English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 April 2008, 23:44   #21
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
Also another question:

Can one of those saturns be moded:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Sega-Saturn-Syst...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Sega-Saturn-game...ayphotohosting

http://cgi.ebay.com/Sega-Saturn-with...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Sega-Saturn-Cabl...QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks!!
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 April 2008, 00:02   #22
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
NO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
NO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Cant tell, photo too poor.

Yes.

Before you buy your Saturn you should buy your modchip to make sure you can still get one (or get a premodded Saturn)

http://home.clara.net/robwebb/shop/s...saturnhard.htm

Magic Knight Rayearth US version, Panzer Dragoon Saga and Burning Rangers are 3 great games that you would never have been able to afford to play sans chip.

Dont forget to buy a Saturn Action Replay 4M Plus too.

Last edited by alexh; 12 April 2008 at 00:34.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 April 2008, 00:23   #23
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
basicaly...get one with round buttons on..these can be chipped.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 12 April 2008, 00:38   #24
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
AFAIK only european Saturns can have round buttons and be a v1 (20-pin) which need a different modchip that are like gold dust.

That said they are rare.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 April 2008, 14:34   #25
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If you plan on running CD-R on Sega Saturn you must get a Model 2 (Round buttons) which use a 21-pin cable between the CD drive and the main board (where the modchip goes).

You will NEVER get a 20-pin modchip these days for a Model 1 (oval buttons).

Saturn modchips are nice. They are "plug and play", no soldering (although some modchips are missing a loop-back wire on them).

I know pretty much all there is to know about Saturn Modchips, almost to the point of being able to make clones from scratch ;-)

Also you should consider getting one of these.

This is one of the best Sega Saturn forums, learn everything you need here.

Thanxx for the detailed info.
plasmatron is offline  
Old 12 April 2008, 14:51   #26
JohnnyBeGood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 81
Seriously my friend, why not save the money and the trouble and go for
SSF
http://www7a.biglobe.ne.jp/~phantasy/ssf/index.html

It's very compatible and can play most games at full speed.
JohnnyBeGood is offline  
Old 12 April 2008, 23:10   #27
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
There is something called - collector, collection.

I like to play with old consoles/computers. Thanks to the war that devastated my country my family had to start from 0 in the end of 1992, and then again I came only with backpack to the USA at the end of 1995. Only thing of consoles that I had at the time was Sega GameGear, which I got in Germany. If I knew, I never would sold my Amiga, I would take it with me oversea.

At the moment I'm missing Saturn and Master System from Sega, and Nes and SuperNes from Nintendo.

I guess I played too much with my Genesis/MegaCD.

Thanks Alex and others on help!

I will get Saturn very soon.
Anubis is offline  
Old 18 April 2008, 21:20   #28
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
Well, I got Saturn on eBay for 20 US dollars (not the one from the link above, but still the one with round buttons), now I have to wait for it.

Didn't like to order anything until I check Saturn.

I also got my self another GameGear with 7 games for 11 bucks.
Anubis is offline  
Old 18 April 2008, 23:08   #29
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Never had a Gamegear... went straight for a Nomad (portable Megadrive)
alexh is offline  
Old 21 April 2008, 16:23   #30
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
I never had Nomad.

I am planning every month to get one of retro machines. Nomad might be somewhere down the road, just after Snes and Nes and of course Sega Master System. (Am I only one who thinks that Sonic on SMS is better then the one on MegaDrive?? )
Anubis is offline  
Old 21 April 2008, 19:13   #31
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
The usability of emulators on a modded XBOX-1 has relegated most of my classic machines to boxes in the spare room.

Saturn is just slightly too complicated for XBOX-1 to emulate
alexh is offline  
Old 21 April 2008, 22:24   #32
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post

Has anyone order anything from Rob Webb?? I would like to order some stuff, but I'm not sure if is safe to order from him.
Yea shed loads, including modchips, he's one of my recommended sellers.

www.segasaturn.co.uk
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 17:41   #33
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
Thank you Mick_AKA!!!

My GameGear arrived yesterday with game genie and nice bag for gg, games and accessories.
I am planning to place order later this week for saturn stuff.
Anubis is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 23:46   #34
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
I got saturn, mod-chip and AR.

Saturn came with 4 games (all sport games) and I burned some "backups" .

Some of them work fine, but some have annoying static instead of music. (not all sound is static, but most of it is) I figure out that most of the ones I have a problem with are the files that came with .ape. I had to decompress .ape to .wave (Monkey Sound) and after I burn those files I ended up with bad tracks?!

Still in process of trying to figure this one out.
Anubis is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 23:50   #35
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
I think you have to use some kind of cue-correction/generation proggie to "add" those wav's and burn with the iso file.
Don't remember, did it... ... ... years ago on me playstation.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 23:50   #36
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
I have a problem with are the files that came with .ape. I had to decompress .ape to .wave (Monkey Sound) and after I burn those files I ended up with bad tracks?!

Still in process of trying to figure this one out.
Normally Monkey's Audio should decompress the lossless .ape filea without errors. Try to get Bin/Cue dumps then, they should be easy enough to find.

Edit: Shoonay is right, of course. The new cue file for the uncompressed tracks should have .wav entries, not .ape. Use the Sega Cue Maker, after you converted the tracks to wav.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 19 May 2008 at 23:55.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 23:51   #37
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
I'd suggest Sega Saturn compilations on UG
Shoonay is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 05:32   #38
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
New files from friendly G-Tronic site are with .ape music files, but cue is still made for .wav files. I created my own .cue file (had to deal early with Sega CD made of ISO + mp3) but still had the same results with statics.

I'll try to recreate wav files on different computer later this week.

bin files for now are fixing the thing except for one strange file where it asked for DVD rom to burn all content?! (cue file was wrong, with music file 1.4 GB )

Did I mention that Salamander trilogy rocks??
Anubis is offline  
Old 24 April 2009, 00:42   #39
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
I have similar question like Anubis, can the Saturn on pic be modded (not very good pic) ?

EDIT - and another question: would be the swap disc trick possible with this one?
EDIT 2 - found somewhere swap disc trick is "major pain" with model 2 (round buttons) and ok with model 1 (oval buttons)

Last edited by Sensi; 21 July 2011 at 00:26.
Sensi is offline  
Old 24 April 2009, 12:43   #40
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Yes the model 1 saturn can be modded but it is very difficult and saturns are known for being a bit "fussy". Your best bet is to get a model 2 saturn (round power/reset buttons) as these are easy to mod and the mod chips should be easier to get hold of for the model 2.

I have a Victor saturn (JVC) and also have one of the first UK launch saturns (model 1 oval buttons)... I have not modded either of them yet and don't think i will

If it's backups you want to play then you will definitely need a modchip installed but if your like me and like your imports then get a jap saturn or the handy action replay cartridge (works on any saturn)

Heres a handy link for saturn mods: http://www.angelfire.com/pa/Raluminat/saturnmod.html

I personally have never tried the disc swap method and i would highly go against it to avoid any damage to your saturn.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sega Saturn Emulator fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 9 19 May 2012 17:25
Sega Saturn emulation boing_1000 Retrogaming General Discussion 50 07 March 2010 13:10
Sega Saturn Wanted Uk Sale Only Peter MarketPlace 19 07 March 2010 01:50
Sega Saturn MK1 screws alexh Retrogaming General Discussion 9 19 December 2009 07:03
Best Sega Saturn Games? Uukrul Retrogaming General Discussion 45 24 July 2009 11:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.44469 seconds with 11 queries