English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 June 2012, 01:58   #201
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dary View Post
When I released new versions nearly no support and reaction came, but the downloads were increasing a lot. Lack of support made my motivation low.
I was waiting but nothing happened. Regarding new versions the currect situation is not enough for me to continue. That's why I put that donation bar on the homepage.


Dary
Dary i'm not an Amisys user but admire the project. Dont feel bad the problem I quoted you as saying is a serious problem in all of the amiga world. Many devs dont get ANY feedback at all. The users just worship Hyperion for some odd reason.

Id Amigasys4 available as a 68k pacakge with an easy install?
magnetic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 June 2012, 02:28   #202
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Dead page or a dead project?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 12:22   #203
HappY85
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Try here http://amigasys.ultimateamiga.co.uk/amiga.html
HappY85 is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 12:24   #204
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Id Amigasys4 available as a 68k pacakge with an easy install?
it's dead easy to install.

just make a partition and format it, put the extracted content of the LHA into said partition, reboot and it'll ask you for a few disks, then you're done.

if you then slap your 3.9 cd in it'll detect it and upgrade automatically. I honestly think it's the easiest and quickest way to get an os3.9 system with all the bells and whistles. I did it in under and hour
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 12:39   #205
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
This is a remarkable project when you look at the work that's gone into all the different versions (inc XBOX!!), especially the install routine which supports CD's as mentioned above, different hardware by installing the correct libs etc - all fine work.

Dary did a fantastic job and even if the project is slowing down development wise (as has the ClassicWB) its great to see that it came so far!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 14:22   #206
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
it's dead easy to install.

just make a partition and format it, put the extracted content of the LHA into said partition, reboot and it'll ask you for a few disks, then you're done.
.

Cool well I looked at Dary's site (Very nice site btw good job!) and now i'm pumped to install it on my a1200. I was running classic wb Advanced but having problems with it and my blizzard. My other partition is 3.9 bb2 which I use mainly. I think I'll install it over my classicwb parition.. 150 mb is enough?
magnetic is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 14:25   #207
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
i'm using about 100mb with amisys, 3.9 and both boing bags. so yeah that'll do, but i personally have 500mb for extra space for software.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 14:33   #208
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
btw, the installation order I use is as follows:

extract base amisys install to partition. reboot

installer will ask for 3.1 floppies, insert as required. answer questions about accelerator etc.

once complete and rebooted, insert 3.9 cdrom. amisys will detect it and ask if you want to upgrade, do so.

reboot.

if you want to browse the web, then on the 3.9 cd run the installer and on the menu there is "install internet software" click that and install genesis. Gensis is probably the easiest tcp/ip stack i've ever used, it's awesome! i dont use aweb (i use ibrowse) and dont use the mail program it suggests next so i skip those two.

reboot again.

then install both boing bags. rebooting as necessary

then install the AmiSYS 4 1.3 update.


at the moment i'm trying to figure out at which stage i'm getting palette corruption. I've a sneaking suspicion is comes from BB2... i'm almost at that point right now so will get back to you shortly.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 14:44   #209
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
ok BB2 installed and the pallette and some menus have gone weird.

I'd love to know what's causing that

i've tried both the updated rom and non updated... only other installation option was XAD which is a decompression tool so not sure on this.... hmmmm

to add, installing the AmiSYS 1.3 update before the boing bags results in alot of things getting broken.

my suggestion so far is to not install BB2 until i can figure out the problem :/
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 14:53   #210
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
here's the problem in a screenshot:

diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 05 June 2012, 15:01   #211
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
ok, under prefs> Workbench Preferences, unsetting Set MagicWB colours brings back the pallete.

buttons still have no borders... so just trying to nail that issue now
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 11:55   #212
phipscube
WipEout Fanboi
phipscube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hillerød / Denmark
Age: 42
Posts: 262
I personally prefer AmigaSYS 4 over any Classic WB install. Its MUCH easier to install on a real Amiga (I'm not a fan of having to mess about in WinUAE). And once its installed its not automatically adding lots of stuff you might not want. Granted Classic WB is perfect for WHDLoad and i'd recommend it if that's all you want (along with some added extras). But if you want to further tweak and add things (or remove) AmigaSYS 4 is much better I feel.

At the end of the day, though, the best system is going to be one you build yourself from scratch. Running an Amiga optimally requires you to understand every single file, script and its placement alongside other programs etc. But when I started on Amiga again after many years away, AmigaSYS 4 was a brilliant jumpstart
phipscube is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 21:52   #213
krutknut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bollar
Posts: 95
Good news for Mac OS X users - Amiga SYS 4 installs fine with the brand new FS-UAE , using the Amiga OS3.9 configuration.


Last edited by krutknut; 02 August 2012 at 23:04.
krutknut is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 21:04   #214
ByteRyder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 13
I'm facing the same problem. With BoingBag2 the buttons borders dissapear from WB. I wonder if there is a workaround to this issue?
ByteRyder is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 21:34   #215
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
i'll be honest i've left Ami in the lurch a bit since i got my simracing rig set up i never got around to fixing the issue. Rather i avoided it by only installing BB1.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 17:27   #216
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
i'll be honest i've left Ami in the lurch a bit since i got my simracing rig set up i never got around to fixing the issue. Rather i avoided it by only installing BB1.
Did you install the rom update from BB2?
If you did, then theres proberly an updated module causing the problem.
FOL is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 18:12   #217
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
i tried both with and without. same issues for both
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 19:20   #218
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
i tried both with and without. same issues for both
I remember having a simular issue, when trying to get PNG icons working.
Im sure it was either icon.library or workbench.library causing a problem.
FOL is offline  
Old 19 August 2012, 12:01   #219
Exit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland/The netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 120
waiting for amigasys 5
Exit is offline  
Old 19 August 2012, 12:28   #220
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 121
AmigaSYS4 doesn't work after installing Boing Bag 4 so be aware.
tom256 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaSYS 5 Dary News 14 13 February 2010 14:10
AmigaSYS 3 Plus Dary News 10 12 July 2007 06:04
AmigaSYS 3 Dary News 11 07 September 2005 01:44
AmigaSYS 2 is Out! Dary News 3 10 July 2005 19:09
AmigaSYS 1.7 is out! Dary News 0 08 February 2005 20:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.43223 seconds with 12 queries