English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2008, 13:02   #1
jimbob005
Registered User
jimbob005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: swadlincote, uk
Age: 37
Posts: 226
Send a message via MSN to jimbob005
amiga cdtv or cd32

hi all

i want an amiga for my living room i thinking of a cdtv or an cd32 i know the cdtv is just a a500 with a cd rom.

the cd32 is an a1200 dose it have aga ??


can i copy game on to cd and play them on the cdtv/32?
do you have to downgrade the cd32 to play old games like on the a1200 ?

can i use a mouse on them???
for lemmings and darksead????


thanks james
jimbob005 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 June 2008, 13:22   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@James

hello there,

Okay the CDTV is basically an A500 with ECS and a dual speed CDROM,

the CD32 is AGA with a proprietary 2 or 4x CDROM

I would like to build a CD32 into a CDTV that .... would indeed be sexy!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 13:54   #3
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
Spec wise the CD32 is the best to choose. It is basically the same as the A1200 in terms of compatibility with games. You can connect an A4000 keyboard to the CD32 directly as it has a keyboard/serial port that directly supports this. It also has the same two joystick ports as the A1200 so can use Amiga mice for games like Lemmings, or for using Workbench. The CD32 also has an SVideo socket as standard, so you can get a nice picture on a TV without needing an Amiga monitor.

You can also burn CD-R's and they work perfectly on the CD32. So if you have the ISO for a game it can be burnt and should work perfectly.

Some people have also created game compilation CDs you can download from places like Underground gamer. This contain loads of older A500 and A1200 game that you can run directly from the discs on the CD32. The largest of these compilations contains 888 games on a single CD. Quite cool.

You can also expand the CD32 using something called an SX-32. This is a unit that connected into the back of the CD32 and it allows you to add fast ram and an HD. And it is also an accelerator, with the best version containing a 68030 at 50MHz, basically turning the CD32 into the equivalent of an A1200 with a blizzard 1230 fitted. So a very nice setup.

The SX-32 also contains all of the ports missing from the CD32 to give you back all of the ports the A1200 has. So you can then connect and use an external floppy disk drive, printer, modem etc...

In contrast the CDTV is basically an A500 with slightly updated kickstart rom and chipset, 1MB of ram and a CD drive. For me the CDTV is a much nicer looking system and the design was much better, with the remote control pad being much better if the unit was being used as part of a home entertainment setup under the main TV. You can also add a floppy drive, keyboard and mouse to the main unit. But the CDTV is too limited compared to the CD32 if you want to get the most from the system. The CDTV is really just a collectors Amiga. If you want one to play games on and enjoy then get a CD32.
Harrison is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 13:56   #4
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Hello James

Yes CD32 all the way, Mouse port on the side as well as Keyboard port, Has S-Video outputs & there are so many CD32 games on ebay going quite cheaply,

There are some compilations around on the net which include downgraders.

As far as writing your own Bootable CD's, you need to write a special CD32 Bootblock to acomplish this.

try a bit of googling, see what you find.

I agree with Zetro the CDTV does look better but the CD32 does outperform it, fitting a CD32 inside a CDTV would be the ultimate solution.


Too slow Harrison beat me to it & in greater depth, Nice one!!
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 16:47   #5
cane
Registered User
cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: .hr
Age: 38
Posts: 539
CD32 is better choice. As previously stated it's A1200 with CD instead of floppy.
You can burn whdload games on CD and play them on CD32. The only limit is that quite a few games won't work because of only 2Mb ram. And you have to make bootable CD with trademark file in it - it's quite easy thing to do.
Mouse can be normally connected and keyboard as well. You can hook A4000 keyboard directly (as Harrison already mentioned), but also others work with a little bit of soldering wires on connector - A2000, A3000 and also A500 keyboard can be used.
The CD32 is cool machine, perfect for use in living room. But when you hook up keyboard to it then it becomes a little bit space consuming - thing to also consider.
cane is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 16:58   #6
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
I have both & can't honestly rate one over the other.

Both have their better options, both suck in certain areas.

To be honest, if I had loads of money I'd go for an expanded CD32...if little money, then just a standard CDTV with a few cheap mods.

If I wasn't into collecting I'd just move another miggy next to the TV & leave it at that.

Short story long...unless you are keen to collect more miggy models, willing to go mod-crazy or spend heaps of cash, then they are both perfectly useless if you already have an equivalent Amiga "computer".

