English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2008, 11:13   #1
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
X-AMIGA Making My Blood Boil!!!!

Everything is done right, the install is good, no errors reported, Kickstart ROM installed, OS installed, ADF images installed...all good right?!?!

Then this:


Oh man, this is making me scream F&^^%* SH^*&%&*((*&&*(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*edit* - Oh yeah, please help me!
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 May 2008, 11:37   #2
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Only Linux makes it possible!
amiga is offline  
Old 11 May 2008, 11:39   #3
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
Only Linux makes it possible!
What are you saying?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 11 May 2008, 13:57   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
I need a WinUAE port for MacOS X... I need real amiga harddrive support!! Can't be relying on a shit PC for that :P
Akira is offline  
Old 11 May 2008, 14:04   #5
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
What are you saying?

PZ.
Well that looks distinctly like a Linux script running in your screenshot, so thats what he means and if memory does serve me, X-Amiga does use Linux.
blade002 is offline  
Old 11 May 2008, 15:47   #6
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002 View Post
Well that looks distinctly like a Linux script running in your screenshot, so thats what he means and if memory does serve me, X-Amiga does use Linux.
Yeah, I got that bit...but obviously I am supposed the read between the lines here...what is the underlying message though? That Linux sucks refried f*cking donkey balls?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 02:24   #7
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Angry

Ok, can somebody please actually help me?

I know I'm always asking annoying questions on here...but how else can I learn?

Need to get this going, my real Amiga hardware won't live forever

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 02:49   #8
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Ok, I've had a thought regarding the problem.

I installed twice, first time I chose wrong audio device and the install reported errors.

Second time I selected the correct device and no errors were reported.

Is there a possibility that the blootloader from the first install is still there and that's what is creating the problem?

If thats the case, then deleting all partitions and reformatting with a different OS (eg Windoze) will kill off the old bootblock and I can then start fresh again?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 09:58   #9
Fractallyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Terabithia
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Everything is done right, the install is good, no errors reported, Kickstart ROM installed, OS installed, ADF images installed...all good right?!?!


Oh man, this is making me scream F&^^%* SH^*&%&*((*&&*(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*edit* - Oh yeah, please help me!


Hi, sorry for the silence... I've been *really* busy for the last few weeks on another similar project.

It looks to me like your .uaerc doesn't agree with E-UAE. When you try to run it, it should create a log file in /home/xamiga - that should tell you what the problem is (boot from the Installer CD or Knoppix, or whatever, and navigate to that directory).

The shutdown 'feature' that is so infuriating is meant to shut down the computer when one exits E-UAE. However, the side effect is that when there's a problem starting E-UAE, the computer tends to shut down straight away.

There's an FAQ item in the documentation section on the X-Amiga website: "Why does X-Amiga start, then shut down almost immediately?"

I intend to add a load of fixes/improvements/changes as soon as I have time - ie. as soon as this current (similar ;-) project is over.

Amir
Fractallyte is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 10:36   #10
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 848
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Use WinUAE: I hate to say that, but It's better than any other Amiga Emulators on any other system. Really, usually any emulator runs better on Windows (ePSXe, MESS, MAME, SNES 9x, Windows versions are better).
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 10:47   #11
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Thanks man, I'll look into that tonight!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 15:41   #12
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Nope, can't get it sorted...I eagerly await any possible future update!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making food with the Amiga Toaks Amiga scene 10 03 June 2012 02:38
making amiga hdd on pc kodek New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 11 April 2008 06:42
Blood Money and Cybernoid ST/Amiga Demos Antiriad Games images which need to be WHDified 6 02 May 2003 23:36
Hardcore amiga Blood/ Gore games Mad Mark Looking for a game name ? 37 30 April 2002 03:28
Blood Money Unregistered support.Games 3 08 December 2001 01:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24566 seconds with 11 queries