English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 June 2008, 21:00   #1
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
256Mbit upgrade for Doctor64 V64??

I'm looking for a 128Mbit upgrade for my Doctor64 V64 (to bring the total to 256Mbit) anyone seen one on their travels?

Not sure if it's an upgrade or a 256Mbit replacement card, anyone know?

Also looking for a DX256 EEPROM cartridge and a DS-1 SRAM cartridge to go with my recently acquired Doctor64 V64.

Damn thing was busted so only cost 50... 10 minutes after getting it home and fitting a new IDE CD drive it was working a treat.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 June 2008, 13:54   #2
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
The ram card goes in the side trapdoor on the bottom. (From memory, I did my V64 when the RAM card was released new...)

If anyone has them, www.ntscco.com.hk will. But, it's sometimes hard to get them to complete a deal. (I haven't tried for 5+ years though). Or, ask on tototek forums, someone will contact you.
adolescent is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 16:32   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Thanks, I had already seen that site... but dismissed it as dead... the prices have not changed since the devaluation of the USD.

I still don't know if I need a 2nd 128Mbit RAM card or a replacement 256Mbit RAM card??
alexh is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 16:34   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@alexh

sorry my friend, I was going to get a Doc for my N64, but i sold it in the end and just emulate now.... hmmm....


good luck with your quest.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 16:46   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
N64 emulation sucks ass on all of the best games. If you want to play anything other than Mario64 or MarioKart64 you need the real thing.

GoldenEye, Banjo Tooie, Conkers etc. etc. all don't work well enough to be fun.

If they did... I'd be the first to put my N64 in the attic.

Last edited by alexh; 04 June 2008 at 16:53.
alexh is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 16:57   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Okay, you got me on Golden Eye, but my PC does a fantastic job on Mario Cart and a fair few others.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 17:24   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Hmmm... nah. I've tried all the N64 emulators there are... latest versions and while the games are playable, the graphical glitches, crashes, and bits that dont work make it not fun.

Nice as a 5 minute distraction, or a demo... but not through a full game.

I tried playing Zelda OOT and it wasnt nice at all, even with the ADAPTOID N64 to USB adapter I have.

alexh is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 18:34   #8
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I still don't know if I need a 2nd 128Mbit RAM card or a replacement 256Mbit RAM card??
You need a second RAM card. Here's another potential source, which I do not endorse but at least they appear to be in business.

I've heard unconfirmed rumors that ebay removes auctions for backup/dev units even for obselete consoles, anyone know if this is true?
OddbOd is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 18:53   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Ebay do not delete any pages unless asked to by the public.

If you do not advertise the true nature of the item then you're fine.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=250254986717
alexh is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 18:58   #10
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
Quote:
A selection of CD roms (very interesting files on them)
hehe I see what you mean.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 05 June 2008, 00:50   #11
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 754
A Dr64 eh? alexh has all the best toys!
Very nice!

What did you notice wrong with emulated Zelda OOT by the way? I played it on PJ64 1.6 and don't remember any problems.
rare_j is offline  
Old 05 June 2008, 11:41   #12
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
I've never had any issues with emulating an N64. Goldeneye works perfectly. And also due to how N64 games are coded the emulated versions can be run in much higher resolutions without the horrible full screen anti aliasing of a real N64.

However I also still prefer to play the games on the real N64, as most people do for most systems. For this I have a CD64 (similar to the Doctor64 but a different make) and a Mr Backup which is my preferred one. It uses Zip disks and so you can write the save games directly to disk as you are playing, along with the ability to save other things to disk such as the config settings for each game, and the ability to alter the roms.

Back to the questions about the Doctor 64. I've not seen the ram expansion unit for it for sale anywhere in a long time. This is as already mentioned due to Nintendo's enforcement of restrictions on backup units a few years ago, which scared ebay into banning the sale of all such units and related items. However they do appear sometimes and if you can grab them on a buy it now before ebay spot the sale you are usually ok.

