English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2008, 17:18   #1
mfletcher
Bawbag.

mfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 365
Project: Adding a CF Drive as an Hard Drive to an A500

Hi,

Has anyone tried modding an A500 to use a CF Hard Drive internally? I know there was a project a while back to add an internal IDE, but I was wondering if anyone had successfully modded their A500 to use a CF card as a Hard Drive, and whether there were instructions as to how to do it?

Thanks,

Mark
mfletcher is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 02 July 2008, 17:38   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,236
@mfletcher

Heys there,

technically as long as they have an IDE header, then its as simple as setting it up as a regular hard disk on an A600/A1200

you could use a combination of a SCSI controller with a SCSI to IDE bridge known as an ACARD (you can get these on eBay cheap enough) from this use a regular IDE device on it.

with the above solution, you get the benefit of faster, managed SCSI, with the cheap practability of IDE

a match made in heaven

heres a lucsious linkie for you
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 02 July 2008, 17:39   #3
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
If you use the Gayle emulator IDE interface (thread is somewhere on here??)

Don't forget you will need minimum KS of 2.05 (37.350), You need the scsi.device...

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 02 July 2008, 17:42   #4
frost242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noisy-Le-Grand / France
Age: 34
Posts: 88
Hi mfletcher,

I did it. See my page about my mod and of course this topic on EAB.
frost242 is offline  
Old 02 July 2008, 18:15   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,236
@Frost242

That is Awesome work sir!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 02 July 2008, 19:16   #6
frost242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noisy-Le-Grand / France
Age: 34
Posts: 88
Zetro: at the moment, it's just some hack, I have to finish to integrate the CF adapter into the A500 case (sorry, I'll put a hole to extract the CF card). Also to be usable I have to add some extra memory. Anyway, thank you for your comment
frost242 is offline  
Old 02 July 2008, 19:43   #7
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 48
Posts: 3,478
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by frost242 View Post
Zetro: at the moment, it's just some hack, I have to finish to integrate the CF adapter into the A500 case (sorry, I'll put a hole to extract the CF card). Also to be usable I have to add some extra memory. Anyway, thank you for your comment
If you want to use a CF on your A500, why not put it in the side expansion hole? No need to chop the case, just use some type of holder for the CD adaptor.
rkauer is offline  
Old 02 July 2008, 23:38   #8
cane
Registered User
cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: .hr
Age: 35
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Hmm, now I'm tempted to buy it and replace old 40mb scsi hdd with cf in my GVP HD8+. Pretty please don't post such interesting, temping things ...
cane is offline  
Old 03 July 2008, 00:20   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,236
LOL i shall carry a warning on my future posts....

some thing like...

.... hmmm this seems appropriate



however this seems the best



Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500+ hard drive options? JonB Hardware mods 5 02 April 2013 21:45
A500 Hard Drive raindancerob support.Hardware 2 26 August 2009 13:42
a500 hard drive lost_loven support.Hardware 3 01 March 2009 07:59
WTB: hard drive for A500 boing_1000 MarketPlace 8 22 January 2007 17:12
Adding Amiga Hard Drive Fugitif.fa support.WinUAE 8 29 March 2006 20:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12827 seconds with 11 queries