English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 June 2008, 22:14   #1
matthew
Zone Friend
matthew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: England
Age: 40
Posts: 108
Send a message via ICQ to matthew Send a message via AIM to matthew Send a message via MSN to matthew Send a message via Yahoo to matthew Send a message via Skype™ to matthew
Firefox 3 Download

Not Amiga Related but certainly Newsworthy.

You can download it from here.
matthew is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 June 2008, 07:03   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
First Add-on i've installed.

https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/6227
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 08:02   #3
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Thank you retronerd, that was starting to irritate me.

piclens is awesome too.

Last edited by T_hairy_bootson; 19 June 2008 at 08:49.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 09:43   #4
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
I actually find the new toolbar awesome

Irritating stuff for me:
1. Image blurring.
I'm sure it's leet and all that for teenagers who bought those awesomely awesome new graph cards and want everything blurry, but damn, this sucks for a retro player...

2. Password remember and auto-fill
After a fresh install and retyping all my passwords on all those boards/torrents/etc. they're not auto-typed, damn it!
In most cases they're just filled in the box and I have to click the logon button, but in worst cases, I have to start typing for it to fill and I'm lazy and used to just getting on the site and already being logged in!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 10:09   #5
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
Irritating stuff for me:
1. Image blurring.
I'm sure it's leet and all that for teenagers who bought those awesomely awesome new graph cards and want everything blurry, but damn, this sucks for a retro player...
Zoomed in HOL screenshots and maps now look awful - and I've yet to find a way to turn it off.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 10:14   #6
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
I've tried searching in about:config for key words such as "blur, image, picture, zoom, etc." but couldn't find an option that would solve it
Shoonay is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 11:28   #7
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,276
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Can you please post some screenshots of the blurred images? I haven't installed Firefox 3 yet and you're making me hesitate...
alkis21 is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 11:35   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
http://www.opera.com

yeah, I am an Opera fanboy....
keropi is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 11:56   #9
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
Here's a screenshot of a zoomed in HOL image.

It's especially bad with game maps where it's likely you'd want to zoom in and have a closer look.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Firefox3_Zoom.png
Views:	305
Size:	204.0 KB
ID:	16926  
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 12:29   #10
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Windows hotmail full version doesnt work either
DDNI is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 22:51   #11
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
This blurring sucks !
RCK is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 23:01   #12
matthew
Zone Friend
matthew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: England
Age: 40
Posts: 108
Send a message via ICQ to matthew Send a message via AIM to matthew Send a message via MSN to matthew Send a message via Yahoo to matthew Send a message via Skype™ to matthew
Some people have posted a bug report to Mozilla regarding the blurring.
matthew is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 23:04   #13
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthew View Post
Some people have posted a bug report to Mozilla regarding the blurring.
Indeed, now it's only a matter of years until it gets fixed.
eLowar is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 23:26   #14
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
http://www.opera.com

yeah, I am an Opera fanboy....
Frog is offline  
Old 20 June 2008, 05:20   #15
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Arrow I may regret this, but...

Disclaimer (in advance): I do NOT accept ANY responsibility for the following and I will provide NO support WHATSOEVER for it. If it works for you, hooray, if it doesn't, that's NOT my problem! USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

That said, here's a little hack of the Firefox 3.0 (US) release with just a few lines of code changed to remove the interpolation of images altogether. The only other difference is that it thinks it's a "trunk build" (but don't worry, it is the official 3.0 release code) and is hence called "Minefield" and has a different default start page (if I can be bothered I might look into changing that eventually, I already made an attempt but I don't seem to fully understand the branding mechanism yet; I believe there are add-ons to change the window title as well, if you don't like it).

This 32-bit binary was built with Visual C++ 9.0 Express Edition, which is why it's built without ActiveX and Accessibility support (the Express Edition doesn't come with ATL headers and I didn't feel like installing another 1GB+ platform SDK), and you'll probably need the appropriate runtime libraries (if you don't already have them) which are available from here: Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)

I've only tested this on Windows Vista (32-bit) and recommend running it in the following way:
  • Install the official Firefox 3.0 release (if you haven't already) and make sure it's been started once, so you have a profile
  • Extract the archive somewhere else and create a link to the firefox.exe in there
  • Make sure the official Firefox is turned off (otherwise it will just open a new window) before you start it, then let it set itself as your default browser (or not)
This works well for me (automatically loading my profile with bookmarks, working add-ons, etc.), but again, if it doesn't work for you: TOUGH LUCK!

