English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Will we see a backward compatible system?
Yes!! 4 36.36%
Never!! 4 36.36%
Maybe, it depends! 3 27.27%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2002, 00:57   #1
Zeewolf
 
Posts: n/a
Backward compatible system?

Will we ever see a backward compatible system?
What does everyone think?
I'd love to think that we will see one but something tells me 'NEVER!' I hope not! I'd love to see it!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 March 2002, 01:32   #2
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Erm

The PS2 IS backwards compatible.

So we already have a backwards compatible system.

The A1200 was also backwards compatible with an A500.

Or are you talking about a new computer that run's Amiga software out of the box??

Which would be pointless in my view, why pay all that money (Which it would no doubt cost) when (Win)UAE has reached such an advanced level, I imagine that 95 % of all Amiga software ever released for the A500/A600/A1200/CDTV/CD32 works with (Win)UAE now.

IMO it would be a waste of the manufacturers money for very little gain.
Ian is offline  
Old 08 March 2002, 01:38   #3
Zeewolf
 
Posts: n/a
What would be better than popping a disk into the computer & loading it up like we used to!!
I'd much rather have the real thing than emulation!

I know we'll never see it but it would be nice & I for one would definitely buy a new computer if it was backward compatible with the old Amigas!!
 
Old 08 March 2002, 01:41   #4
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
I would soon just buy an old Amiga

Playing on a PC with Amiga support will be no different than playing it on a PC using (Win)UAE.

Maybe one day some factory in China will start making knock off's of the Amiga range, that's my dream
Ian is offline  
Old 08 March 2002, 02:00   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
There is a neat little system but I forgot itīs name Itīs backwards compatible to Spectrum, ZX and all that stuff ! All plugged into one Tower ! On the mainboard you got different chips from different old systems merged into a unit, that can be used as different old computers without emulation

P.S : Iīll have a search for it, hopefully I find the URL again ...
RetroMan is offline  
Old 08 March 2002, 02:15   #6
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Probably we'll never see it as emu's can only get so close and the fact that Amiga Inc missed the boat on this one. I really think they could've contracted with one of the big Taiwanese chip makers and would've been able to condense the Amiga custom chips into one or two VLSI units for mounting on a PCI/ISA card in your pc. Again my opinion but hey, everybody has one
jmmijo is offline  
Old 08 March 2002, 07:28   #7
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I recall reading about compatibility issues with the PS2 which meant it didn't run everything the PS1 could.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 08 March 2002, 07:36   #8
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
I'd luv to see a backwards compatible system, even if it was a PCI card ad-on to some other arbitrary piece of hardware. That would rock!


ZeeWolf: I agree 500's rule!
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 08 March 2002, 07:46   #9
ethylene
Registered User
ethylene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 87
Send a message via ICQ to ethylene Send a message via AIM to ethylene Send a message via MSN to ethylene Send a message via Yahoo to ethylene
Quote:
Originally posted by Miggy2TheMax
I'd luv to see a backwards compatible system, even if it was a PCI card ad-on to some other arbitrary piece of hardware. That would rock!
Didn't Creative release something called the '3DO Blaster'? If I remember correctly, it was a PCI card that enabled your PC to play games written for Trip Hawkins' failed system, the 3DO.

Kinda strange how the 3DO console was manufactured by so many different companies. Aside from Creative's add-on, I think Panasonic, Goldstar and one other company (right?) all made a variant of the 3DO.

And why don't we see a 3DO software emulator?

And why am I talking about the 3DO?
ethylene is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 01:14   #10
bgbennyboy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gb
Posts: 57
Yep, PS2 cant play some PS1 games.

Creative used the label "3d blaster" for some of its 3d cards (riva tnt2's if i remember rightly). Ive never heard of any card that lets you run 3do stuff, mind you its not like id rush out to the shops and buy one.
bgbennyboy is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 01:18   #11
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Quote:
Originally posted by Drake1009
I recall reading about compatibility issues with the PS2 which meant it didn't run everything the PS1 could.
99.9% of all PS1 games work on the PS2. It has a PS1 (Basically) inside it for feck's sake

There are only a few obscure Japanese games that don't work.
Ian is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 01:51   #12
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
i'm not buying a "New" Amiga until one comes with backward compatiabilty....

.... mainly because you won't be able to get much "New" software!
Djay is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 05:41   #13
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,682
I am nearly sure there was a card for PC to play 3DO games, I saw at least 2 articles about that in games magazines.. (But in BRAZILIAN games magazines, so that may also be bullshit )
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 05:53   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
There is a german company that builds these wicked Atari ST compatible systems, much like that ZX Spectrum system, Retro.

And then there's the brilliant Commodore One!
Akira is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 06:11   #15
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
Ah lets see here...

The Sega Genesis was backwards compatible with the SMS with the powerbase converter.

The SNES was backwards compatible with the Gameboy with the Super Gameboy.

The PS2 comes backwards compatible with the PS1.

The Atari 5200 was backwards compatible with the 2600 (I think).

The Commodore 128 was backwards compatible with the Commodore 64.

The 3DO blaster is so rare that it doesn't really count, since you're not likely to have seen one much less owned one.

Am I missing anything else?
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 14 March 2002, 03:14   #16
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,653
Regarding 3DO emulation, it hasn't been done because Sony refuse to release the 3DO technical information. So basically everything would have to be done by reverse-engineering. The moral of this story: Sony are cunts.
Minuous is offline  
Old 14 March 2002, 03:56   #17
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
slight correction, it was the 7800 that was backwards compatible with the 2600
Belgarath is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SpaceStone its compatible with Winuae??? Beawolf support.Games 6 03 June 2010 16:16
OS4 compatible? oRBIT Coders. General 1 12 May 2010 15:50
Are WinUAE config files backward compatible? antonvaltaz support.WinUAE 5 30 November 2009 01:41
System is not validated! FFS (and I dont mean fast file system!) Macca support.Hardware 11 11 June 2007 14:04
is this wifi compatible?? r6stu Amiga scene 0 12 September 2005 23:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21385 seconds with 12 queries