English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

View Poll Results: would you buy a Mac to run OS4 if it were possible ?
YES 24 40.68%
NO 35 59.32%
Voters: 59. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Tools
Old 21 June 2008, 02:33   #21
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 9,671
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
There is another way for us old skool 68k fans to run OS4 on our trusty steeds...

May I present the A-Max - yes, that's right a fully fledged and ageing Mac emulator card for Zorro equipped miggys...


Zetty is going to implant an entire imac onto the board and make it work - just like that...

no worries... it should only take..... two more weeks

to be honest though... at the moment i have very VERY little interest in MAC's, and if i was truthful, I never have... I don't buy into the style over substance which is what having a MAC is all about.

Lets look at the top (non-intel) line today, locked to a proprietary upgrade path, and you run an OS that arguably free on every platform.. (yes *nix)

I believe it was said correctly that

"those that own Mac's are infact 12 o-clock flashers..... every device in their house is flashing 12:00 "

OS4 isn't going to give Amiga a new lease of life, infact it will just compound the fact we are at the way side.... however.... a good linux and decent CPU will make you think your still motoring down the road
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 June 2008, 03:32   #22
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 29
Posts: 561
I liked Linux better than Windows but I'm clueless as to how to use it. I was using Ubuntu and Kubuntu for a while, both are my favorite distros. I have attempted to use FreeBSD but didn't find it all that great.
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 06:59   #23
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
"Zetty is going to implant an entire imac onto the board and make it work - just like that...

Got any clues for that, or is it just a delayed April fool's? What i mean is, first, i can't figure how anyone would fit an imac mobo on an A-Max board, and second, who can be sure if imac runs OS4?
If you've more details, please let us know...
salax54 is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 07:17   #24
Powered by Motorola

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,063
Not for OS4 or even OS 10.
adolescent is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 10:32   #25
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 62
Forget OS4. Bill McEwen said OS5 will be released soon, and its going to be better than MacOS! Yeah, I can see all those Mac diehards fanatics formatting their OS for install the awesome OS5.

Last edited by cronos; 25 June 2008 at 15:49.
cronos is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 13:16   #26
Registered User
lours's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Andorra
Age: 47
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to lours Send a message via MSN to lours Send a message via Skype™ to lours
I said YES but after thinking, I would say NO..

Marketing, when you catch us..
lours is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 17:10   #27
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,128
Wait for Bill OS, it rocks.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 25 June 2008, 17:24   #28
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: .
Posts: 3,399
but Dizzy OS is better

remind me of my old ElvisBench I used on my Amiga 500
Dizzy is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 17:29   #29
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 722
Yes off course!

I already run OS4 on my A4000 but it definitely needs more than 128 MB, it is relatively speedy as is on my 233 MHz PPC.

I would go as far out as to claim OS4 could compete with OSX - and win!

Keep in mind I am no Apple fanatic but there goes a lot more into Apple products than just style.
cv643d is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 18:46   #30

Oli_HD's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 19:46   #31

mfletcher's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 368
Sorry, but installing OS4.0 on a Mac is like taking a shit and then eating it. Why would I want to get rid of my lovely OS X, which does everything OS4.0 can do and more, and replace it with an OS that has no future?
mfletcher is offline  
Old 25 June 2008, 22:05   #32
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 636
Originally Posted by blade002 View Post

No offense klx300r
none taken
klx300r is offline  
Old 27 June 2008, 23:49   #33
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 37
Posts: 904
Definitely yes!
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 18:26   #34
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 46
Posts: 711
I have OS4 and the required Mac mini here and yet I'm dragging my heels on trying to get it running. To be honest, I'm struggling to think of a reason to bother. There's no cool hack factor as others have done it (or said they've done, suspicious video aside) and I can't think of a single thing I would do with it were it to work. IMO, the Mac mini is far more useful with OS X on it and as far as Amigas go, it's 99% about games for me now so I'd rather spend the time in front of my 1200.
gklinger is offline  
Old 23 July 2008, 23:10   #35

Oli_HD's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Nope, not here.
I have os4 on my A4KT and tbh I wasnt impressed, so pass I will hold out for the NatAmi.
Oli_HD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will OS4 run on normal PC hardware? Welshieinnz Amiga scene 12 13 December 2015 21:37
OS4 on Mac HenryCase Amiga scene 132 12 September 2008 12:36
would you buy a Mac to run MorphOS 2 if it were possible ? amigarobbo Amiga scene 7 20 July 2008 21:34
how to run winuae and run Tau Ceti Academy ??? funkycatspangky support.Games 7 22 July 2007 18:51
OS4 update - A late xmas present from the OS4 team Paul News 1 28 December 2004 20:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20486 seconds with 12 queries