English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 April 2008, 20:36   #1
SkippyAR
 
Posts: n/a
Miami DX Dilemma

Hiya folks,

I'm using Miami DX as the TCP/IP stack on my a1200, so I can browse
the internet through a router and also to network a Windows XP box for filesharing, AExplorer etc via a 3com 3c589D-Combo (3c589d.device)

The problem I seem to have is:

If the a1200 is connected directly to the cable modem, and Miami DX is
configured to DHCP all works fine, but it means I can't have a local area
network, obviously.

However, if I connect the a1200, and WinXP to the router, then to the cable modem box, I find that I end up having 2 interface profiles in
Miami DX. 1) DHCP for internet and 2) Static Config for local area networking. (Only allowing one online to the 3c589d.device at a time.)

I can't seem to amalgamate the two into one profile. Miami DX seems to get all upset, then I get upset and start having tantrums.

Could it be that my ISP only allows one MAC address too, hmmm. Is this
part of my problem.

Thanks for any suggestions,

Skippy.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 April 2008, 20:41   #2
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
If only one mac is allowed it can surely be the problem..

What about sharing the connection from the windows xp machine ?
kriz is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 21:15   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
However, if I connect the a1200, and WinXP to the router, then to the cable modem box, I find that I end up having 2 interface profiles in
Miami DX. 1) DHCP for internet and 2) Static Config for local area networking.
I don't see the reason why you would need two interfaces when connected to the router. Especially that "DHCP for internet" is nonsense. When you are connected to the router you cannot access the internet directly. All accesses go through the router. If you enable DHCP you get a dynamic (LAN) address frrom the router, but you can still not directly access the internet. If you call an internet address, the Amiga sends the request to the router and the router routes it into the internet. The router hides your computers from the internet. You build a LAN with all your computers with one interface and one IP address each. The router manages all internet accesses automatically. The router is the only machine in your network which has two IP addresses: one public for internet and one private for LAN.

You can choose whether you use static IP addresses or DHCP for your Amiga's one LAN interface. Both will work. But you cannot have direct and indirect internet access at the same time.
thomas is offline  
Old 25 April 2008, 13:45   #4
SkippyAR
 
Posts: n/a
@Kriz: I think it must only have one MAC address. I used to Proxy from XP to the Amiga before.

@Thomas, everything you mentioned is the problem, this is what I am trying to achieve. x2 Seperate computers, one LAN, one router, one internet connection.

I've got Samba to apply next too, whah!

Skippy.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
miami or miami dx key? mjnurney request.Apps 16 30 September 2014 14:34
Buying Amiga hardware dilemma slk486 support.Hardware 15 04 May 2010 11:46
Miami Parsec support.Apps 7 23 February 2009 18:39
A1200 power pack / keyboard dilemma EmuChicken support.Hardware 6 21 March 2007 23:41
Miami DX adgloride request.Apps 3 18 September 2005 20:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15679 seconds with 11 queries