English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 April 2008, 12:15   #41
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Preload option in what application? Nero? Can't find it there.

PZ.
This is a WHDload option which can be set or removed by selecting the program's icon then from the WB bar look for information.
This will give you a window displaying relevent parameters applied to that file selected including tool types.
Similar to setting Tool types in HDToolbox.
TheCorfiot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 April 2008, 12:15   #42
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,975
WHDLoad... check the games' tooltypes.

@TheCorfiot: Thanks for clearing that one up.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 17 April 2008, 12:18   #43
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
WHDLoad... check the games' tooltypes.

@TheCorfiot: Thanks for clearing that one up.
NO probs, It worked for me but I'm no real WHDload expert...
I was a bit upset because my four slots of ram in the HD8+ were filled & I thought I would have to go and find 2MB SIMMS to expand to 8MB,
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 17 April 2008, 12:19   #44
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
I'll quote myself:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
If you are talking about something in the WDHload installation...I can't do that...I'm working with disc images here.

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 17 April 2008, 12:22   #45
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
I'll quote myself:

Fingers you have to set this option before burning to CD.

To confirm the changes work, you should test it on HD first, Use WinUAE to simulate a bog standard 2MB AGA A1200

TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 17 April 2008, 12:35   #46
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Ok, I understand what you are saying now...but these are the CD32-200, CD32-350, CD32-444 & CD32-888 compilation images.

Obviously they already work for everyone else...but why don't they work for me?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 17 April 2008, 12:40   #47
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Ok, I understand what you are saying now...but these are the CD32-200, CD32-350, CD32-444 & CD32-888 compilation images.

Obviously they already work for everyone else...but why don't they work for me?

PZ.
Sorry Fingers I don't have any of those images to be able to look into them for you..
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 17 April 2008, 12:42   #48
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
Sorry Fingers I don't have any of those images to be able to look into them for you..
That's cool, I don't expect you to man

Either both my "new" CD32s are stuffed, I need to try yet more types of CD-R, or NTSC machines don't play these CDs properly...f*cking annoying sh!t these Amigas!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 17 April 2008, 12:45   #49
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@Fingers..

If I had the images I would have been happy to look into it, it's not a case of you not expecting me to, thats why EAB is a successful community, We help each other
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 17 April 2008, 14:26   #50
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Nah man, I just mean't that I wouldn't want to push things that far as to pressure you into doing such a thing...especially given the A520 thing we've already got going

I've just finished recalibrating the drive on my "non-stored" unit (I'm keeping one as a spare). There has been a remarkable improvement in loading times, funky noises gone, etc, but still no luck with the games in these compilations that have been screwing up.

It looks like I'll just have to get better media to record them on, so I'll get that massive pack of CDs I was looking at...even if they don't work I can always use extra CDs for car glovebox copies, etc.

On the up-side, I did get to listen to Paid in Full whilst calibrating the drive!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 11:54   #51
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Nope Taiyo Yuden disks didn't fix the problem.

Alex, I'm using the images you directed me to, so I figure they are good images and I've also tried some others as well that use WHDload...these are the ones that fuck out...any ideas?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 12:14   #52
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Name a game and compilation disc number and maybe someone can test it to see if it's just you?
alexh is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 14:15   #53
cane
Registered User
cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: .hr
Age: 38
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Name a game and compilation disc number and maybe someone can test it to see if it's just you?
That's just what I wanted to say, but you were faster. Just say game and CD and I'll test it out on my PAL CD32. Maybe that will lead to some wise conclusions.
cane is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 15:25   #54
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Cheers fellas

Ok, a CD/game that fails non-stop is this one:
Compilation Disc: CD32-350
Game: Mortal Kombat
Symptoms: "Insert disk into DF0" requester flashes on screen, goes no further.

Loads of the games don't work, but this is one that I've had a 100% failure rate with and have tried a million times, so using it as a "benchmark of failure".

Thanks for all your help too...I really do appreciate it and I'm documenting the lot so I can help others in future!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 16:25   #55
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Mortal Kombat is a 2 disk game and so it will NOT work on CD32 with preload option. It requires 3Mbytes. (CD32 has 2Mbytes)

The result is that it will give strange "stuttering" results when loading from emulated disk.

Dunno why it says "Insert disk into DF0:" perhaps it requires a keypress or something else when not preloading? You need to ask Codetapper, author of this slave.

Last edited by alexh; 22 April 2008 at 16:32.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 16:37   #56
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Ok thanks man, I guess that means these compilations are meant for expanded CD32s which make sense.

PZ.

Last edited by Fingerlickin_B; 22 April 2008 at 16:58.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 16:40   #57
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
I am wondering if they were tested at all and if they were just "shoved on" a disc.

While the preload option is not required for operation it can have strange effects when left out (or if the slave is too big for memory)

Not supposed to be non working without preload though.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 17:01   #58
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
I have noticed that most "smaller" games on these compilations work (example Great Giana Sisters, etc), so again...makes sense.

Not all of the compilations you linked me to rely on WHDload. The ones that don't use WHDload work great on my expanded A1200 in CD32 emulation, so again, makes even more sense.

My verdict: If you own a standard CD32, don't freak out when compilation discs dont work.........they just dont!

Wow, 150+ CD "coasters" later, I was wasting my time all along, hahahahahaha!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 17:32   #59
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
CD32-350 was a prerelease of the CD32-444 i think , that's perhaps why some games doesn't work.
I've tested quite all compilations and they work quite good for me
Rochabian is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 17:41   #60
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
I get the same problems with 444 as well...
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I play CD32 games on my 4000T? videofx support.Hardware 6 23 February 2013 22:00
Which game would you prefer to play while waiting for XCopy to copy Project-X Disk 1? killergorilla Nostalgia & memories 29 11 January 2007 16:59
Is it possible to play cd32 games on an a600? Smiley support.Hardware 21 15 March 2005 22:50
Can I play Amiga games on my Pc The Major Retrogaming General Discussion 2 30 August 2002 20:40
How to play CDTV/CD32 games on A1200 with CDrom ???? HiFiBeliver New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 14 August 2002 17:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37875 seconds with 11 queries