English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 July 2008, 17:01   #41
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
That's the main reason, WinVice is full emu with load of options. Just as I said, I didn't have problems with it, so not sure why 1541 emulation works better for you on CCS64. IMHO it is just your opinion which one to use.
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 July 2008, 17:25   #42
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
I played some C64 games and didn't have much problem with WinVice. How many games will not run in that emulator?? (I didn't find one yet)
You may have heard about this "strange" thing called demos. A LOT(!) of them don't run properly in WinVICE as that emulator has a lot of bugs, CCS64 is MUCH better when it comes to compatibility! And Hoxs64 is even better!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
I'm not sure what users find helpful on CCS64, I personally dislike it being shareware. (someone pointed easy to use, which is just the same as WinVice)

See above, better compatibility thanks to more accurate emulation.
StingRay is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 17:46   #43
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
Thank you for info.

I'm not into c64 demos, so I don't care about great compatibility.

Does anyone has registered version of CCS64??
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 17:52   #44
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 489
I used to be a staunch CCS64 user, but after using VICE for such a long time now, I just find the in-built gui design of CCS64 a little primitive and messy, especially in v3.0. VICE seems to suit me perfectly with my system but of course we all have our own preferences.
Avanze is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 19:13   #45
formater
Registered User
formater's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alicante/Spain
Posts: 192
... and why not both?
WinVICE is most easy to use, and in the most games it run perfectly, CCS64 is a little difficult to use but most accurate for demos and not too complicated.
I have my own fronted who run one or another as my alection and Gamebase64 can select whoever too.
formater is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 19:31   #46
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Does anyone has registered version of CCS64??
I do (which is odd given that I don't run Windows).
gklinger is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 19:59   #47
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
And what's different in that one vs. free one?
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 23:14   #48
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
No idea (which makes sense given that I don't run Windows).

I asked at Lemon. I'll report back if anyone says anything remotely intelligent (I wouldn't hold your breath.)
gklinger is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 23:18   #49
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
No idea (which makes sense given that I don't run Windows).
Just a total irrelevant question : Why did you buy it?
TCD is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 23:22   #50
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Just a total irrelevant question : Why did you buy it?
Who said I bought it?
gklinger is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 23:23   #51
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
Who said I bought it?
Ah, okay now I got it
TCD is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 01:17   #52
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by formater View Post
... and why not both?
WinVICE is most easy to use, and in the most games it run perfectly, CCS64 is a little difficult to use but most accurate for demos and not too complicated.
100% full ack!
StingRay is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 01:25   #53
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
WinVice produces still an annoying tearing, at least on XP with several Geforce cards. I use the modified v1.20 which works perfectly smooth for me.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 July 2008, 04:24   #54
insidious
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
You may have heard about this "strange" thing called demos. A LOT(!) of them don't run properly in WinVICE as that emulator has a lot of bugs, CCS64 is MUCH better when it comes to compatibility!
i have to disagree. as of present CCS 64 is less compatible than VICE. there are infact afew things that CCS emulates better than Vice (irq/nmi timing f.e) but in general your less likely to witness an emulation issue in Vice. even some games are affected by sprite collision problems(see the CCS board for bug reports) !

Quote:
Originally Posted by formater View Post
WinVICE is most easy to use, and in the most games it run perfectly, CCS64 is a little difficult to use but most accurate for demos and not too complicated.
using CCS for demos is a profanity in my eyes. mainly because of the SID emulation which is a rather poor implementation of the real chip,but also because of the sprite timing issues(bugs in the right border are quite common,i used to write them all down but i dont do it anymore as there was just way too many of them).

if you want an emu to play Gianna Sistaz and have all the nifty features and compatibility aint that important for you go for CCS64 or Vice. you wont notice a difference probably.

if you want an emu which reproduces the C64 in the smallest details and runs demos pixel exact use Hoxs64. no contest here,Hoxs has the most precise C64 emulation and also uses a vertical sync to get rid of middle screen tearing which Vice doesnt do properly.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C64 emulator for 030@50 Akira request.Apps 28 20 March 2011 18:46
Good C64-emulator? Kodoichi Retrogaming General Discussion 20 05 January 2011 14:08
C64 Emulator Advice.... Mick_AKA New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 01 January 2008 22:58
the best c64 emulator? poppe request.Apps 19 10 April 2003 16:22
any change for a good emulator? matthew Amiga scene 2 03 April 2002 06:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17530 seconds with 11 queries