English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 March 2002, 18:29   #1
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
Sega Mega CD II question

Well, I have a hacked Megadrive with a switch for changing between NTSC and PAL modes and I wonder if I attach a PAL Mega CD II to it in NTSC mode the, will the Mega CD display the graphics in that mode?. If the answer is negative, is there a way of changing the mode of the Mega CD II?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 March 2002, 18:36   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 3,704
I found this surfing the net

[snip]
These are simple, but good instructions on how to add a jap/US and PAL/NTSC (50/60 Hz) switch to any Genesis or Mega Drive model 1. That way, you can use ANY sega cd system (euro, US, jap) with it, as well as use any game (some newer games had country lockout). Also, the 50/60 Hz switch fixes the out-of-synch probs with FMV (i.e. Lunar) on european systems. You need a RGB Scart cable to get a picture in color on PAL TVs.
[/snip]

So all you need is a RGB-Cable and way you go
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 19:01   #3
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
Many thanks Retro, but that RGB cable is for the MegaCD II , isn't it? If so, it will be hard find that kind of connectors
 
Old 18 March 2002, 19:19   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 3,704
IIRC you use the standart Sega RGB cable to connect the Mega Drive itself for grafix output
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 19:39   #5
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
AFAIK MegaCD games are displayed trough the MegaCD RGB output, aren't they? and the RGB connectors of the Megadrive I and the MegaCD II aren't the same (I built the Megadrive I RGB cable because use a standard 8 pins round connector) Sorry, but I still haven't got the MegaCD II for testing.
 
Old 18 March 2002, 19:50   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 3,704
Nope, the Sega CD I and II display all grafix through the Mega Drive Output, I attached a pic of my Mega CD II (allthough it is not very good ) and there you´ll see the Mega CD II connectors in the middle of the pic (only audio and power) ....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pdrv0005.jpg
Views:	313
Size:	77.3 KB
ID:	2054  
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 20:39   #7
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
A lot of thanks btw, have you tried to make the NTSC modification on your Megadrive?, I did it and it's easy.
 
Old 18 March 2002, 20:59   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 3,704
Nope I didn´t since I´m a collector I will not modify the original machines Maybe if I get a second one
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 21:13   #9
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
That makes sense RetroMan, if you use the machine on a regular basis and you want to keep it functioning then you would want to keep this one intact and in it's original form. Yes get a second one before doing mods or if you have plenty of spare cash laying around then go ahead
jmmijo is offline  
Old 18 March 2002, 23:35   #10
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
I'm a player not a collector
 
Old 20 March 2002, 02:47   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Well, I thought there was a hardware lock that avoided different country SCDs to run with different country MDs an dgenesis...

I do not mod either, same reason why I NEED a japanese Saturn :P
Akira is offline  
Old 20 March 2002, 20:38   #12
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
Yep, you're right. I've read segacd FAQ and there's a chip lock up, so NTSC switch isn't enough.

Also tried Snatcher on GENS emu with the USA bios set to a European one and doesn't work. So the only solution is use SCDCONV utility, set the ISO to European version, boot the Megadrive on PAL mode and after the Sega logo switch to NTSC (but a lot of japanese games like Ranma 1/2 don't work with SCDCONV )
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Sega Mega Drive with 14 Games scrappysphinx MarketPlace 3 08 December 2009 23:54
Sega Mega Drive Controller for CD32? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 5 28 January 2009 06:00
monkey island - sega mega cd jolly11 Retrogaming General Discussion 3 08 November 2008 16:10
something like cd32's collections..why not for sega mega cd? jolly11 Retrogaming General Discussion 5 22 September 2008 20:21
SEGA CD / MEGA CD Question Djay Retrogaming General Discussion 8 03 June 2004 23:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06926 seconds with 13 queries