn't have one included, I think. It may very well be in the game executable somewhere.
Exl is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 21:17   #56
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
Hi Exl, great work on the editor. It is probably worth mentioning in the documentation that Superfrog CD32 can be downloaded legally from the Back 2 The Roots CD archive.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 23:51   #57
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
Nice project! Great work!
Anubis is offline  
Old 26 July 2008, 16:46   #58
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
Hi Exl, great work on the editor. It is probably worth mentioning in the documentation that Superfrog CD32 can be downloaded legally from the Back 2 The Roots CD archive.
Good idea.

Is there anything else that would be nice to have? I'm doing a final version, as it's a niche program at best.
Exl is offline  
Old 27 July 2008, 13:05   #59
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Static screens I was thinking editing the Score bar at the top of the screen as for adding anything i cant think of anything. I look forward to any further editors
Good Work Exl!!!

Edit: A little level Ive done in Sonic Style is in the Zone
Cheers Graham

Last edited by Retro1234; 27 July 2008 at 13:17.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 02 August 2008, 02:14   #60
9mm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 10
Awesome can't wait to try it.
9mm is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superfrog BippyM project.Sprites 0 03 August 2013 17:23
Superfrog ChrisJones Retrogaming General Discussion 12 26 September 2011 06:34
How many disks in Superfrog? Andymiga Retrogaming General Discussion 5 11 May 2006 10:17
Superfrog BippyM Retrogaming General Discussion 14 08 September 2005 18:58
Superfrog and flashback Locash request.Old Rare Games 2 23 October 2003 17:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36728 seconds with 12 queries