English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2008, 07:52   #1
mfletcher
Bawbag.

mfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 368
OS3.9 - Why should I upgrade?

Currently running OS 3.1 Classic on my A1200... and I like it. Ive heard about OS 3.9, but why upgrade? Only reason I can think of, is the TCP/IP stack for networking, but cant I get that with 3.1 already? Plus Ive heard that 3.9 is bloated, compared to 3.1 .

What are the pluses / minuses for upgrading to OS 3.9 from OS 3.1?

Thanks,

Mark
mfletcher is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 May 2008, 08:49   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
if you don't have PPC, I'ld say don't bother.
coze is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 09:57   #3
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 181
There's a few new workbench functions (clean up by...) and it looks a bit prettier without as many patches.

It also needs a reboot on cold start, takes more memory and REALLY wants you to have a graphics card.
alphonsus is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 10:12   #4
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Don't bother. Unless you've got a powerful Amiga, 3.1 and a few patches is all you need.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 10:38   #5
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruņa, Bera
Age: 36
Posts: 426
Actually, I prefer Amiga OS 3.5 with all Boingbags and some manual adds. I use it in my Amiga 1200 with a 4 MB RAM upgrade)
Xenon is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 12:31   #6
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 799
My opinion about OS3.9 on real A1200:

I like:
- the GlowIcons.
- there is the DefIcons tool.
- to have a window tool to decrunc lha, lzx & zip file just on clicking on the relative icon.
- the search / find tool in WB menu.
- the WB "execute command" remembers old inputs (with Boing Bag 2 installed).
- browsing icons in opened windows using keyboard cursors...
- the WB/Icons/Info tool allows you to replace icon picture easily by placing a new one over the old in this window.
- the WB/Icons/Info tool reports drawer size, drawers and files quantity inside.
- ASync in WBStartup improves multitasking.
- many little improvements.

I don't like:
- THE SPEED, in my A1200 is acceptable but I have a Blizzard 1230/IV @ 50 Mhz.
- I would like to have an easy window tool to pack files/dirs.
- an easy guide to use DefIcons tool (if someone could help me to use it).

OS 3.5 has GlowIcons and is surely faster, but has not all the improvemnts above.

Although I'm disappointed about the OS 3.9 speed, I would not come back to previous OS version.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 22 May 2008, 11:48   #7
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
I have always found, on my A1200 with 030 3.5 is the best OS.
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 04:40   #8
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,655
There's also various software that requires OS3.5/OS3.9: eg. Report+, AmiArcadia, FTACE, BTCE, Q2CE, DWCE, PCE, ACSE spring immediately to mind, these programs won't run under OS3.1.
Minuous is online now  
Old 23 May 2008, 17:59   #9
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
FWIW:
3.9 Is great, but is a bit 'bloaty' by AmigaOS standards - It needs a good accelerator + decent amount of RAM to work well. I'd say it's best suited to virtual systems like Amithlon, X-Amiga, (Win)UAE...
3.5 Is probably better for a 'real' Amiga - Most of 3.9's features with a smaller 'footprint'.
3.1 Unless you're an eye-candy junky (like me) it's hard to justify the move.
2.1 ? Hear me out... My A1200/060 with KS 3.1 & WB 2.1 runs like nothing you've seen! No, it's not pretty, but it is fast + functional when in that mode.
Charlie is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 18:50   #10
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
FWIW:
3.9 Is great, but is a bit 'bloaty' by AmigaOS standards - It needs a good accelerator + decent amount of RAM to work well. I'd say it's best suited to virtual systems like Amithlon, X-Amiga, (Win)UAE...
3.5 Is probably better for a 'real' Amiga - Most of 3.9's features with a smaller 'footprint'.
3.1 Unless you're an eye-candy junky (like me) it's hard to justify the move.
2.1 ? Hear me out... My A1200/060 with KS 3.1 & WB 2.1 runs like nothing you've seen! No, it's not pretty, but it is fast + functional when in that mode.
Charlie, I think you are right.
OS 3.5 is a reduced OS3.9 version, but it's faster than OS 3.9 and not a lot slower than 3.1/3.0.
In my opinion OS 3.9 is slow, but it is enough usable with my Blizzard 1230/IV @ 50 Mhz and 16 MB. I prefere it 'cause its many little improvements and I would not come back.
Both are heavy upgrades Vs. Workbench 3.1 / 3.0.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 19:18   #11
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I found the quick way to get os3.9 upto speed is simply dissable amidock. that single dock tool slows things right down as it seems to be refreshing constantly. dissabling the speed boost is noticably instant on my 040/25
Mad-Matt is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed. lukassid support.Apps 21 19 February 2013 01:13
Upgrade advice mancity support.Hardware 11 06 January 2013 23:48
FOR SALE: A500 1MB upgrade and A500+ 1MB upgrade clueless MarketPlace 1 17 March 2010 12:21
To upgrade or not to upgrade? manicx support.Hardware 7 04 June 2003 17:30
A1200 upgrade Unknown_K MarketPlace 7 25 February 2003 04:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28242 seconds with 11 queries