English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 March 2002, 23:53   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The Siamese System, WTF?

Can someone please explain what this was all about

Came across this link while surfing the net and must admit I've never heard of this system.

It's a method of combining a PC and Amiga in one, all the way back in 1996. Those who hate emulation on PCs could have been running the real thing. Sure would've saved desk space!

Probably the best add on a PC owner could get in those days - an Amiga!

It's blasphemy calling the Amiga and PC Siamese "twins" however. They're nothing alike..................
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 March 2002, 00:16   #2
bgbennyboy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gb
Posts: 57
Yeah, it was in Amiga Format quite a few times.
It was made by the same people who made the squirrel scssi interface (hisoft?).
I think there were different versions of it.
One that integrated a pc and amiga in the same case and one that just sort of networked them.
Using the Siamese you were supposed to be able to use pc keyboards and mice and access the pc drivers and vice versa.
They were very expensive though
bgbennyboy is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 01:18   #3
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
I remember Amiga User International raved about this, although it didn't sell too well. It was made by HiSoft and I think it connected to the A600 and A1200's PCMCIA port. That was the way the two shared their drives IIRC. I'll try and dig out my old AUI issues when I next go home.
TikTok is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 02:00   #4
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Yeah, I have one of these units. Unfortunately, I have no PCI slot free to test it with. I am gonna try to get my other PC working this weekend and can maybe try it out, but I hear they are hard as hell to get configured.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 02:06   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
I thought the Siamese system is a software system? You connect two machines (Amiga and PC) through ethernet (or serial, if you want it to be slow :P), and you can map Amiga screens onoto the PC... much like if the PC was an X Server.... seems to be nice, I never tried it because my Amga has no Ethernet adapter.
Akira is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 02:09   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
I never tried it because my Amga has no Ethernet adapter.
Hmmm, you got an A600 and an A1200 ! Both got a PCMCIA card interface ! And you got Miami ! So why donīt you get some cheap 10 MBit PCMCIA card and link your Amiga with your PC with TCP/IP ??? I just did and can also burn a backup of my A1200 HD on my PC now
RetroMan is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 04:20   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Quote:
10 MBit PCMCIA card and link your Amiga with your PC with TCP/IP
does really work?
can i make adfs in this way?
do i need anything else to get this to work software/hardware?

kinda strange, i was thinking about this the other day!
Djay is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 05:49   #8
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
I thought the Siamese system is a software system? You connect two machines (Amiga and PC) through ethernet (or serial, if you want it to be slow :P), and you can map Amiga screens onoto the PC... much like if the PC was an X Server.... seems to be nice, I never tried it because my Amga has no Ethernet adapter.
The original version of this is hardware based. That is the version I have, which includes the PCI card, the ribbon cables, etc. as well as the software. The latest version is software only. I bought it from Harv Laser on ebay.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 06:56   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
Wow Twistin, you got a nice one there!
BTW Retro, I think PCMCIA and Cheap are incompatible terms Besides most amiga online shops say not all PCMCIA Ethernet cards work with the Amiga....

Do you have any recommendations?
Akira is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 15:10   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Hmmm, I just bought a kind of No-Name PCMCIA and it works like a charm Recommendations would be a Fiberline 4680 PCMCIA, that one is tested and works for sure
RetroMan is offline  
Old 07 March 2002, 21:48   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
How much?
Akira is offline  
Old 14 March 2002, 06:32   #12
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 653
@Akira:

About 30 - 40 US$.

Check this file on Aminet:

http://ftp.uni-paderborn.de/aminet/a...cnetdevice.lha

This is the device driver needed for PCMCIA network adaptors. It comes with a big list of cards that are supported/not supported.

Keep in mind that the PCMCIA slot on Amiga computers does not reset the card properly (you have to turn off your machine to reset the PCMCIA card). Most people will tell you that you'll need to do a hardware modification to fix that. That's not true, get CardReset instead:

http://ftp.uni-paderborn.de/aminet/a.../CardReset.lha

@Djay:

>> does really work?

Yes. I've got two A1200 (and my A2000) connected this way.

>> can i make adfs in this way?

Yes. The but the Amiga needs top have a harddisk. and some FastRAM would be good too...

>> do i need anything else to get this to work software/hardware?

Once you have a TCP/IP connection established (that means the machines can "see" each other), you need software to transfer files. You could either use some Server/Client combination (FTP server on your Amiga, FTP client on your PC, or Telnet server/client). But the most common way is to use Amiga SAMBA, which lets you share drives between the machines (Windows has SMB support built in).
Korodny is offline  
Old 25 December 2013, 09:45   #13
Darth_X
Commodore and Amiga

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 14
Big grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Can someone please explain what this was all about

Came across this link while surfing the net and must admit I've never heard of this system.

It's a method of combining a PC and Amiga in one, all the way back in 1996. Those who hate emulation on PCs could have been running the real thing. Sure would've saved desk space!

Probably the best add on a PC owner could get in those days - an Amiga!

It's blasphemy calling the Amiga and PC Siamese "twins" however. They're nothing alike..................
I'd like to know if the software for the Siamese system could be open sourced? It might allow guys working on cheap devices like Arduino and Raspberry Pi to do cool things.
Darth_X is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 00:01   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Long since surpassed by VNC. Even on the Amiga There is a reasonable VNC server & headless capable client. Couple with amigaexplorer and it's pretty great for linking the two machines
alexh is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 08:04   #15
Darth_X
Commodore and Amiga

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Long since surpassed by VNC. Even on the Amiga There is a reasonable VNC server & headless capable client. Couple with amigaexplorer and it's pretty great for linking the two machines
Anyone know if this uses Amigas serial port or a faster SCSI connection?
Darth_X is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siamese RTG v2.5 Charlie request.Apps 50 26 May 2009 21:27
Siamese system utri007 request.Apps 33 01 December 2006 20:48
Siamese System alewis support.Hardware 5 26 June 2006 10:00
Siamese lemaru request.Apps 1 05 December 2002 02:09
Siamese 2.1 adolescent request.Apps 0 02 September 2002 20:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19228 seconds with 11 queries