English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 March 2002, 21:11   #1
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 697
Amiga Forever, what's the point?

I've been playing around with Amiga Forever and just don't get it. It looks to me like you get repackaged (old) versions of WinUAE and Winfellow and not a lot else. Am I missing something here? Are there any benefits to be gained from using these older versions?
dreamkatcha is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 March 2002, 21:20   #2
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
More to the point you are paying for the Amiga OS licences and the Picasso Licence Actually when you think about it, it's not a bad price for both when you try to purchase legal copies of both they would cost more then purchasing just the Amiga Forever 5 CD Since you also have older versions of these apps in case you want to mess around with them as well as the newer releases of both WinFellow and WinUAE

EDIT: when you get down to it, some of us here will purchase both the Amiga Forever as well as the real Amiga OS packages because we are also collectors
jmmijo is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 21:24   #3
kafiend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Narnia
Posts: 29
Isn't the whole point that its a working emulated-Amiga setup?
Saves fiddling with setting up workbench etc. Of course not that that in itself is hard, but at least with Amiga Forever (Assuming you bought it) you have a liscensed product in the form of the o/s and kick.roms.

As far as the older versions of WINUAE/Fellow are concerned, newer versions come out faster than Cloanto can reasonably update their package (particularly relevant to the CD version). Besides theres a GUI in Amiga Forever 5 that covers this eventuality with its Update button.
kafiend is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 21:44   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
AF is bullshit. If you'd like to use the roms "legally", just get a broken A500 motherboard with roms on it for 5$ and download the kickstarts anywhere!
 
Old 18 March 2002, 21:49   #5
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
AF is bullshit. If you'd like to use the roms "legally", just get a broken A500 motherboard with roms on it for 5$ and download the kickstarts anywhere!
Ah, but that's assuming this A500 has the kick 3.1 roms doesn't it
jmmijo is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 21:53   #6
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
ok get a broken A1200 motherboard for 10$ then
 
Old 18 March 2002, 21:58   #7
kafiend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Narnia
Posts: 29
Also required...

1 large carboard box in which to store bits.
Plenty of loft space
lots of luck and patience in tracing down all the parts

kafiend is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 22:18   #8
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 697
Thanks for the replies. It just seems like a big scam to me considering the core components of the package can be downloaded free elsewhere. OK, so you get legal Kickstarts and whatnot with it, but they're so easy to come by that shouldn't even be a consideration. I'm not necessarily talking about downloading them illegally either - I expect most of the members here have owned legal copies of these disks at one point or another even if we don't now so charging for them all over again is ridiculous.

I'm really glad I'm just 'testing' this software, because I would have felt totally cheated had I paid for it... and I thought Microsoft were the biggest con merchants around these days.

From what I can gather AF gives you a pretty menu from which you're just a click away from the emus and different OSs. If this was important to you you'd just create a group of shortcuts using Explorer.

Is Amithlon any better?
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 22:22   #9
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Echostryker
Is Amithlon any better?
Well, Amithlon is FASTER, but you cannot play old adf-games with it, cause it got no custom-chip emulation
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 22:24   #10
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Amithlon is totally different and in some aspects, better but doesn't have OCS/ECS/AGA emulation which means you won't be able to play classic games with it. check www.amithlon.net for more information.
 
Old 18 March 2002, 22:33   #11
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Nearly forgotten : For playing old classic Amiga games on Amithlon you can use AmigaUAE (an Amiga Emulator for the Amiga) but since there currently is no development, the emu is in an early stage of emulation and cant emulate very much games, but its worth a try from what Ive heard, you can manage to emulate 50% of all amiga adfs out there ...
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 22:44   #12
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Sounds cool. Maybe we can install workbench under amigauae, and install pc task onto it, then install linux and by using a dos emulator, install and use dosuae and with dosuae, we can use shapeshifter so that we have a nice macos running, then install macuae and by using pctask again, install BeOs and try to run silk worm with BeUAE !
 
Old 18 March 2002, 22:51   #13
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
Sounds cool. Maybe we can install workbench under amigauae, and install pc task onto it, then install linux and by using a dos emulator, install and use dosuae and with dosuae, we can use shapeshifter so that we have a nice macos running, then install macuae and by using pctask again, install BeOs and try to run silk worm with BeUAE !
RetroMan is offline  
Old 19 March 2002, 00:27   #14
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 697
Lol @ Burseg

Just goes to show how ridiculous this whole thing is getting. Roll on the SNES emus! Now they're child's play to get running.
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 19 March 2002, 00:44   #15
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Just kidding RetroMan no need to get upset
 
Old 19 March 2002, 00:48   #16
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,658
I agree, Amiga Forever is crap. Cloanto these days seem bent on sucking any money they can out of the Amiga community without putting anything back.
Minuous is offline  
Old 19 March 2002, 01:17   #17
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Quote:
Sounds cool. Maybe we can install workbench under amigauae, and install pc task onto it, then install linux and by using a dos emulator, install and use dosuae and with dosuae, we can use shapeshifter so that we have a nice macos running, then install macuae and by using pctask again, install BeOs and try to run silk worm with BeUAE !
i've often thought about this, emulation is ENDLESS...

nice1
Djay is offline  
Old 19 March 2002, 19:46   #18
CPC464
Junior Member
CPC464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: York
Age: 48
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to CPC464 Send a message via AIM to CPC464
Amiga 4 Ever

I have Amiga Forever 5 (Yes I know what a waste of Money).

And I think most of you are right, apart from the Kickstart.roms and the stuff you need licencing for there is nothing to it.

it comes with some video's on the CD's but WOW O WOW it's nothing exciting, and it's setout is no where near as good as AIAB.

So Is there a point in Buying it ? Well as it's been pointed out if you want to obtain stuff legally then yes, if you don't worry about things like that then the answer must be NO.

I thought it would be pretty good to use and once installed it would be setup, but Nah doesn't quite work like that.

IMHO much better to use AIAB and much Much nicer to look at.

However, the Amiga Explorer parts of AF is very nice (so it does have 1 good point) but they could have done so much more, especially considering the money you pay for it.

Just my opinion though
CPC464 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Forever Value - Help! Spog_Monkey support.FS-UAE 11 27 May 2013 23:01
Amiga Point of View Issue 4 Published! CodyJarrett News 35 18 June 2010 21:02
Amiga Forever and C64 Forever Live Video Meetup mcb News 1 30 May 2009 20:09
Amiga forever sw2001 Amiga scene 15 13 September 2006 21:19
amiga forever otro support.WinUAE 6 23 October 2004 22:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.56310 seconds with 11 queries