English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 January 2009, 22:52   #21
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 11,043
There's also the Benefactor level editor which is mentioned in these threads

... Benefactor - Disk 4???
... Benefactor Extra Levels
DamienD is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 January 2009, 14:30   #22
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,283
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
today i´ve worked on the collisions...

green boxes are solid
red boxes are deadly
light blue boxes are watersurface
dark blue boxes are under water


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	JoeEditor2.png
Views:	282
Size:	194.8 KB
ID:	19757  
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 14:36   #23
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,036
OMG! Yo!Joe! My favorite platformer
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Joe
Shoonay is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 21:01   #24
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 2,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
There's also the Benefactor level editor which is mentioned in these threads

... Benefactor - Disk 4???
... Benefactor Extra Levels
Yep, I informed about myself in 2005. This thread was to be about officials so I did not mention it. But thread changed its purpose ;P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maroni View Post
i´m not sure if many people would use it....

most people like to have complete new game than just building their own ones...

perhaps we should start a poll about the neccessary of that editor...
Are you able to import built levels into the game so you could play them? If so, then I think it is not going to be difficult to make a whole new game out of it. Count me in if you need someone to create levels.

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 13 January 2009 at 23:38. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
mailman is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 22:23   #25
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,283
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman View Post
Are you able to import built levels into the game so you could play them? If so, then I think it is not going to be difficult to make a whole new game out of it. Count me in if you need someone to create levels.
i think thats the usage of a leveleditor..

check the zone for the editor...i like to have some comments about gui usage before i continue working on it....

BTW: all data was taken from the original game....i just made the different collisions bits "visible"
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 13:10   #26
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,036
@Joe: can't start the yojoeeditor, it exits with a [Invalid Stream handle] message when extracted to me hd
Shoonay is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 13:15   #27
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,015
Same here
TCD is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 13:41   #28
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,283
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
sorry, my mistake...

i´ve uploaded the fixed archive...extract all files together with the exe to one folder...
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 13:44   #29
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,388
T2002, the well done Turrican remake for Windows also has a level-editor (a pity this game lags as hell on my Vista notebook due to some changes in DirectDraw).
john4p is online now  
Old 14 January 2009, 13:47   #30
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maroni View Post
i´ve uploaded the fixed archive...extract all files together with the exe to one folder...
Still the 'Invalid Stream handle' error All 5 files in the same folder and the exe is dated 13.01.2009 22:12.
TCD is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 13:57   #31
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,036
same here
Shoonay is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 14:13   #32
sharprm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melb
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I think nowadays the future of game expansion lies in game remakes. I mean not game resourced to be ported to other plaforms (GBA unofficial Another World, Car Vup versions, Reminiscence aka Flashback remake from original data files), but games rewritten not using the original code at all, and with the help of a powerful editor to first recreate the original levels, and then to create new ones.
Game maker would be a good tool for remakes. It comes with a room editor that allows you to easily place tiles and objects. At the moment it can only make .exe but there is a mac beta so that will come soon.
sharprm is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 14:17   #33
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,283
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
now it should work finally....

i forgot to change the paths to the files.....
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 14:21   #34
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,036
still the same here
am i suppose to use some specific path? C:\yojoeeditor or something?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 14:23   #35
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,015
The executable is still from yesterday evening Joe I'm sure this time you'll upload the right file
TCD is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 17:08   #36
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,870
Joe this looks good as long as I extract the files and dont try and run it within the zip it works.
Now how do I use it - hows bout a little tutorial
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 January 2009, 20:26   #37
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,283
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Joe this looks good as long as I extract the files and dont try and run it within the zip it works.
Now how do I use it - hows bout a little tutorial
it is not a full editor now, but i´m still working on it...i just want to know if the GUI is comfortable enough or should i change something till now ???

and i liek to know if it works on your PC...i`ll include an fps counter next exe..
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 15 January 2009, 21:09   #38
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maroni View Post
it is not a full editor now, but i´m still working on it...i just want to know if the GUI is comfortable enough or should i change something till now ???

and i liek to know if it works on your PC...i`ll include an fps counter next exe..
Ok I wasnt able to edit - The GUI its user friendly Ive tried it on XP and Vista and works fine
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 21 January 2009, 22:15   #39
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,283
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
i hope to release the first public version till next weekend...

currently it just works with the whdload version of the game...i need to write an imploder decrunch function first to work with adfs..

tomorrow i´ll finish saving functions and till weekend i need to write a little manual fo the tool....

as you all may know my english speaking skills are not very well...i need a translator who like to translate the german manual to english...

please contact me....you´ll be named in the program....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	JoeED.png
Views:	246
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	19943  
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 05 February 2009, 10:55   #40
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,979
not an amiga game, but one of my internet scouts discovered an editor for Jazz Jack Rabbit 1:

http://www.jazz2online.com/jcs94/
gimbal is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Games with level Editors? amigapd Amiga scene 65 22 September 2017 19:08
Codetapper's new graphics, tile, level and map ripper! Codetapper project.Maptapper 56 22 June 2013 16:25
Quake Level Editors? Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 11 19 September 2008 17:05
Chuck Rock level 2 - zone 1 map s2325 HOL data problems 23 22 June 2008 23:37
Raibow Islands Level 2 Map BippyM HOL contributions 27 01 August 2004 13:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09102 seconds with 13 queries