I noticed you were also looking for a DS-1 SRAM cartridge. I have one that I don't use any more so would be happy to sell it to you for a reasonable price. Make me an offer if you are interested.
Harrison is offline  
Old 05 June 2008, 12:21   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
I've never had any issues with emulating an N64. Goldeneye works perfectly.
Right... NOT. Have you ever compared an N64 running Goldeneye? Unless N64 emulators have got much better over the last few months (or there is an emulator I never tried) Goldeneye always sucked. The gfx was flawed in lots of places (especially backgrounds and sky) and the control system terrible. Playable yes... fun maybe... faithful reproduction no!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
Mr Backup which is my preferred one.
Ah, a Z64. They are nice. They are x86 based and can take IDE hard drives! No more messing with lots of CD's or Zip disks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
I noticed you were also looking for a DS-1 SRAM cartridge. I have one that I don't use any more so would be happy to sell it to you for a reasonable price. Make me an offer if you are interested.
Where in the UK are you based?

Last edited by alexh; 05 June 2008 at 12:27.
alexh is offline  
Old 05 June 2008, 12:32   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Wow you can even fit a hard drive to a Doctorv64

http://dextrose.com/_forum/showthread.php?t=9497
alexh is offline  
Old 05 June 2008, 12:41   #15
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
With the Z64 (using a custom bios) you can fit an HDD or a CF/SD card reader instead of the standard zip drive. And it's IDE supports two devices so you can fit an HDD and card reader, or two card readers at the same time. Pretty cool.

I've not kept tabs on it, but I expect if owners have managed to get an HDD working with the D64 then a card reader should also work and save a lot of hassle as you could then just copy games to the card in your PC and transfer them to the D64 that way.

As for where in the UK I am. I'm in Hampshire, near Salisbury.
Harrison is offline  
Old 05 June 2008, 14:34   #16
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Wow you can even fit a hard drive to a Doctorv64

http://dextrose.com/_forum/showthread.php?t=9497

and once i clicked there i get

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBulliten Message
Sorry. The administrator has banned your IP address. To contact the administrator click here
LOL i haven't even been there yet.... did some one warn them of my post whoring abilities?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 05 June 2008, 16:30   #17
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Who is your ISP?
alexh is offline  
Old 05 June 2008, 16:32   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Why Alexh, its Demon Internet
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 June 2008, 06:13   #19
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
Maybe you are on the same block of IPs as someone who has been banned from there previously.

I've never had any problems accessing dextrose.com
Harrison is offline  
Old 06 June 2008, 08:08   #20
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
N64 emulation sucks ass on all of the best games. If you want to play anything other than Mario64 or MarioKart64 you need the real thing.

GoldenEye, Banjo Tooie, Conkers etc. etc. all don't work well enough to be fun.

If they did... I'd be the first to put my N64 in the attic.
I think you are not honest ...I think you are a quack
or maybe I think yo are a newbie on the N64 emulation

you can't insult one of the best emulators ever made like Project 64 because you have an ordinary doctor64 just purchased on ebay

you are confusing people here with your testimony

I have finished Banjo tooie and Banjo kazooie and Conker using P64....long time ago
both Banjo games runs perfect......better than the real thing..... and Conker almost perfect with minor issues that nobody note it...
everybody knows that

ALSO REMENBER THIS:

year 2001, (Conker cartridge release)...one or two weeks later was playlable on P64
laser is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A little upgrade for this 4000 jman support.Hardware 6 20 July 2011 17:33
FOR SALE: A500 1MB upgrade and A500+ 1MB upgrade clueless MarketPlace 1 17 March 2010 12:21
OS3.9 - Why should I upgrade? mfletcher Amiga scene 10 23 May 2008 19:18
upgrade hardware AliasXZ New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 21 January 2008 11:42
To upgrade or not to upgrade? manicx support.Hardware 7 04 June 2003 17:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23455 seconds with 11 queries