So here goes: An unofficial Firefox 3.0 build to remove the image zoom interpolation "feature" (hosted on )

By downloading this file you agree to LEAVE ME ALONE, no matter what happens.

I may or may not make updates for this until an official fix exists, and I reserve the right to completely ignore requests of any kind (someone else could probably do a much better job than I anyways).

Please understand this was just an experiment for my own use (and that I have no experience whatsoever with building and modifying Firefox; although the modification was very simple), and I'm only sharing it here because I thought it might be of some use to others who are frustrated with the blurry images (so long as it doesn't cause me any more effort ).

Last edited by eLowar; 20 June 2008 at 06:00. Reason: Just a few minor changes to the text.
eLowar is offline  
Old 20 June 2008, 06:31   #16
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
For the technically inclined and/or those interested (or maybe someone wants to make a nicer build), the only change I made to the source code was to mozilla/gfx/src/thebes/nsThebesImage.cpp:

Code:
573,601c573
<     switch (target->GetType()) {
<     case gfxASurface::SurfaceTypeXlib:
<     case gfxASurface::SurfaceTypeXcb:
<         // See bug 324698.  This is a workaround for EXTEND_PAD not being
<         // implemented correctly on linux in the X server.
<         //
<         // Set the filter to CAIRO_FILTER_FAST if we're scaling up -- otherwise,
<         // pixman's sampling will sample transparency for the outside edges and we'll
<         // get blurry edges.  CAIRO_EXTEND_PAD would also work here, if
<         // available
<         //
<         // This effectively disables smooth upscaling for images.
<         if (xscale > 1.0 || yscale > 1.0 || ctxHasNonTranslation)
<             pat->SetFilter(0);
<         break;
<
<     case gfxASurface::SurfaceTypeQuartz:
<     case gfxASurface::SurfaceTypeQuartzImage:
<         // Do nothing, Mac seems to be OK. Really?
<         break;
<
<     default:
<         // turn on EXTEND_PAD.
<         // This is what we really want for all surface types, if the
<         // implementation was universally good.
<         if (xscale != 1.0 || yscale != 1.0 || ctxHasNonTranslation)
<             pat->SetExtend(gfxPattern::EXTEND_PAD);
<         break;
<     }
---
>     pat->SetFilter(0);
Edit: Hmm, I guess it would've made sense to leave in the check for upscaling and keep filtering when downscaling. Ah well, maybe next time.

Last edited by eLowar; 20 June 2008 at 06:39.
eLowar is offline  
Old 21 June 2008, 06:46   #17
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,282
I kinda like the softening of sharp edges effect.

But my problem with Firefox 3 is that it feels slower then older releases.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 21 June 2008, 12:11   #18
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
I don't like this firefox 3 version
was an intend to copy IE7 style...the toolbar buttons is a vulgar copy of IE7
I don't know why they do that stupids things

the new toolbar is ugly...you must install the old toolbar addon

on the other way "babylon" a program that I use to translate words between languages..not works anymore on this firefox 3 version....who knows what they have changed

but..they have improved the download manager....that's the only good news...you can resume now and pause

I returned to firefox 2 because babylon not works anymore

MuzKat, also I feel this firefox slower than the previous release

Last edited by laser; 21 June 2008 at 12:20.
laser is offline  
Old 21 June 2008, 12:28   #19
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
surprise, surprise... slower than the older release.

Software gets slower, faster than hardware gets faster.
Software is decelerating faster than hardware is accelerating.

Friggin crap.
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 21 June 2008, 12:41   #20
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
surprise, surprise... slower than the older release.

Software gets slower, faster than hardware gets faster.
Software is decelerating faster than hardware is accelerating.

Friggin crap.
you are right.....but there are exceptions...thanks god !!!

winuae 1.5.0 it's a bit faster than previous releases....IE7 it's faster than IE6
and there are others exceptions as well
laser is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox on Amiga has arrived!!! DDNI Amiga scene 13 18 February 2012 15:00
Firefox 4 Error killergorilla project.EAB 19 06 May 2011 23:23
Firefox for Amiga OS now available! Pyromania Amiga scene 17 14 June 2010 23:12
Mozilla Firefox for Amiga macce2 Amiga scene 3 24 June 2007 20:24
Firefox Search Plugin? Anubis AMR suggestions and feedback 9 15 March 2007 18:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38392 seconds with 12 queries