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 17:09   #7
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 830
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
I would also recommend the CD32 as the choice. You can always take a look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga_CD32 and read about some interesting facts. Myself have a beefed up CD32 with an SX32 Pro, 1GB CF card as HD (check sig below) and I also use my CD32 to play some CDTV games
TheBoss is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 19:59   #8
jimbob005
Registered User
jimbob005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: swadlincote, uk
Age: 37
Posts: 226
Send a message via MSN to jimbob005
ok looking at this the nice lookin cdtv with an cd32 inside makes me think i want one

so if any one has a none working cdtv they want to give up pm me

i could all was use the a600 (that i found for £2 on the car boot) and zetro it

thanks for the info

james
jimbob005 is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 22:26   #9
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
How would anyone doing a CD32 inside a CDTV case mod tackle the CD drive?

AFAIK both the CDTV and the CD32 use completely incompatible proprietary drive interfaces. So would standard IDE CD drives work with the CD32?

Last edited by Harrison; 11 June 2008 at 05:24.
Harrison is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 22:37   #10
jimbob005
Registered User
jimbob005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: swadlincote, uk
Age: 37
Posts: 226
Send a message via MSN to jimbob005
i dont know yet but there will be a way
jimbob005 is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 22:45   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
How would anyone doing a CD32 inside a CDTV case mod tackle the CD drive?
Or the power supply, or the rear connectors, or the LED etc. etc.

What a waste of time for nothing.

If you want to do something worth doing... work out a way to get a tray/slot loading IDE or SCSI CD drive to be used to replace the CDTV's crappy custom mitsumi(?) caddy drive... that IS something worth doing.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 23:01   #12
jimbob005
Registered User
jimbob005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: swadlincote, uk
Age: 37
Posts: 226
Send a message via MSN to jimbob005
you could sort that out and at the same time inport aga and a faster chip and more ram with a cd32 inside and put a slot loader on that
jimbob005 is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 23:09   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Or you could just use the CD32 "as is" and it will play just as well (probably better)
alexh is offline  
Old 11 June 2008, 01:43   #14
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Both!
Pyromania is offline  
Old 11 June 2008, 03:29   #15
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Hmmmmmmm

Zetr0: Ponders.....

If an A1200 motherboard would fit, then that would perhaps make a better option, although the backplane would require a rebuild, the front would be easier as a 5/14 IDE rom could be used... also there are some IR keyboard adapters and projects from Aminet for the A1200...

Also the A1200 has a larger (and cheaper) range of options for CPU upgrades as well.

just a thought....

using a CD32 in a CDTV would be cool, alas there would be some problems, like having to build a custom CD loading tray that would work with the existing CDROM of the CD32... that would be a chor to say the least but eminently awesome if you managed it!

I have been planning on making a CD32 into a laptop, I have looked at the signals of the device, but the schematics are non-existent so it would be trial an error and guesstimate, but I believe an ATMega8 interface could run as an interface between a basic IDE optical drive and the CD32, but still thats a few months research alone LOL.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 00:38   #16
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
I'd buy both to be honest and when not using the other use it to play music CD's whilst playing games
Paul_s is offline  
Old 19 June 2008, 01:04   #17
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
CDTV is the nicer device, but as a CD32 owner I can assure you it is my most heavily used Amiga...
...there's really no competition:
S-Video
AGA
CD32 Games, A500/A1200/CD32 compilations...

@Zetr0:
An upgraded A1200 mobo in a CDTV case - now we're talking!
Charlie is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 09:48   #18
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 36
Posts: 426
CD32 is far better!
Xenon is offline  
Old 30 June 2008, 01:19   #19
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Which one did you setup?
Pyromania is offline  
Old 14 July 2008, 22:32   #20
jimbob005
Registered User
jimbob005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: swadlincote, uk
Age: 37
Posts: 226
Send a message via MSN to jimbob005
ok wall i didn't get any insted i was thinking the cd32 is about the same size as an a600.. but the a600 has a keyboard in it.. so now iv started work on the a600 i want aga, cdrom, hdd, play games and whdload so it comes down to it put an a1200 in the a600 case with cf card hdd and cd rom for the cd 32 games (darkseed ). and try and fit an 030 card in there to

james
jimbob005 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
emuControlCenter 0.9.8 STABLE + AMIGA/CD32/CDTV support ecc New to Emulation or Amiga scene 48 25 July 2008 00:57
original amiga cdtv and cd32 games for sale bastibs MarketPlace 1 24 July 2007 22:31
Amiga CD, CD32 & CDTV Feasible in Gamebase Amiga ? sut project.MAGE 4 09 July 2007 13:49
CD32,CDTV and Amiga games for sale wakeupbomb MarketPlace 1 30 August 2005 19:21
Amiga CD32/CDTV FTP site TheBoss Amiga websites reviews 11 27 July 2003 20:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25588 seconds with 12 queries